Public Collection

Similar to the Skulptur Projekte Archive the public collection also reflects the history and continuity of Skulptur Projekte in Münster. Starting with Sculpture Exhibition in Münster 1977, the public collection has progressively grown with each new edition of Skulptur Projekte and now already encompasses over forty works in public space. It comprises all those contributions previously made to Skulptur Projekte that, subsequent to each respective exhibition, were permanently retained in Münster either through purchases or long-term loans. As a result it is possible to explore and study in situ the historical traces of the exhibition that has shaped the image of the city.

Owners of these works are the City of Münster, the WWU University of Münster and the LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, each of which are responsible for the care and maintenance of the works, depending on their respective ownership. Recently, for instance, the Eagle created by Martha Rosler in 2007 as part of her work Unsettling the Fragments was temporarily removed for restoration. On the other hand, the Auto Office Haus installed by Kim Adams in 1997 on the roof of the former petrol station in the Aegidiistrasse had to be dismantled in November 2016 as a result of severe storm damage. Up till then the work had not been purchased.

While the large majority of works in the public collection are still on view within the city’s public space there are a few exceptions which for conservational or work-specific reasons cannot be kept outdoors. Several works will from now on be exhibited in an altered form in the museum. This is the case, for instance, with the works by John Knight, Michael Smith, Koki Tanaka and Hervé Youmbi purchased after Skulptur Projekte 2017.

Öffentliche Sammlung

Wie das Skulptur Projekte Archiv spiegelt auch die Öffentliche Sammlung die Geschichte und Kontinuität der Skulptur Projekte in Münster wider. Die Öffentliche Sammlung ist seit der Skulptur Ausstellung in Münster 1977 mit jeder weiteren Ausgabe der Skulptur Projekte stetig angewachsen und umfasst mittlerweile über 40 Werke im öffentlichen Raum. Sie setzt sich aus all jenen Beiträgen der Skulptur Projekte zusammen, die im Anschluss an die jeweilige Ausstellung durch Ankäufe und Leihgaben dauerhaft in Münster erhalten werden konnten. Die historischen Spuren der Ausstellung, die das Stadtbild mitprägen, lassen sich somit vor Ort studieren.

Eigentümer sind hierbei die Stadt Münster, die Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität und das LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, die je nach Besitz die Pflege und Instandhaltung der Werke übernehmen. Zuletzt wurde etwa der Adler, den Martha Rosler 2007 als Teil ihrer Arbeit Unsettling the Fragments realisierte, zur Restaurierung temporär entfernt. Das Auto Office Haus, das Kim Adams 1997auf dem Dach der ehemaligen Tankstelle in der Aegidiistraße errichtete, wurde im November 2016 aufgrund von Unwetterschäden deinstalliert. Ein Ankauf hatte bis dahin nicht stattgefunden.

Während der Großteil der öffentlichen Sammlungswerke noch immer im Stadtraum zugänglich ist, sind einige Ausnahmen aus konservatorischen oder werkimmanenten Gründen nicht im Außenraum verblieben. Einige Werke werden fortan in veränderter Form im Museum gezeigt. Dies gilt etwa für die Arbeiten von John Knight, Michael Smith, Koki Tanaka und Hervé Youmbi, die nach den Skulptur Projekten 2017 angekauft wurden.