Yutaka Sone

Image coming soon.

Birthday Party

1997

Video installation

Two video installations with footage of performances staged in various places around Münster, including Domplatz, the Schlossgarten to the rear of the palace, by Aasee lake, Ludgeristrasse as well as schools, kindergartens, the museum, the theatre, a cinema and the pedestrian precinct.

 

Location

Pedestrian underpass in front of the main station, on Berliner Platz (closed since July 1999 since when it has been converted), in the historic section of the Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster.

Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Yutaka Sone

* 1965 in Shizuoka, Japan

lives and works in Los Angeles, USA

For Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 the Japanese artist Yutaka Sone conceived a video installation showing a number of previously staged performances. One year prior to the exhibition the artist had himself filmed every day celebrating his birthday as a public event in several places around Münster, both in indoor and outdoor locations. People of all ages came to congratulate the artist. They sang songs to him and gave him presents and a birthday cake with candles which he then blew out. He edited the collected footage into a 22-minute video which was then shown during the 1997 exhibition on screens in the pedestrian underpass at the main station and in the historic section of the Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte.

By screening such a purportedly highly private moment in public spaces in Münster Yutaka Sone was seeking to explore the threshold between the individual and society.1 Whereas in many cultures a birthday is celebrated as a joyful occurrence to commemorate a person’s existence, Sone staged it as a collective experience that had no need of a fixed location or particular individuals.

 

Daniel Friedt

1 Cf. Tokyo Opera City Art Gallery, “SONE Yutaka: Perfect Moment”: accessible online at: https://www.operacity.jp/ag/exh126/e/exhibition.html (last accessed: 15.6.2017).

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Yutaka Sone

Birtday Party, 1997, © the artist

Birtday Party, 1997, © the artist

Birthday Party [Geburtstagsfeier]

1997

Videoinstallation

Zwei Videoinstallationen mit Aufnahmen von Performances an verschiedenen Orten in der Stadt, u. a. auf dem Domplatz, im Schlossgarten auf der Rückseite des Schlosses, am Aasee, in der Ludgeristraße sowie auch in Schulen, Kindergärten, im Museum, Theater, Kino und in der Fußgängerzone

 

Standort

Fußgängerunterführung vor dem Hauptbahnhof, Berliner Platz (seit Juli 1999 geschlossen und in der Folge umgebaut), Altbau des Westfälischen Landesmuseums für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, temporäre Einrichtung für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

Yutaka Sone

* 1965 in Shizuoka, Japan

lebt und arbeitet in Los Angeles, Kalifornien, USA

 

Der japanische Künstler Yutaka Sone konzipierte für die Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 eine Videoinstallation, die zuvor durchgeführte Performances zeigte. Ein Jahr vor Ausstellungsbeginn ließ er sich täglich dabei filmen, wie er an unterschiedlichen Orten in Münster, sowohl in Außen- als auch in Innenräumen, seinen Geburtstag als öffentliche Veranstaltung feierte. Menschen jeden Alters gratulierten dem Künstler. Sie sangen für ihn ein Ständchen, brachten ihm Geschenke oder eine Geburtstagstorte, deren Kerzen er im Anschluss ausblies. Aus den gesammelten Aufnahmen entstand ein 22 Minuten langer Videofilm, der 1997 auf Monitoren in der Fußgängerunterführung am Hauptbahnhof und im Altbau des Westfälischen Landesmuseums für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte gezeigt wurde.

Durch die Übertragung eines vermeintlich sehr privaten Momentes auf öffentliche Plätze in Münster versuchte Yutaka Sone die Grenze zwischen dem Individuum und der Gesellschaft auszuloten.1 Den Geburtstag, der in vielen Kulturkreisen als freudiges Ereignis in Erinnerung an die eigene Existenz zelebriert wird, inszenierte er als kollektive Erfahrung, die keinen festen Ort oder bestimmte Personen benötigt.

 

Daniel Friedt

1 Vgl. hierzu Tokyo Opera City Art Gallery, „SONE Yutaka: Perfect Moment“. Online unter: https://www.operacity.jp/ag/exh126/e/exhibition.html (Stand 3.5.2017). 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum