Michael Dean

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Tender Tender

2017

 

Installation

Plastic sheeting, concrete, stickers, metal, paper, plastic bags

 

Installation in the atrium covering an area of ca. 215 m²

Sculptures in front of the building of the museum:

 

152 × 40 cm

107 × 35 cm

170 × 45 cm

175 × 45 cm

 

Location

Atrium in old building of LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur and outdoor area in front of the old building, Domplatz 10

 

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition

Michael Dean

* 1977 in Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom

lives in London, United Kingdom

In many of his works, Michael Dean develops a sculptural script within a space. However, his objects, which are frequently made of materials like cement, sand, and earth, don’t necessarily depict specific letters. Rather, they are to be seen as an abstract semiotic system that generates meaning via a process of interaction—like words in a sentence.

The artist installed a large, transparent plastic sheet inside the atrium of the LWL-Museum für Kunst and Kultur, which was draped from the first-storey banister to the floor, covering it like a canopy and creating a space within a space. Apart from one entrance, which was aligned with what used to be the main entrance to the cathedral square, all the other ways into the atrium were covered with plastic sheeting. In this way, Dean re-established the original direction of movement through the arcade as designated in the historical construction plans of the old museum building. Using peepholes at eye level, visitors could take a look at the sculptures inside the plastic sheeting. The artist’s height as well as that of his wife and children served to determine the height of the peepholes. By peering through the holes, visitors were assigned roles in the performance—both watching and being watched. An essential part of the installation was a walkway in the form of the letter ‘f’ and made of concrete slabs, an element he consistently includes in his work: written in cursive, an ‘f’ is both an identifiable letter as well as a continuous abstract line. The sculptures located within the plastic sheet were reminiscent of urban objects—street lamps, public rubbish bins, refuse. Stickers were affixed to the transparent sheet. In the adjacent external space, Dean fastened objects to the street lamps on the cathedral square, using bicycle locks and padlocks. In so doing, he continued his urban tale in the museum context and, vice versa, returned sculptures to the city environment.

This link-up between the museum space and the urban space also played a role at the Skulptur Projekte 1977: Joseph Beuys had planned to install a wedge of tallow in the urban space as part of his project Unschlitt / Tallow, but the work was relocated inside the atrium. Since then, the conceptual orientation of linking the city’s external space with internal architectural space has often been evident at this location, which itself seems to be an external architectural construction turned outside in. The source of Dean’s sculptural work is his interest in letters, words, and sentences as part of a contingent framework of meaning. With his excessive use of stickers, which he designs based on existing layouts and affixes in various places and on diverse surfaces, Dean cites Street Art techniques that have been increasingly employed in the commercial sector for so-called guerrilla marketing. Dean now returns this procedure to an artistic context.

 

Nico Anklam

Images

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Michael Dean

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Tender Tender [sei zärtlich, sei zärtlich]

2017

 

Installation

Folie, Beton, Sticker, Metall, Papier, Plastiktüten

 

Installation im Lichthof auf einer Fläche von ca. 215 m²;

Skulpturen vor dem Museum ca.

152 × 40 cm

107 × 35 cm

170 × 45 cm

175 × 45 cm

 

Standort

Lichthof im Altbau des LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur und Außenbereich vor dem Altbau, Domplatz 10

 

Temporäre Aufstellung für die Dauer der Ausstellung

Michael Dean

* 1977 Newcastle upon Tyne, Vereinigtes Königreich

lebt in London, Vereinigtes Königreich

Michael Dean entwickelt in vielen seiner Arbeiten eine Art skulpturale Schrift im Raum. Seine Objekte, häufig aus Materialien wie Zement, Sand und Erde gefertigt, stellen jedoch nicht unbedingt spezifische Buchstaben dar, sondern sind vielmehr als abstraktes Zeichensystem zu verstehen. Im Zusammenspiel – wie Wörter in einem Satz – generieren sie Bedeutung.

Der Künstler installierte im Lichthof des LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur eine großflächige, transparente Plastikfolie, die von der Balustrade im ersten Stock bis zum Boden fiel, diesen bedeckt und einen Raum im Raum schafft. Bis auf einen Zugang, der sich am ehemaligen Haupteingang zum Domplatz orientiert, waren die Wege in den Lichthof durch die Folie verhängt. Dean stellte so die in den historischen Bauplänen des Museumsaltbaus festgelegte Laufrichtung durch den Säulenumgang wieder her. Durch Gucklöcher in Augenhöhe konnten die Besucher_innen einen Blick auf die Skulpturen im hinter der Folie liegenden Lichthof werfen. Die Körpergröße des Künstlers, die seiner Frau und seiner Kinder gaben vor, in welcher Höhe die Löcher angebracht wurden. Den Besucher_innen wurde durch das Hineinschauen eine performative Rolle des Betrachtens und Betrachtet-Werdens zugewiesen. Zentral für die Installation war ein aus Betonplatten gelegter, begehbarer Weg in Form des Buchstabens „f“, den Dean immer wieder in sein Werk einfügt: In Schreibschrift ist das f sowohl konkreter Buchstabe als auch eine kontinuierliche abstrakte Linie. Die Skulpturen im Innenraum erinnerten an Straßenlaternen, öffentliche Mülleimer, Abfälle, an Objekte des urbanen Stadtraums. Die Folie wurde mit Stickern beklebt. Im direkt angrenzenden Außenraum, auf dem Domplatz, befestigte Dean mit Fahrrad- und Vorhängeschlössern skulpturale Objekte an den Laternenmasten. Er führte somit eine urbane Erzählung im musealen Kontext fort – und vice versa – eine Rückführung von Skulptur in den Stadtraum.

Die Verknüpfung von Museums- und Stadtraum spielte bereits im Rahmen der Skulptur Projekte 1977 eine Rolle: Joseph Beuys plante mit seiner Arbeit Unschlitt / Tallow einen Fettkeil im Stadtraum zu installieren; die Arbeit wurde allerdings in den Lichthof verlegt. Die thematische Ausrichtung einer Reflexion von urbanem Außen- und architektonischem Innenraum war in der Folge oft präsent an diesem Ort, der selbst wie eine nach innen gewendete Außenarchitektur erscheint. Ausgangspunkt für Deans skulpturales Werk ist sein Interesse an Buchstaben, Wörtern und Sätzen als Teile eines kontingenten Bedeutungsgefüges. Die exzessive Verwendung der von Dean in Anlehnung an bestehende Layouts gestalteten Sticker an verschiedenen Stellen und auf unterschiedlichen Untergründen zitiert Techniken der Street Art, die vermehrt als sogenanntes Guerilla-Marketing von Firmen vereinnahmt wird. Dean führt diese wieder in den Kunstkontext zurück.

 

Niko Anklam

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum