Hreinn Friðfinnsson

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Fourth house of the house project since 1974

2017

 

Sculpture

Stainless steel, polished

 

Dimensions

255 × 325 × 195 cm

 

Location

Clearing in Sternbuschpark, Sternbusch 24

 

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition

 

Owner

The work is now situated on the company premises of Jäckering Mühlen- und Nährmittelwerke GmbH, Hamm.

Hreinn Friðfinnsson

* 1943 Bær í Dölum, Iceland

lives in Amsterdam, Netherlands

The work of Hreinn Friðfinnsson often evokes intricate storylines of inspiration, conception, and creation, containing layerings of time and nature, both revealing and concealing the mysteries of the world around us. A work spanning the artist’s career, House Project (1974–), is sustained by its grand narrative. The first iteration of the project was, in fact, a far-flung ephemeral gesture, which would go on to echo in successive forms.

“In the summer of 1974, a small house was built in the same fashion as Sólon Guðmundsson intended to do about half a century ago, that is to say an inside-out house. It was completed on the 21st of July. It is situated in an unpopulated area of Iceland, and in a place from which no other man-made objects can be seen. The existence of this house means that ‘outside’ has shrunk to the size of a closed space formed by the walls and the roof of the house. The rest has become ‘inside’. The house harbours the whole world except itself.”[1]

With House Project Friðfinnsson turned the tale of an eccentric anomaly into a pointed confrontation with the boundaries of space. The work’s history has unfolded to include the 1974 construction, Second House’s migration from Iceland to its permanent home at Domaine de Kerguéhennec in France in 2007, the homecoming of Third House—constructed in 2011 on the original site of First House in the remote lava landscape outside of Reykjavík—and now Fourth House encountered within Skulptur Projekte Münster.

Every new ‘house’ was physically constructed inside out in turn, with each iteration successively dematerialized through this process of inversion or mirroring. Whereas First House and Second House were created with traditional Icelandic building materials—wooden constructions with metal siding, wallpaper, a door, and windows with curtains—Third House was conceived as a drawing, a simple steel outline of the frame, becoming a kind of echo of First House. Similarly devised in this reduced, yet inverted form, Fourth House culminates the project in a fully mirrored state—a transforming work—interacting with its surroundings.

In light of the fact that every homecoming requires further venturing, the work needed to migrate once more without a permanent home, becoming in a sense forever nomadic, forever in motion. Five kilometres outside the inner city of Münster in Sternbuschpark, Friðfinnsson’s work nearly melts into its surroundings, and yet its reflective quality materializes in relation to each visitor, as the frame of a house surfaces and space is constructed. A reflected reality is mirrored and structured by its own form.

 

Annabelle von Griesewald and Cassandra Edlefsen

1 Hreinn Friðfinnsson, House Project: First House, Second House, Third House (Crymogea, Reykjavík, 2012).

Images

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Hreinn Friðfinnsson

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Fourth house of the house project since 1974, [Viertes Haus der house-Serie seit 1974]           

2017

 

Skulptur

Edelstahl, poliert

 

Maße

255 × 325 × 195 cm

 

Standort

Lichtung im Sternbuschpark, Sternbusch 24

 

Temporäre Aufstellung für die Dauer der Ausstellung

 

Eigentümer

Die Arbeit befindet sich heute auf dem Gelände der Firma Jäckering Mühlen- und Nährmittelwerke GmbH, Hamm.

Hreinn Friðfinnsson

* 1943 Bær í Dölum, Island

lebt in Amsterdam, Niederlande

Das Werk von Hreinn Friðfinnsson gleicht verschachtelten Erzählsträngen, die von Inspiration, Entwurf und Herstellung handeln. Es enthält verschiedene Ebenen von Zeit und Natur und ent- wie verhüllt die Mysterien der Welt um uns. Friðfinnssons House Project (1974 – fortlaufend) durchzieht das gesamte Werk des Künstlers – getragen von seinem großen Narrativ. Die erste Wiederholung des Projekts ist in der Tat als ephemere Geste zu verstehen, die in den nachfolgenden Formen als Echo nachklingt.

„Im Sommer 1974 wurde ein kleines Haus gebaut, genauso, wie es Sólon Guðmundsson vor einem halben Jahrhundert hatte tun wollen: ein Inside-Out-Haus. Es wurde am 21. Juli fertiggestellt. Es befindet sich in einer unbevölkerten Gegend von Island, an einem Ort, von dem aus man kein anderes menschengemachtes Objekt sieht. Ein Haus, das das ‚Außen‘ auf die Größe eines geschlossenen Raumes, der aus den Wänden und dem Dach des Hauses gebildet wurde, zusammenschrumpfen ließ. Das Übrige wurde zum ‚Innen‘. Das Haus beherbergt die ganze Welt – außer sich selbst.“

Mit dem House Project verwandelt Friðfinnsson die Erzählung einer exzentrischen Anomalie in eine pointierte Auseinandersetzung mit den Grenzen des Raums: Das Kunstwerk umfasst heute neben der Konstruktion von First House (1974) den Umzug des Second House (2007) von Island in sein permanentes Zuhause in der Domaine de Kerguéhennec in Frankreich. Es schließt die Heimkehr des Third House ein, das 2011 am ursprünglichen Standort von First House (in einer abgelegenen Lavalandschaft außerhalb Reykjavíks) konstruiert wurde, sowie Fourth House, dem man nun in Münster begegnet.

Jedes neue Haus wurde mit der Innenseite nach außen, inside out, konstruiert, wobei jede Wiederholung, jedes Haus, sich durch diesen Prozess des Umstülpens oder Spiegelns mehr und mehr entmaterialisierte. Während First House und Second House aus traditionellen isländischen Materialien gebaut wurden – Holzkonstruktionen mit Metallverkleidungen, Tapeten, einer Tür und Fenster mit Vorhängen – wurde Third House als Zeichnung konzipiert: die einfache Skizze eines Stahlgerüsts, eine Art Echo des First House. Das ähnlich reduziert und doch invertiert angelegte Fourth House, das mit seiner Umgebung interagiert, vollendet das Projekt auf einer komplett gespiegelten Ebene – ein transformierendes Werk.

Da jede Heimkehr ein Wagnis ist, musste das Werk noch einmal auswandern. Es verließ seinen festen Wohnsitz und wurde in gewisser Weise nomadisch: Fünf Kilometer außerhalb der Münsteraner Innenstadt im Sternbuschpark geht Friðfinnssons Arbeit fast in seiner Umgebung auf, und doch materialisiert sich seine spiegelnde Qualität in der Begegnung mit den Besucher_innen.

 

Annabelle von Griesewald und Cassandra Edlefsen

1 Hreinn Friðfinnsson, House Project: First House, Second House, Third House (Crymogea, Reykjavík, 2012).

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum