Maria Pask

Installation view 2007 © Courtesy the artist and Ellen de Bruijne Projects. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 2007 © Courtesy the artist and Ellen de Bruijne Projects. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Beautiful City

2007

Participatory project in the form of a lecture series and its documentation in a white tent and a library containing books on subjects of religion, ethics and spirituality

Each weekend (mostly Sundays) from 17 June to 30 September 2007 lectures were held by the following speakers:

Sunday, 17 June 1 p.m. Dena Merriam
Saturday, 23 June 1 p.m. Rev. Tom Marfo
Sunday, 1 July 2 p.m. Edwin Kagin
Sunday, 8 July 2 p.m. Prof. Dr. Assaad Kattan
Sunday, 15 July 2 p.m. Winfried Kopps
Sunday, 22 July 2 p.m. Romel Regalado Bagares, Julian Struijk
Sunday, 29 July 2 p.m. Fernand Mich
Sunday, 5 August 2 p.m. Susanne Frieters
Sunday, 12 August 2 p.m. Lavinia Byrne
Sunday, 19 August 2 p.m. Dr. Peter Cave
Sunday, 26 August 2 p.m. Dosa Jhana
Sunday, 2 September 2 p.m. Minerva
Sunday, 9 September 2 p.m. Gam Klutier
Sunday, 16 September 2 p.m. Arumugam Paskaran
Sunday, 23 September 2 p.m. David James

On each of these dates the venue could be visited from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m.

 

Location

The meadow between Einsteinstraße and Schlossgraben in the northern section of Schlossgarten, close to the permanently installed works of George Brecht and Herman de Vries. Temporary installation for the duration of skulptur projekte münster 07

Maria Pask

* 1969 in Cardiff, Great Britain

lives and works in Amsterdam, Netherlands

 

Maria Pask’s artistic practice revolves around projects involving the participation of different population groups, in which incremental processes and discourse extending beyond the actual work play an essential role. For this, the artist usually adopts working methods evolved in the 1960s and oriented towards forms espoused by alternative movements.1

For her project Beautiful City presented at skulptur projekte münster 07 Pask invited sixteen representatives of various denominations from all over the world to Münster. Each weekend a different guest lecturer spoke of her or his spiritual and religious outlook. In a white tent erected on the meadow north of the Schlossgarten the speakers reflected on questions previously formulated by the artist about how to communicate one’s personal religious beliefs, about the challenges posed by other creeds and about peaceful co-existence between different religions. The discussions were open to friends, Münster residents and student groups to take part. Prior to each talk people could set up camp on the meadow around the main tent. A library installed in the tent also offered an opportunity to read about subjects relating to religion, ethics and spirituality.

Pask’s project was inspired by the lyrics of a song performed in the Christian off-Broadway musical Godspell (1971) describing a “beautiful city” not built out of stones but out of dreams, ethical principles and spiritual visions.2 Pask chose this reference in allusion to the prize awarded to Münster in 2004 as “the most livable city”, a place of encounter for diverse cultures, religions and alternative visions of life. With this she associated the utopian idea that visitors might enter into dialogue with individually lived religious persuasions, debate current issues and, on the basis of their own beliefs, overcome possible cultural prejudices.

 

Daniel Friedt

 

1 Cf. LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, “Maria Pask”.www.skulptur-projekte.de/archiv/07/www.skulptur-projekte.de/kuenstler/pask/index3322.html?lang=de (last consultation: 4.5.2017).

2 Cf. Maria Pask, „Project proposal“. Online unter: www.beautifulcity.de/text.html (last consultation: 4.5.2017).

 

Images

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Maria Pask

Installationsansicht 2007 © Courtesy the artist und Ellen de Bruijne Projects. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 2007 © Courtesy the artist und Ellen de Bruijne Projects. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Beautiful City [Wundervolle Stadt]

2007

Partizipatorisches Projekt in Form einer Vortragsreihe und deren Dokumentation in einem weißen Zelt sowie eine Bibliothek mit Büchern zu den Themen Religion, Ethik und Spiritualität

Vom 17. Juni bis zum 30. September 2007 an jedem Wochenende (meist sonntags) stattfindende Vorträge folgender Redner:

