Lara Favaretto

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Momentary Monument — The Stone

2017

 

Sculpture

Tittlinger coarse-grained granite

 

Dimensions

ca. 420 × 140 × 155 cm

 

Locations

North-eastern meadow between Ludgeriplatz Square and Promenade (behind bus stops)

Part two of the work on the courtyard of the town hall in Marl, Creiler Platz 1

 

Temporary Installation for the duration of the exhibition

Lara Favaretto

* 1973 in Treviso, Italy

lives in Turin, Italy 

Lara Favaretto’s objects and installations are characterized by a minimalistic style, yet by conscientiously embedding her work in a carefully selected location, she gives it a strong social and political impact. By using materials such as stone or metal, her objects initially convey the sense that they are designed for a much longer space of time. However, Favaretto’s art disappears at the end of an exhibition when it is either dismantled or completely destroyed.

Favaretto’s ongoing series of Momentary Monuments has been executed in various forms since 2009. For Skulptur Projekte 2017, this series has been continued on the Promenade and in the neighbouring town of Marl, in each case with a hollowed-out granite boulder. At first sight, the four-metre-high stone seemed to be an alien object or a glacial erratic. And yet, when circling the boulder, it became evident that it was wrought by hand, which raised questions as to its function. There was a little slot that money can be dropped into. At the end of the exhibition the stone was destroyed, the resulting gravel reused, and the collected money donated to charity. The artist has decided to give the money to the organization Hilfe für Menschen in Abschiebehaft Büren e. V. (offering help to people facing deportation).

Favaretto’s monument was empty at the beginning of the exhibition and meaningless in the best sense of the word. Normally public monuments or memorials refer to a particular event or a historical person to keep their memory alive in current discourse. Donations are usually collected before monuments are erected to pay the commissioned artists. Favaretto, however, changed the normal process and reinterpreted certain functions. In particular, the object’s temporary existence and its destruction, with the debris and remains being put to further use, were diametrically opposed to the concept of institutionalized monument conservation.

Nevertheless, the symbolic meaning of the object wasn’t derived from the form itself but rather emerged as a result of the site-specific interaction: on the Promenade, Favaretto’s stone began a dialogue with the Train Monument from the 1920s and the nearby immigration office. The roundabout in the middle (Ludgeriplatz) topographically connected the two contexts. The Train Monument honours the Train Battalion as well as two high-ranking German officers who died in battle, one in the former colony of German South West Africa and the other in the Boxer Rebellion in China. The donations collected inside the monument were also for a foundation that has been caring for refugees in a ‘shelter for those scheduled for deportation’ since 1996. The facility, located in a rural area near the town of Büren, is responsible for accommodating refugees from all over the state of North Rhine-Westphalia, thus corresponding to the fundraising aim of the Momentary Monument in Marl. The charitable aspect of Favaretto’s work produced a strong sense of contemporary relevance, which, in a broader sense, critically reflected on the relationship between art and politics.

 

Nico Anklam

Images

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Lara Favaretto

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Momentary Monument – The Stone, [Momenthaftes Monument – Der Stein]

 

Skulptur

Tittlinger Grobkorn (Granit)

 

Maße

ca. 420 × 140 × 155 cm

 

Standort

Nordöstliche Wiese zwischen Ludgeriplatz und Promenade (hinter den Bushaltestellen)

 

Zweiter Teil der Arbeit in Marl auf dem Rathausvorplatz,Creiler Platz 1

Spenden gehen an Hilfe für Menschen in Abschiebehaft Büren e. V.

 

Temporäre Aufstellung für die Dauer der Ausstellung

Lara Favaretto

* 1973 in Treviso, Italien

lebt in Turin, Italien

Die Objekte Lara Favarettos zeichnen sich durch eine minimalistische Formensprache aus, die jedoch anhand der bewusst gewählten ortspezifischen Einbettung eine starke soziale und politische Bedeutungsaufladung erfahren. Aus Stein und Metall gefertigt, vermitteln sie zunächst den Eindruck, als wären sie für eine längere Dauer entworfen. Die Arbeiten verschwinden durch Demontage oder vollständige Zerstörung jedoch zum Ende einer Ausstellung.

Favaretto realisiert ihre fortlaufende Serie Momentary Monuments in verschiedenen Formen seit 2009. Für Münster wurde diese Serie an der Promenade und in der benachbarten Stadt Marl jeweils mit einem von innen ausgehöhlten Granit-Monolithen fortgeführt. Der vier Meter hohe Stein erschien wie ein Fremdkörper oder eiszeitlicher Findling. Zugleich war er beim Umlaufen eindeutig als handwerklich bearbeitet erkennbar und warf damit die Frage nach seiner Funktion auf. Durch einen kleinen Schlitz konnte Geld eingeworfen werden. Zum Ende der Ausstellungszeit wurde der Stein zerstört, der Schotter einer neuen Funktion zugeführt und das gesammelte Geld einem wohltätigen Zweck gespendet. Die Künstlerin hat sich dabei für die Hilfe für Menschen in Abschiebehaft Büren e. V. entschieden.

Favarettos Monument war zu Beginn der Ausstellung leer und im besten Sinn bedeutungslos. Monumente oder Denkmale des öffentlichen Raums verweisen gewöhnlich entweder auf ein bestimmtes Ereignis oder eine Person der Vergangenheit, um sie in der Gegenwart präsent zu halten. Gelder für die Errichtung von Monumenten werden gewöhnlich vorab gesammelt, um sie als Auftragsarbeit von Künstler_innen ausführen zu lassen. Favaretto verschob mit ihrem künstlerischen Konzept diese übliche Genese und deutete Funktionen um. Insbesondere die kurze Lebensdauer des Objekts und seine Zerstörung unter Weiterverwendung der Bruchstücke und Überreste stehen einer institutionalisierten Denkmalpflege diametral entgegen.

Die symbolische Bedeutung des Objekts generierte sich nicht aus der Form selbst, sondern durch den ortsspezifischen Zusammenhang: Auf der Promenade trat die Arbeit in Dialog mit dem Train-Denkmal aus den 1920er Jahren und der nahe gelegenen Ausländerbehörde, der in der Mitte gelegene Kreisverkehr verbindet die unterschiedlichen Zusammenhänge topografisch miteinander. Das Train-Denkmal ehrt das gleichnamige Bataillon sowie namentlich zwei in den Kolonialkriegen in ehemals Deutsch-Südwestafrika und beim Boxeraufstand in China gefallene höhere Militärs. Die gesammelten Spenden gingen an eine Stiftung, die seit 1996 Geflüchtete in einer sogenannten Unterbringungseinrichtung für Ausreisepflichtige betreut. Die in Nähe der Kleinstadt Büren auf dem Land gelegene Einrichtung ist für Geflüchtete in ganz Nordrhein-Westfalen zuständig, insofern war auch der Spendenzweck des Momentary Monument in Marl der gleiche. Durch die Spendenfunktion entstand ein starker Bezug zur Gegenwart, der im weiteren Sinne das Verhältnis zwischen Kunst und Politik kritisch reflektierte.

 

Nico Anklam

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum