Matt Mullican

Installation view 1987. Photo: LWL / Rudolf Wakonigg

Installation view 1987. Photo: LWL / Rudolf Wakonigg

Untitled (Sculpture for the Chemical Institutes)

1987

Ground-based relief consisting of 35 sandblasted black granite panels measuring 150 x 150 cm, assembled into an arrangement of 7 x 5 panels, overall dimensions: 1,050 x 750 cm

 

Location

Centre of natural sciences / Institute for Inorganic and Analytic Chemistry, grass verge between the buildings at Wilhelm-Klemm-Straße 6 (auditorium) and 8, and Corrensstraße 40; access possible from Corrensstraße 40.

Installed since Skulptur Projekten in Münster 1987

 

Owner

LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Münster. Purchased with the support of NRW-Stiftung and the Chemistry Faculty at Münster University

Matt Mullican

* 1951 in Santa Monica, California, USA

lives and works in New York, USA

In 1987 the conceptual artist Matt Mullican constructed a flat ground sculpture between three buildings belonging to the Institute of Chemistry of the University of Münster. In the courtyard between block-shaped functional buildings with lecture halls and laboratories he laid 35 granite slabs on a rectangular area of grass. Built around a blank smooth slab at the centre he arranged further panels engraved with various symbols by means of sand-blasting.

For the work’s location Mullican chose an intimate site that is relatively unknown to the public. Adopting his characteristically encyclopaedic procedure, he installed a mosaic of signs and symbols derived from the real world. These mosaics “start with nothing and with the elements and then ascend from images from organic evolution via the imprint of a smashed human skeleton to cosmological symbols on the left, and on the right, to the trivial pictograms of our road and routing signage.”1

It is no coincidence that the emblems of laboratory devices correspond with the research performed on this site. Since eternity people have used sign systems to communicate or to order and elucidate the world. For Münster, Mullican designed an artistic variant of such an explanatory model, using contemporary hieroglyphs that seem to shed light on the conditions of existence.

Daniel Friedt

Georg Jappe, Skulptur Projekte in Münster 1987. Rundgang, Münster 1987, 139.

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Matt Mullican

Installationsansicht 1987. Foto: LWL / Rudolf Wakonigg

Installationsansicht 1987. Foto: LWL / Rudolf Wakonigg

Ohne Titel (Skulptur für die chemischen Institute)

1987

Bodenrelief aus 35 schwarzen, sandgestrahlten Granitplatten in den Maßen 150 x 150 cm, aneinandergelegt zu einer Formation von 7 x 5 Platten, Gesamtgröße: 1050 x 750 cm

 

Standort

Naturwissenschaftliches Zentrum / Institut für Anorganische und Analytische Chemie, Grünstreifen zwischen den Gebäuden Wilhelm-Klemm-Straße 6 (Hörsaalgebäude) und 8 sowie Corrensstraße 40; Zugang möglich über Corrensstraße 40; Aufstellung seit den Skulptur Projekten in Münster 1987

 

Eigentümer

LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Münster

Matt Mullican

* 1951 in Santa Monica, Kalifornien, USA

lebt und arbeitet in New York, USA

Auf der Grünfläche zwischen drei Gebäuden des Chemischen Institutes der Universität platzierte der Konzeptkünstler Matt Mullican 1987 eine flache Bodenskulptur. Inmitten der quaderförmigen Zweckbauten mit Hörsälen und Laboratorien verlegte er auf einer rechteckigen Rasenfläche 35 Granitplatten. Um eine glatt belassene Fliese im Zentrum ordnete Mullican die anderen Platten an, die durch Sandstrahl eingravierte Zeichen aufweisen.

Mullican wählte einen intimen und der Öffentlichkeit eher unbekannten Raum als Standort aus. Hier installierte er mit der für ihn typischen enzyklopädischen Vorgehensweise ein aus der realen Welt abgeleitetes Zeichenmosaik. Diese Mosaike „beginnen […] beim Nichts und bei den Elementen und steigen dann über Bilder aus der organischen Evolution über den Abdruck eines zertrümmerten menschlichen Skelettes auf zu kosmologischen Symbolen links, rechts zu den trivialen Signalen unserer Verkehrs- und Leitzeichen“.1

Die Embleme von Laborgerätschaften korrespondieren mit der vor Ort betriebenen Forschung und verweisen auf die Errungenschaften der modernen Gesellschaft, während sie ästhetisch an die Darstellungen urzeitlicher Völker erinnern. Seit jeher nutzt der Mensch Zeichensysteme, um sich zu verständigen oder die Welt zu ordnen und zu erklären. Mullican entwarf für Münster eine künstlerische Variante eines solchen Erklärungsmodells mit zeitgenössischen Hieroglyphen, die Aufschluss über die Zusammenhänge des Seins zu geben scheinen.

Daniel Friedt

Georg Jappe, Skulptur-Projekte in Münster 1987. Rundgang, Münster 1987, 139.

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum