Olaf Metzel

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Parkhaus Bremer Platz, Ebene 4 [Bremer Platz Car Park, Level 4]

1997

Sound installation

Sensor-guided Dolby surround sound installation

 

Location

Multi-storey car park at Bremer Platz, level 4, on parking spaces kept empty in a radius of 20 m.

Installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997.

 

Olaf Metzel

* 1952 in Berlin, Germany

lives and works in Munich, Germany

 

 

In the multi-storey car park at Bremer Platz Olaf Metzel set up a Dolby surround sound installation using audio recordings of professional car crash tests. Visitors could hear the sounds, triggered by a motion sensor, of an accelerating car that within seconds increased in volume and speed and ended in an ear-deafening crash. The shock at first hearing this din was followed by the anxious anticipation of the inevitable each time it was repeated. The seconds seemed to last an eternity and the acoustic set-up created a highly realistic spatial effect.

Metzel has addressed the cult of the car in Germany in several of his works, as well as the burgeoning privatisation of public space and its consequences. On this subject his ideas have proven far-sighted: “Every city has its pedestrian zones; they define the image of the downtown area. Hence the many parking garages for parking as well; how long these spaces will remain public, who they belong to when they are privatised, i.e. roofed over, heated and guarded, or when they will mutate into giant shopping centres, is a question of time.”1 The installation was accessible on foot by walking up the stairwell, or by car for a 1 DM charge in addition to the usual fee for parking.

 

Ferdinand Uptmoor

1 Olaf Metzel, “Free guts”, in: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, p. 281.

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Other Participation

This artist also participated in: 1987

Olaf Metzel

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Parkhaus Bremer Platz, Ebene 4

1997

Soundinstallation

Sensorgesteuerte Dolby-Surround-Installation

 

Standort

Parkhaus Bremer Platz, Ebene 4, auf Parkplätzen, die auf 20 Metern frei gehalten waren, Installation für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Olaf Metzel

* 1952 in Berlin, Deutschland

lebt und arbeitet in München, Deutschland

 

 

Im Parkhaus am Bremer Platz richtete Olaf Metzel eine Dolby-Surround-Installation ein, die auf Aufnahmen professioneller Auto-Crashtestreihen beruhte. Die Besucher_innen hörten ein durch Bewegungsmelder ausgelöstes Fahrgeräusch, das sich sekundenschnell in Lautstärke und Geschwindigkeit steigerte und in einem ohrenbetäubenden Aufprall endete. Dem Erschrecken beim ersten Hören folgte bei jedem weiteren Mal das bange Warten auf das Unvermeidliche. Die Sekunden erschienen dabei ausgesprochen lang und die Technik erzeugte eine besonders realistische räumliche Wirkung.

Metzel hat sich in einigen seiner Arbeiten mit der Kultur der Autofahrer in Deutschland auseinandergesetzt, ebenso mit der zunehmenden Privatisierung des öffentlichen Raumes und ihren Folgen. Dabei zeigte er sich weitsichtig: „Fußgängerzonen fehlen in keiner Stadt und prägen das Bild der Innenstädte. Deswegen auch die vielen Parkhäuser. Wie lange dieser Raum noch öffentlich ist, wem er gehört, wann er privatisiert, das heißt, überdacht, geheizt und bewacht wird oder zu riesigen Einkaufszentren mutiert, ist eine Frage der Zeit.“1 Man konnte die Installation zu Fuß über das Treppenhaus oder gegen eine Gebühr von 1 DM zuzüglich Parkgebühren mit dem Auto erreichen.

 

Ferdinand Uptmoor

 

1 Olaf Metzel, „Gratismut“. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 281. 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum

Weitere Teilnahmen

Weitere Teilnahmen dieses Künstlers: 1987