Valérie Jouve

Installation view 2007 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 2007 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Münsterlands

2007

Installation

Film projection, 35 mm film transferred onto video, accompanied by an audiovisual composition

Length: 43:00 minutes

Wall installation about 24 metres in length with shots of the surrounding area, film stills and soundtrack

 

Location

Installed in the former pedestrian underpass on Schlossplatz (formerly Hindenburgplatz) for the duration of the exhibition skulptur projekte münster 07

 

Valérie Jouve

* 1964 in Saint-Étienne, France

lives and works in Paris, France

 

Valérie Jouve’s works in photography and film address the subject of people and their urban environment. With her anthropologically trained gaze she generally combines portraits and topographic views to create condensed images, by staging figures in often exaggerated poses in front of city backdrops. In her multimedia project Münsterlands, installed in a pedestrian underpass on Schlossplatz as a film, image and sound composition, she explored the impact of specific sites on the human body and vice versa as well.

Jouve’s filmed surveys focused predominantly on Münster and its environs. It was recorded from the perspective of strangers approaching the city from different directions. The journey was undertaken on foot, by train and by boat, leading from the periphery to the centre, to the site of the artistic installation. Jouve consciously avoided narration, cartographic legibility and any touristic perception of the city and its landmarks. Using experimental cinematography the artist shot footage of the urban surroundings from the viewpoint of these protagonists, thereby conveying a multilayered experience of time and space. In conjunction with the photographs, that were visible only in semi-darkness and accompanied by recordings of a whispering voice, the film projection created a space of various levels of sensorial perception beyond rational understanding.1

 

Beate Pittnauer

 

 

1 Cf. Valérie Jouve, “Münsterlands”, in: Brigitte Franzen, Kasper König and Carina Plath (eds.), sculpture projects muenster 07, exhib. cat. LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Cologne, 2007, p. 123.

 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Valérie Jouve

Installationsansicht 2007 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 2007 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Münsterlands [Münsterländer]

2007

Installation

Filmprojektion, 35 mm Film umkopiert auf Video, begleitet von einer Bild- und Tonkomposition

Filmlänge: 43:00 Minuten

Ca. 24 Meter große Wandinstallation mit Standbildern der Umgebung und Filmstills, Tonspur

 

Standort

Installiert in der ehem. Fußgängerunterführung am Schlossplatz (bis 2012 noch Hindenburgplatz) für die Dauer der skulptur projekte münster 07

 

Valérie Jouve

* 1964 in Saint-Étienne, Frankreich

lebt und arbeitet in Paris, Frankreich

 

In ihren fotografischen und filmischen Arbeiten thematisiert Valérie Jouve den Menschen und seine urbane Lebenswelt. Mit anthropologisch geschultem Blick fügt sie meist Porträts und topografische Ansichten zu verdichteten Bildern zusammen, indem sie Figuren in oftmals übersteigerter Geste vor einer großstädtischen Kulisse inszeniert. Auch in ihrem multimedialen Projekt Münsterlands, das sie als Film-, Bild- und Tonkomposition in der Fußgängerunterführung am Schlossplatz installierte, untersuchte sie die Wirkung von Orten auf menschliche Körper und umgekehrt.

Jouves filmische Erkundungen galten vor allem der Stadt Münster und dem nahen Umland. Vermittelt wurden sie aus der Perspektive von Fremden, die sich aus unterschiedlichen Richtungen der Stadt näherten. Die Reise führte zu Fuß, mit dem Zug oder dem Schiff von der Peripherie ins Zentrum, an den Ort der künstlerischen Installation. Bewusst vermied Jouve Narration, kartografische Lesbarkeit sowie einen touristischen Blick auf die Stadt und ihre Wahrzeichen. Sie ließ die Protagonist_innen ebenso mäandern wie ihre Bilder. Mithilfe einer experimentellen Kameraführung nahm die Künstlerin das Stadtgebiet aus der Perspektive dieser Protagonist_innen auf und generierte eine vielschichtige raum-zeitliche Erfahrung. Zusammen mit den Fotoarbeiten, die nur im Halbdunkeln zu sehen waren, und einer eingespielten Flüsterstimme schuf die Filmprojektion einen Raum verschiedener Sinneswahrnehmungen jenseits von rationalem Verstehen.1

 

Beate Pittnauer

 

 

 

1 Vgl. Valérie Jouve, „Münsterlands“. In: Brigitte Franzen, Kasper König und Carina Plath (Hg.), skulptur projekte münster 07, Ausst.-Kat.: LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Köln 2007, 123. 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum