Nairy Baghramian

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Beliebte Stellen / Privileged Points

2017

 

Sculpture

Lacquered bronze, metal, lashing chain, tensioning devices, rubber

 

Location

Front and rear courtyard of Erbdrostenhof, Salzstraße 38

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition.

Nairy Baghramian

* 1971 Isfahan, Iran, lives in Berlin, Germany

Nairy Bagrahmian brings together objects and sculptures that can be assigned to different sculptural genres. Their aesthetic vocabulary incorporates fragile objects that seem as if they were shaped by a flick of the wrist or a sketching gesture as well as works that resemble prosthetics, supports, parapets, and cushions. Although Baghramian always precisely alludes to the architectural, historical, and institutional framing of the specific exhibition environment, her works possess a conceptual mutability and adaptability that the artist consciously exploits. In this way, certain groups of works are deployed more frequently and recharged with further narratives.

Baghramian chose one of the top locations in Münster for her work Beliebte Stellen / Privileged Points: the Erbdrostenhof (a baroque palace built by Johann Conrad Schlaun in 1757). In the palace forecourt she placed an elegantly curved bronze landmark, consisting of three slender but heavy, interconnecting elements. They were held together by visible clamps and propped up in a few spots on the courtyard’s cobblestones. The open circle, measuring a diameter of approximately five metres, was explicitly interrupted by the dimensions of the objects, whose bronze casting makes for an optimal result. In the palace’s rear courtyard (which can be accessed from the St Servatii church square), six similar sculpture elements were piled up that could be used to assemble two more Beliebte Stellen / Privileged Points.

By choosing this particular location, the artist deliberately followed the tradition of sculptural positions by artists like Richard Serra (Trunk: Johann Conrad Schlaun Recomposed, 1987) and Andreas Siekmann (Trickle Down: Der öffentliche Raum im Zeitalter seiner Privatisierung, 2007) who left their mark on the same location—thirty and ten years ago respectively, both as contributions to the Skulptur Projekte. With her work, Baghramian anticipated the cultural-political before and after as well as the professed site-specificity of the previous sculptures located here, which played a key role, especially with regard to Serra’s work. Not before the end of the exhibition, provided that the work has been sold, the separate elements of the sculpture—which is initially provisional and only finished with a primer—would actually be welded together and the work would be completed. Baghramian refered specifically to the history of art at this location, but she didn’t consciously impose any site-specific restrictions that would exclude the possibility of installing the work in another urban context or as part of a collection. She was one step ahead of the debates and the decision regarding the fate of her sculpture in Münster—they represented an immanent part of her work.

 

Nicola Torke

Images

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Other Participation

This artist also participated in: 2007

Nairy Baghramian

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Beliebte Stellen / Privileged Points

2017

 

Skulptur

Lackierte Bronze, Metall, Zurrkette, Spindelspanner, Gummi

 

Standort

Vorplatz und Hinterhof des Erbdrostenhofs, Salzstraße 38

Temporäre Aufstellung für die Dauer der Ausstellung

Nairy Baghramian

* 1971 Isfahan, Iran, lebt in Berlin, Deutschland

In komplexen Installationen führt Nairy Baghramian Objekte und Skulpturen zusammen, die unterschiedlichen Genres der Bildhauerei zugeordnet werden können. Ihre Formensprache umfasst fragile, wie aus Handgriffen oder einer zeichnerischen Geste heraus entwickelte Objekte genauso wie Arbeiten, die an Prothesen, Stützen, Brüstungen und Polster erinnern. Obwohl Baghramian sich jeweils präzise auf die architektonische, historische und institutionelle Rahmung der spezifischen Ausstellungssituation bezieht, besitzen ihre Werke eine konzeptuelle Wandelbarkeit und Anpassungsfähigkeit, mit der die Künstlerin bewusst arbeitet. So kommen beispielsweise bestimmte Werkgruppen häufiger zum Einsatz und laden sich darüber mit einer weiteren Geschichte auf.

Als Standort für ihre Arbeit Beliebte Stellen / Privileged Points wählte Baghramian eine der ersten Adressen in Münster: den Erbdrostenhof (1757 von Johann Conrad Schlaun erbaut). Im Vorhof des Barockpalais platzierte sie eine geschwungene Markierung, die sich aus drei aneinander anschließenden schlanken, dennoch schwergewichtigen, aus Bronze gegossenen Elementen zusammensetzt. Sie wurden mit sichtbaren Klammern verbunden und an wenigen Stellen auf dem Kopfsteinpflaster des Innenhofes abgestützt. Die im Durchschnitt circa fünf Meter messende offene Kreisform war genau von jenen Objektmaßen unterbrochen, mit denen im Bronzegussverfahren ein optimales Ergebnis zu erzielen ist. Auf dem rückwärtigen Hof des Palais (der vom Servatiikirchplatz aus zu erreichen ist) stapelte sich ein Konvolut aus sechs vergleichbaren Teilstücken, aus denen zwei weitere Beliebte Stellen / Privileged Points zusammengesetzt werden konnten.

Mit der Wahl des Standorts stellte sich die Künstlerin bewusst in die Tradition der skulpturalen Positionen von Richard Serra (Trunk – Johann Conrad Schlaun Recomposed, 1987) und Andreas Siekmann (Trickle Down. Der öffentliche Raum im Zeitalter seiner Privatisierung, 2007), die sich anlässlich der Skulptur Projekte eine beziehungsweise drei Dekaden zuvor in den gleichen Ort eingeschrieben haben. Baghramian antizipierte mit ihrem Werk das kulturpolitische Davor und Danach sowie die behauptete Ortsspezifik der vorangegangenen Setzungen, die vor allem im Werk von Serra eine zentrale Rolle spielte. Erst nach der aktuellen Ausstellung, im Fall eines Ankaufs der Arbeit, sollten die Einzelteile der zunächst provisorischen und nur mit einer Vorlackierung versehenen Skulptur verschweißt und das Werk vollendet werden. Baghramian bezog sich konkret auf die Geschichte von Kunst an diesem Ort, aber setzte bewusst keine ortsspezifische Beschränkung, die eine Installation des Werkes in einem anderen städtischen Kontext oder dem einer Sammlung ausschließen würde. Sie war den Diskussionen und der Entscheidung über den Verbleib ihrer Skulptur in Münster einen Schritt voraus – diese waren ihrem Werk immanent.

 

Nicola Torke

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum

Weitere Teilnahmen

Weitere Teilnahmen dieses Künstlers: 2007