Sonntag, 17. Juni 13.00 Uhr Dena Merriam
Samstag, 23. Juni 13.00 Uhr Rev. Tom Marfo
Sonntag, 1. Juli 14.00 Uhr Edwin Kagin
Sonntag, 8. Juli 14.00 Uhr Prof. Dr. Assaad Kattan
Sonntag, 15. Juli 14.00 Uhr Winfried Kopps
Sonntag, 22. Juli 14.00 Uhr Romel Regalado Bagares, Julian Struijk
Sonntag, 29. Juli 14.00 Uhr Fernand Mich
Sonntag, 5. August 14.00 Uhr Susanne Frieters
Sonntag, 12. August 14.00 Uhr Lavinia Byrne
Sonntag, 19. August 14.00 Uhr Dr. Peter Cave
Sonntag, 26. August 14.00 Uhr Dosa Jhana
Sonntag, 2. September 14.00 Uhr Minerva
Sonntag, 9. September 14.00 Uhr Gam Klutier
Sonntag, 16. September 14.00 Uhr Arumugam Paskaran
Sonntag, 23. September 14.00 Uhr David James

Der Ort war an jedem Tag von 10.00 bis 22.00 Uhr zugänglich.

 

Standort

Die Wiesenfläche zwischen Einsteinstraße und Schlossgraben im nördlichen Teil des Schlossgartens neben den dauerhaft aufgestellten Arbeiten von George Brecht und Herman de Vries, temporäre Einrichtung für die Dauer der skulptur projekte münster 07

 

 

Maria Pask

* 1969 in Cardiff, Großbritannien

lebt und arbeitet in Amsterdam, Niederlande

 

Maria Pasks künstlerische Praxis kreist um Projekte, an denen unterschiedliche Bevölkerungsgruppen beteiligt sind und bei denen prozessuale Abläufe sowie über die Arbeit hinausweisende Diskurse eine essentielle Rolle spielen. Hierzu greift die Künstlerin meist Arbeitsweisen auf, die in den 1960er-Jahren entstanden und sich an Formen alternativer Bewegungen orientierten.1

Im Rahmen der skulptur projekte münster 07 lud Pask für ihren Beitrag Beautiful City 16 Vertreter_innen unterschiedlicher Glaubensrichtungen aus aller Welt nach Münster ein. Jedes Wochenende sprach ein Gastredner oder eine Gastrednerin von seinen oder ihren spirituellen und religiösen Auffassungen. In dem auf einer Wiese nördlich des Schlossgartens errichteten weißen Zelt gingen die Sprechenden auf die zuvor von der Künstlerin formulierten Fragen nach der Vermittlung persönlicher religiöser Glaubensauffassungen, nach der Bedrohung durch andere Glaubensformen sowie auch der friedlichen Koexistenz verschiedener Religionen ein. Dabei konnten sich Freund_innen, Mitbürger_innen und studentische Gruppen an den Diskussionen beteiligen. In Erwartung des nächsten Vortrages durfte auf dem Gelände auch gezeltet werden. Eine im großen Zelt eingerichtete Bibliothek bot zudem die Möglichkeit der Lektüre zu den Themen Religion, Ethik und Spiritualität.

Für ihr Projekt ließ sich Pask von einem Lied aus dem christlichen Off-Broadway-Musical Godspell (1971) inspirieren, in dem eine „Beautiful City“ besungen wird, die nicht aus Steinen, sondern aus visionären Ideen, ethischen Prinzipien und spirituellen Visionen entstehe.2 Pask wählte diese Referenz in Anlehnung an die Prämierung der Stadt Münster im Jahr 2004 als „lebenswerteste Stadt“, in der unterschiedliche Kulturen, Religionen und alternative Lebensvorstellungen aufeinanderträfen. Damit verband sie die idealistische Vision, dass die Besucher_innen in einen Dialog mit individuell gelebten Glaubensrichtungen treten, aktuelle Probleme diskutieren und aus dem eigenen Glauben heraus mögliche Vorurteile abbauen könnten.

 

Daniel Friedt

 

 

1 Vgl. LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, „Maria Pask“. Online unter: www.skulptur-projekte.de/archiv/07/www.skulptur-projekte.de/kuenstler/pask/index3322.html?lang=de (Stand: 4.5.2017).

2 Maria Pask, „Project proposal“. Online unter: www.beautifulcity.de/text.html (Stand: 4.5.2017).

 

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum