Aram Bartholl

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

12 V

2017

Installation

Router, grill, thermoelectric generator, cables, electronics, software, database

Location

Transmission tower, playground on Mühlhäuser Straße

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition

 

 

5 V

2017

Installation

Campfire, wood, steel, thermoelectric generator, cables, electronics

 

Location

Meadow next to Theater im Pumpenhaus, Gartenstraße 123

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition

3 V

2017

Installation

Aluminium, acrylic glass, thermoelectric generator, electronics, LEDs, tea candles, steel chain

 

Location

Underpass at the palace square, Schlossplatz 46

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition

Aram Bartholl

* 1972 Bremen, Germany, lives in Berlin, Germany

Aram Bartholl deals with the possibilities and effects of increasing digitalization in his role as an installation and performance artist. Since the early 2000s he has been actively involved in the production of a digital public sphere—anonymity, open source, and hacking are the key buzzwords of this fledgling Internet generation. In 2010, as part of the project Dead Drops, he showed how conventional USB drives can be cemented into walls as dead letterboxes, thus initiating an on-going international wave of similar interventions. The drives allow data to be exchanged in the urban space without being stored and evaluated by algorithms on the Internet. Although it is normal for large amounts of data to be stored and sent on the Internet and for USB drives to be passed from hand to hand on a private basis, by publicly installing them in an urban setting, he creates disturbing situations for people and—in light of what is already happening and what might happen on any given day—fuels people’s anxieties.

Bartholl’s installations in Münster were all based on thermoelectric devices that directly transform fire—the primeval medium of communication—into electrical energy. At the same time, the artist alluded to three construction projects that have played a key role in Münster’s urban development: the building of the palace (1767) and the canal-water pumping station (1901) and the installation of a DVB-T-antenna (2007) on top of the telecommunications tower. In the underground passageway leading to the palace square, Bartholl hung up five chandeliers, each consisting of ten thermoelectric LED reading lamps powered by tea candles. In the event of an emergency they could serve to illuminate a shelter. At Münster’s Theater im Pumpenhaus, Bartholl provided devices for charging mobile phones: visitors could hold sticks—equipped with generators—in a campfire to charge their phone batteries. On the playground at the base of the telecommunications tower Bartholl set up a small stove, equipped with a thermoelectric generator that provided electricity to the router on the tower without using the Internet. Visitors could log into an offline database via Wi-Fi to download instructions for living without the Internet and upload their own files.

Bartholl’s playful and experimental work contributes to the demystification of technology. It prompts critical, self-determined, and independent interaction with the possibilities of digital networking and is based on an idea closely associated with technÄ“: the arts are combined with craftsmanship, manual dexterity, and self-reflection.

 

Nicola  Torke

 

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Aram Bartholl

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

12 V

2017

Installlation

Router, Campingofen, Thermogenerator, Kabel,

Elektronik, Software, Datenbank

 

Standort

Fernmeldeturm, Spielplatz an der Mühlhäuser Straße

Temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Ausstellung

5 V

2017

Installation

Lagerfeuer, Holz, Stahl, Thermogenerator, Kabel, Elektronik

 

Standort

Wiese neben dem Theater im Pumpenhaus, Gartenstraße 123

Temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Ausstellung

3 V

2017

Installation

Aluminium, Acrylglas, Thermogenerator, Elektronik, LEDs, Teelichter, Stahlkette

 

Standort

Unterführung am Schlossplatz,Schlossplatz 46

Temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Ausstellung

Aram Bartholl

* 1972 Bremen, Deutschland, lebt in Berlin, Deutschland

Aram Bartholl setzt sich als Installations- und Performancekünstler mit den Möglichkeiten und Folgen zunehmender Digitalisierung auseinander. Seit den frühen 2000er Jahren beteiligt er sich aktiv an der Produktion einer digitalen Öffentlichkeit – Anonymität, Open Source und Hacking sind die entscheidenden Stichworte dieser frühen Internetgeneration. In dem Projekt Dead Drops zeigte er 2010, wie sich herkömmliche USB-Sticks als tote Briefkästen einmauern lassen, und initiierte so eine bis heute andauernde, internationale Welle von entsprechenden Eingriffen. Im Stadtraum ermöglichen die Sticks den Austausch von Daten jenseits ihrer Speicherung und algorithmischen Auswertung im Internet. Obwohl es üblich ist, dass im Netz große Datenmengen hinterlegt und verschickt werden und im privaten Gebrauch USB-Sticks von Hand zu Hand weitergegeben werden, ruft ihre Installation im öffentlichen Stadtraum Irritationen und, gemessen an dem, was ohnehin schon täglich stattfindet und stattfinden kann, irrationale Ängste hervor.

Bartholls Installationen in Münster basierten auf thermoelektrischen Apparaturen, die Feuer – das erste Kommunikationsmedium überhaupt – direkt in elektrische Energie umwandelten. Gleichzeitig bezog sich der Künstler damit auf drei Bauwerke, die in der Stadtentwicklung Münsters eine bedeutende Rolle gespielt haben: die Erbauung des Schlosses (1767), des Kanalwasserpumpenwerks (1901) und die Aufsetzung einer DVB-T-Antenne (2007) auf den Fernmeldeturm. In der Unterführung zum Schlossplatz brachte  Bartholl fünf Kronleuchter an, die jeweils aus zehn thermoelektrischen, mit Teelichtern betriebenen LED-Leselampen bestanden und im Katastrophenfall einen Schutzraum hätten beleuchten können. Am Kulturzentrum Pumpenhaus stellte Bartholl Werkzeuge zum Aufladen von Mobiltelefonen zur Verfügung: Besucher_innen konnten die mit Generatoren ausgestatteten Stöcke in ein Lagerfeuer halten, um ihre Handyakkus aufzuladen. Auf dem Spielplatz am Fernmeldeturm positionierte Bartholl einen kleinen Ofen, der über einen Thermogenerator den am Turm befestigten Router ohne Internet mit Strom versorgte. Besucher_innen konnten sich per WLAN in eine Offline-Datenbank einloggen und dort Anleitungen für das Leben ohne Internet herunter- und eigene Dateien hochladen.

Bartholls spielerische und experimentelle Arbeiten tragen zur Entmystifizierung der Technologie bei. Sie forcieren einen kritischen, selbstbestimmten und unabhängigen Umgang mit den Möglichkeiten einer digitalen Vernetzung und beruhen auf einem Denken, das an den Begriff technē anknüpft: Die Künste sind vereint mit dem handwerklichen Tun, den Fertigkeiten sowie mit der Bedeutung und Reflexion ihres Gegenstands.

 

Nicola Torke

 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum