Robert Filliou

Permanent Creation – Tool Shed

1987

Installation

Contractor trailer with furnishings and two additionally mounted neon signs

 

Location

Square in front of the south façade of the former Westfälisches Landesmuseum, in the direction of Aegidiimarkt.

Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur Projekte in Münster 1987

 

Robert Filliou

* 1926 in Sauve, France

† 1987 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, France

In 1987 Robert Filliou parked a twin-axle contractor trailer on the square between the former extension to the Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte and Aegidiimarkt. He put up a sign on the trailer saying “Permanent Creation Tool Shed” and furnished its interior with tables, chairs and a radiator. The furnishings tallied with what is usually found in mobile rest facilities on building sites. Only the two blue-and-white illumined neon signs hanging on the inside walls with the words “innocence” and “imagination” departed from the familiar ambient.

“Innocence” and “imagination” were two crucial concepts for Filliou, a committed Buddhist who in his work was considered part of the Fluxus movement. In Remscheid in 1969 he conceived the forerunner of this trailer when he modified an ordinary tool shed by adding these two illuminated signs to the walls. Filliou felt these two words were his most important tools, which is why he stored them there alongside the other tools. In 1984 he adapted the concept for a mobile version inside a construction trailer, which he showed in a similar form three years later in Münster.1 The tool shed and the building site container both symbolise the world as a space of material and cerebral creativity. With this Filliou did not mean any kind of aloof or highbrow prerogative reserved for art and the artist but as something far more comprehensive in tune with his own life philosophy, in which everyone participates in the process of “permanent creation”, whether privately, at work or within society as a whole. The places where we act can in this context be as mobile as the trailer.2

 

Daniel Friedt

 

 

 

1 The first mobile version now belongs to Museum Ludwig in Cologne, inv. no. ML/SK 5162; cf. Rheinisches Bilderarchiv Köln, “Permanent Creation Tool Shed (Mobile Version)”, accessible online at: www.kulturelles-erbe-koeln.de/documents/obj/05013998 (last accessed: 14.06.2017).

2 Cf. Georg Jappe, Skulptur Projekte in Münster 1987. Rundgang, Münster, 1987, p. 77.

 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Robert Filliou

Installationsansicht 1987. Foto: LWL / Rudolf Wakonigg © Estate Robert Filliou

Installationsansicht 1987. Foto: LWL / Rudolf Wakonigg © Estate Robert Filliou

Permanent Creation – Tool Shed [Immerwährende Schöpfung – Werkzeugschuppen]

1987

Installation

Bauwagen mit Mobiliar und zwei zusätzlich angebrachten Neon-Schriftzügen

 

Standort

Platz vor der Südfassade des damaligen Westfälischen Landesmuseums in Richtung Aegidiimarkt, temporäre Aufstellung für die Dauer der Skulptur Projekte in Münster 1987

 

 

Robert Filliou

* 1926 in Sauve, Frankreich

† 1987 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Frankreich

 

Auf dem Platz zwischen dem ehemaligen Anbau des Westfälischen Landesmuseums für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte und dem Aegidiimarkt parkte Robert Filliou 1987 einen zweiachsigen Bauwagen. Er beschriftete den Anhänger mit „Permanent Creation Tool Shed“ und stattete ihn im Innenraum mit Tischen, Stühlen und einem Heizkörper aus. Diese Einrichtung entsprach dem üblichen Mobiliar in mobilen Aufenthaltsräumen für Baustellen, einzig die beiden an den Seitenwänden hängenden, weiß-bläulich leuchtenden Neonschriftzüge mit den Worten „innocence“ und „imagination“ unterbrachen das bekannte Ambiente.

‚Unschuld‘ und ‚Vorstellungskraft‘ waren zwei zentrale Begriffe für Filliou, der überzeugter Buddhist war und mit seinem Schaffen der Kunstbewegung Fluxus angehörte. In Remscheid konzipierte er 1969 die Vorlage für den Anhänger, als er die Wände eines gewöhnlichen Werkzeugschuppens um die beiden Leuchtschriftzüge ergänzte. Die beiden Worte verstand Filliou als seine wichtigsten Werkzeuge und lagerte sie deshalb auch neben den übrigen Werkzeugen ein. 1984 übernahm er das Konzept für eine mobile Version in einem Bauwagen, die er drei Jahre später in Münster in ähnlicher Weise zeigte.1 Der Werkzeugschuppen wie auch der Baucontainer symbolisieren die Welt als Raum materieller und geistiger Schöpfung. Darunter verstand Filliou kein abgehobenes und auf Kunst und Künstler beschränktes Vorrecht, sondern sah sie seiner Lebensphilosophie entsprechend viel umfassender: Alle wirkten an der ‚immerwährenden Schöpfung‘ mit, im Privaten, im Beruf, innerhalb der Gesellschaft. Die Orte unseres Wirkens seien in diesem Kontext ebenso beweglich wie der Bauwagen.2

 

Daniel Friedt

 

1 Die erste mobile Version befindet sich im Besitz des Museums Ludwig in Köln, Inv.-Nr. ML/SK 5162; siehe Rheinisches Bildarchiv Köln, „Permanent Creation Tool Shed (Mobile Version)“. Online unter: www.kulturelles-erbe-koeln.de/documents/obj/05013998 (Stand: 30.5.2017).

2 Vgl. Georg Jappe, Skulptur Projekte in Münster 1987. Rundgang, Münster 1987, 77.

 

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum