Tadashi Kawamata

Installation view 1997 © The Artist. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997 © The Artist. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Boat Traveling

1997

Participatory project in cooperation with Brijderstichting, Alkmaar, and the Praktijkburo of the Mondriaan Stichting, Amsterdam

 

Location

Aasee lake and the Aasee lake terraces south of Adenauerallee. Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

 

Tadashi Kawamata

* 1953 in Mikasa, Hokkaido, Japan

lives and works in Tokyo, Japan

 

Tadashi Kawamata’s contribution to Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 was closely related to a project he had previously executed in 1996 under the title Working Progress. As part of the project and under the auspices of the Mondriaan Foundation, patients from the Brijder Clinic for addiction and rehabilitation in Alkmaar and residents of the city jointly built a boat, a jetty, small pavilions, wooden walkways and a pedestrian bridge, all located in the vicinity of the clinic on the outskirts of the Dutch city. The actions and in particular a joint boat trip brought the patients and the city residents together. The shared physical work, leisure activities and exchange of views were intended to foster closer relations and allay prejudices.1

Kawamata launched the participatory project in Münster in a somewhat modified form with the help of staff and patients from Alkmaar. Here, they constructed a walkway running parallel to Aasee lake, a platform joined to the Aasee lake terraces south of Adenauerallee and a jetty at the southwestern end of Aasee lake. In addition, the artist commissioned a boat to be built in Alkmaar which for the duration of Skulptur Projekte was kept on Aasee lake and provided transport linking up the various sites of the work. By taking a trip on the boat interested exhibition visitors were able to gather information and impressions of the social situation and conditions in Alkmaar.

 

Daniel Friedt

 

1 Ronald van Tienhoven, “Tadashi Kawamata: Working Progress”, in: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, pp. 241–242. 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Tadashi Kawamata

Installationsansicht 1997 © The Artist. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 1997 © The Artist. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Boat Traveling [Bootsfahrt]

1997

Partizipatorisches Projekt in Kooperation mit der Brijderstichting, Alkmaar, und dem Praktijkburo der Mondriaan Stichting, Amsterdam

 

Standort

Aasee und Aaseeterrassen südlich der Adenauerallee, temporäre Einrichtung für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Tadashi Kawamata

* 1953 in Mikasa, Hokkaido, Japan

lebt und arbeitet in Tokio, Japan 

Tadashi Kawamatas Beitrag für die Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 stand in enger Verbindung zu einem Projekt, das bereits 1996 unter dem Titel Working Progress [Arbeitsprozess] umgesetzt worden war. Im Rahmen des Projektes hatten Patient_innen der Brijder-Klinik für Suchtkranke in Alkmaar und Stadtbewohner_innen unter der Schirmherrschaft der Mondriaan Stichting ein Boot, einen Anlegesteg, kleine Pavillons, hölzerne Spazierwege und eine Fußgängerbrücke gebaut, die sich nahe der Klinik am Rande der niederländischen Stadt befanden. Die Aktionen und insbesondere ein gemeinsamer Bootsausflug führten die Patient_innen und die Stadteinwohner_innen zusammen. Durch gemeinsame körperliche Betätigungen, Freizeitaktivitäten und einen Gesprächsaustausch sollten die Menschen einander nähergebracht und Vorurteile abgebaut werden.1

In Münster lancierte Kawamata das partizipatorische Projekt unter Mithilfe des Personals und der Patient_innen aus Alkmaar in abgewandelter Form. Hier wurden ein parallel zum Aasee verlaufender Wanderweg, eine Plattform an den Aaseeterrassen südlich der Adenauerallee sowie ein Steg am südwestlichen Ende des Aasees realisiert. Zudem ließ der Künstler in Alkmaar ein Boot bauen, das für die Dauer der Skulptur Projekte auf dem Aasee schwamm und die mehrteilige Arbeit ortsübergreifend verband. Durch die aktive Teilnahme an einer Bootsfahrt konnten interessierte Ausstellungsbesucher_innen so Informationen und Eindrücke über die soziale Situation und die Bedingungen in Alkmaar bekommen.

 

Daniel Friedt

 

1 Ronald van Tienhoven, „Tadashi Kawamata: Working Progress“. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 241–242. 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum