Richard Tuttle

Installation view 1987. Photo: LWL / Rudolf Wakonigg

Installation view 1987. Photo: LWL / Rudolf Wakonigg

Art and Music [Kunst und Musik]

1987

Two-part sculpture

Art and Music I: wooden elements painted white, 200 x 73 x 75 cm

Art and Music II: steel panels painted black with wooden elements painted white, 200 x 200 x 30 cm

 

Location

Vehicle entrance and steps between the building at Domplatz 23 and Fürstenberghaus at Domplatz 20–22, permanent installation (not on display in 2016 due to construction work)

 

Owner

City of Münster

Richard Tuttle

* 1941 in Rahway, USA
lives and works in New York, Abiquiú and Mount Desert, USA

“I would like to make two objects, based on the same form. The first shows the form from the front, and the second from the side. The first is to be placed in a corner, the second attached to two metal panels that have been cut, welded and lacquered black.”1 This is how Richard Tuttle described his work Art and Music, which he installed in a rather concealed position on Domplatz [the cathedral square]. Tuttle attached identical wooden sculptures, reminiscent in form to a comma or apostrophe, to the two sides of a brickwork wall. Art and Music I hangs at a right angle to the wall, in a corner just behind the vehicle entrance to the Fürstenberghaus towards Siegelkammer. Art and Music II is located at precisely the same height on the other side of the wall, on the steps that run alongside the entrance. Even though the latter, which combines the wooden elements with steel panels, is hung somewhat away from Domplatz, it is more visible, due to its location at the bottom of the steps. The wall both separates and combines the two works, which are reminiscent of a bass clef or the outer shape of an ear. Tuttle himself remained somewhat unclear about how the objects related to art and music.

The work is vexing in its inconspicuous siting on the building, which is somewhat unusual for art in public spaces. The post-minimalist artist’s choice of location reflects his preference for his works to unobtrusively occupy the margins of a space. Consequently he has sometimes shown his work on the skirting boards of exhibition spaces, in order to demand both an open mind and a willingness to engage with aesthetic experiences. Similarly, the unusual hanging of Art and Music would seem to be a call to discover not only Münster but ones own surroundings more attentively. Urban spaces are full of visual and acoustic impressions, whether posters and graffiti on walls, or bells and musicians, or simply passers-by in the street. Tuttle’s Art and Music is sited in such a mundane urban environment.

Daniel Friedt

1 Richard Tuttle. In: Klaus Bußmann and Kaspar König (eds.), Skulptur Projekte in Münster 1987, exhib. cat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Cologne 1987, 253–256, here 254.

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Richard Tuttle

Installationsansicht 1987. Foto: LWL / Rudolf Wakonigg

Installationsansicht 1987. Foto: LWL / Rudolf Wakonigg

Art and Music [Kunst und Musik]

1987

Zweiteilige Skulptur

Art and Music I: Holz, weiß gestrichen, 200 x 73 x 75 cm

Art and Music II: schwarz lackierte Stahlplatten und weiß gestrichenes Holz, 200 x 200 x 30 cm

 

Standort

Tordurchfahrt und Treppengang zwischen Domplatz 23 und Fürstenberghaus, Domplatz 20–22, permanente Installation (2016 aufgrund von Baumaßnahmen nicht zu sehen)

 

Eigentümer

Stadt Münster

Richard Tuttle

* 1941 in Rahway, USA
lebt und arbeitet in New York, Abiquiú und Mount Desert, USA

„Ich möchte zwei Objekte machen, die auf der gleichen Form basieren. Das erste zeigt diese Form von vorne, und das zweite von der Seite. Das erste wird in einer Ecke platziert, das zweite auf zwei geschnittenen, geschweißten und schwarz lackierten Metallplatten angebracht.“1 So beschrieb Richard Tuttle seine Arbeit Art and Music, die er in etwas versteckter Lage am Domplatz anbrachte. Auf beiden Seiten einer Ziegelsteinwand installierte er identische Holzskulpturen, deren Formen einem Komma oder Apostroph ähneln. Art and Music I hängt in der rechten Mauerecke hinter der Tordurchfahrt des Fürstenberghauses Richtung Siegelkammer. Auf exakt gleicher Höhe auf der anderen Wandseite, zur parallel der Einfahrt verlaufenden Treppe, ist Art and Music II zu finden. Diese Kombination aus Holz und Stahlplatten hängt zwar abseitiger vom Domplatz, jedoch besser einsehbar am unteren Ende der Stufen. Die Mauer trennt und verbindet gleichermaßen beide Formen, die immer wieder als Bassschlüssel oder Ohrmuschel beschrieben werden. Tuttle selbst ließ im Unklaren, inwiefern die Objekte mit Kunst und Musik zusammenhängen.

Das Werk irritiert durch seine für Kunst im öffentlichen Raum ungewöhnlich unscheinbare Anbringung am Gebäude. Die Ortswahl spiegelt die Vorliebe des postminimalistischen Künstlers für unkonventionelle Platzierungen seiner Werke wider. In Ausstellungsräumen zeigte er seine Arbeiten mitunter auf den Fußleisten, um eine Offenheit und Bereitschaft für ästhetische Erfahrungen einzufordern. Ebenso erscheint die ungewöhnliche Hängung von Art and Music ein Aufruf zu sein, Münster und das eigene Umfeld aufmerksamer zu entdecken: Der urbane Raum ist voller visueller und akustischer Eindrücke, seien es Plakate und Graffitis auf Mauern oder Glockenspiel, Musikanten und Passanten in den Straßen. In diesem alltäglichen, städtischen Kontext verortet Tuttle Art and Music.

Daniel Friedt

1 Richard Tuttle. In: Klaus Bußmann und Kasper König (Hg.), Skulptur Projekte in Münster 1987, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Köln 1987, 253–256, hier 254.

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum