Bert Theis

Installation view 1997 © Bert Theis. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997 © Bert Theis. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Philosophische Plattform [Philosophical Platform]

1997

Installation

Wood, white paint, metal, sound system, mini-disk, fog machine, lighting system

2300 x 1000 x 120 cm

 

Location

Schlossgarten park, grassy area between the Palace and the Botanical Gardens.

Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Bert Theis

* 1952 in Luxemburg, Luxemburg

† 2016 in Luxemburg

 

In 1997 Bert Theis installed his Philosophische Plattform on the area of grass between the Palace and the Botanical Gardens. Its dimensions and positioning made reference to the central avant-corps jutting out from the palace façade. The wooden platform, painted white, was accessible via two short flights of steps and two lateral ramps. Its construction called to mind an empty stage, brought to life through human activity. Anyone and everyone could cross the platform on foot or by bicycle, or use it as a place to sit down for a while or from where to look over the hedge of the Botanical Gardens towards the rear of the palace. Computer-modified sounds issued from inside the installation, and in the evenings clouds of steam billowed from the platform, which was illuminated from below. The construction thus had both an epistemological function and concrete practical value.

Theis based his work on a set of plans – never executed – for a Baroque park in Münster, laid out around centralised visual axes and paths.1 In the artist’s view, these axes would have allowed the surroundings to be experienced at an accelerated speed from a carriage or on horseback.2The platform correspondingly emphasised its own axial layout and remained traversable by pedestrians and cyclists via its ramps.

 

Daniel Friedt

 

1 Johann Conrad Schlaun, the architect of Münster’s Prince Bishop’s Palace, had planned to lay out the gardens in the formal French style. After Schlaun’s death in 1773, his successor, Wilhelm Ferdinand Lipper, opted for the model of the English landscape garden. Schlaun’s symmetrical garden design is documented in original plans housed in the LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur. Bert Theis also based the work on two philosophical writings by Immanuel Kant: Beobachtungen über das Gefühl des Schönen und Erhabenen (Observation on the Feeling of the Beautiful and Sublime), Königsberg, 1764, and “Das Ende aller Dinge” (The End of All Things), in: Berlinische Monatsschrift, 23, pp. 495–523.

2 See the conversation between Bert Theis and Carlo Dolci in: Klaus Bussmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Sculpture. Projects in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, pp. 413–417, esp. p. 417.

 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Bert Theis

Installationsansicht 1997 © Bert Theis. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 1997 © Bert Theis. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Philosophische Plattform

1997

Installation

Holz, weiße Farbe, Metall, Sound-Anlage, Mini-Disc, Nebelanlage, Lichtanlage

2300 x 1000 x 120 cm

 

Standort

Schlossgarten, Rasenfläche zwischen Schloss und Botanischem Garten, temporäre Aufstellung für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

 

Bert Theis

* 1952 in Luxemburg, Luxemburg

† 2016 in Luxemburg  

Auf der Rasenfläche zwischen Schloss und Botanischem Garten ließ Bert Theis 1997 die Philosophische Plattform errichten. Das weiß lackierte Holzpodest, dessen Maße und Standort sich auf den Mittelrisalit der Schlossfassade bezogen, war über zwei Freitreppen und Rampen begehbar. Die Konstruktion erinnerte an eine leere Bühne, die durch Aktionen belebt wurde. Jede und jeder konnte sich darauf zu Fuß oder mit dem Fahrrad bewegen, sich ausruhen oder einen Blick über die Hecke des Botanischen Gartens in Richtung der Schlossrückseite werfen. Aus dem Inneren der Installation ertönten computertechnisch modifizierte Geräusche und abends stiegen Nebelschwaden aus der von unten beleuchteten Plattform auf. Die Konstruktion hatte somit sowohl eine erkenntnistheoretische Funktion als auch einen konkreten Gebrauchswert.

Theis bezog seine Arbeit auf die nicht verwirklichten Pläne einer barocken Gartenanlage mit zentralen Sicht- und Wegeachsen in Münster.1Diese Achsen hätten aus Sicht des Künstlers ein beschleunigtes Erleben der Umgebung „per Kutsche oder Pferd“ erlauben können.2Dementsprechend betonte die Plattform ihre axiale Ausrichtung und blieb durch die Rampen für Fußgänger und Radfahrer überquerbar.

 

Daniel Friedt

 

 

 

1 Johann Conrad Schlaun, der Architekt des fürstbischöflichen Schlosses von Münster, hatte im 18. Jahrhundert einen Park nach französischem Vorbild geplant. Nach Schlauns Tod 1773 bevorzugte sein Nachfolger Wilhelm Ferdinand Lipper zur Fertigstellung jedoch das Modell des englischen Gartens. Schlauns symmetrisches Gartenkonzept wird dokumentiert durch Originalpläne im Besitz des LWL-Museums für Kunst und Kultur. Darüber hinaus bezog sich der Künstler auf zwei philosophische Schriften: Immanuel Kant, Beobachtungen über das Gefühl des Schönen und Erhabenen, Königsberg 1764; ders., „Das Ende aller Dinge“. In: Berlinische Monatsschrift, 23, 1794, 495–523.

2 Gespräch zwischen Bert Theis und Carlo Dolci. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 417.

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum