Georg Herold

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

bent poetry, w. up!

1997

Installation

Inscribed roof battens, steel cable

 

Location

Northern palace garden. Temporary installation during Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Georg Herold

* 1947 in Jena, Germany

lives and works in Cologne, Germany

 

Georg Herold suspended some 250 roughly sawn roof battens on steel cables beneath a group of trees 150 cm above the ground to form a web of 170 cm-wide paths over a trapeze-shaped area. The battens outlined a floating labyrinth. Visitors who ventured inside could read the various texts, quotations and messages inscribed on top of or underneath the battens. In time, people visiting the labyrinth trod down the ground into trails that remained visible as an after-image beyond the duration of the exhibition.

In his proposal for this work Herold developed critical ideas about culture in urban space.1 In terms of materials, inscription and montage bent poetry w. up! ran counter to everything usually expected of a sculpture.2 Located in the palace garden beneath trees and exposed to all weathers, it looked above all fragile, transparent and unfinished. In 2014, Herold installed the same work in the reading room of the Gennadius Library in Athens, high above visitors’ heads.3 In this sheltered location the impact of the work’s material presence receded; the sculpture’s predominant feature was its character as a vehicle for writing and poetry.

 

Eckhard Kluth

 

 

1 Georg Herold, “bent poetry w. up!”, in: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, pp. 206–209.

2 Friedrich Wilhelm Heubach, “Georg Herold – ein relativ knapp gefasster Essay, der nach Möglichkeit die Arbeitsprinzipien und die konzeptionellen Grundlagen seines Oeuvres beleuchten sollen”, in: Armin Zweite (ed.), Multiple Choice. Georg Herold, exhib. cat. Museum Brandhorst, Munich, 2012, pp. 96–99.

3 A Thousand Doors, an exhibition of the Whitechapel Gallery in collaboration with NEON held in the Gennadius Library, curated by Iwona Blazwick, Athens, 2014. URL: http://neon.org.gr/en/exhibition/exhibition-a-thousand-doors-at-the-gennadius-library-in-collaboration-with-the-whitechapel-gallery/ (Last consulted: 27.01.2017).

 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Other Participation

This artist also participated in: 1987

Georg Herold

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

bent poetry, w. up! [gebogene Dichtung, w. oben]

1997

Installation

Beschriftete Dachlatten, Stahlseile

 

Standort

Nördlicher Schlossgarten, temporäre Aufstellung während der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Georg Herold

* 1947 in Jena, Deutschland

lebt und arbeitet in Köln, Deutschland

 

Etwa 250 sägeraue Dachlatten ließ Georg Herold unter einer Gruppe von Bäumen an Stahlseilen in 150 Zentimetern Höhe aufhängen, sodass auf einer trapezförmigen Fläche Wege von 170 Zentimetern Breite entstanden. Die Latten bildeten ein schwebendes Labyrinth. Beim Durchschreiten konnten die Besucher_innen Texte, Zitate, Botschaften lesen, die handschriftlich auf oder unter diesen Latten notiert waren. Durch das Begehen des Labyrinthes bildeten sich im darunterliegenden Rasen Trampelpfade, die auch nach Ausstellungsende als Nachbild sichtbar blieben.

In seinem Vorschlag für diese Arbeit entwickelte Herold kritische Gedanken zur Kultur im Stadtraum.1 Hinsichtlich Material, Beschriftung und Montage widersprach bent poetry w. up! allem, was man von einer Skulptur gemeinhin erwartet.2 Im Schlossgarten unter Bäumen, Wind und Wetter ausgesetzt, wirkte sie fragil, transparent und unabgeschlossen. 2014 installierte Herold die Arbeit im Lesesaal der Athener Gennadius Bibliothek hoch über den Köpfen der Besucher.3 In diesem geschützten Raum trat die Frage nach der Beschaffenheit der Arbeit zurück, im Vordergrund stand jetzt die Skulptur in ihrer Eigenschaft als Trägerin von Schrift und Poesie.

 

Eckhard Kluth

 

1 Georg Herold, „bent poetry w. up!“. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 206–209.

2 Friedrich Wilhelm Heubach, „Georg Herold – ein relativ knapp gefasster Essay, der nach Möglichkeit die Arbeitsprinzipien und die konzeptionellen Grundlagen seines Œuvres beleuchten sollen“. In: Armin Zweite (Hg.), Multiple Choice. Georg Herold, Ausst.-Kat.: Museum Brandhorst, München 2012, 96–99.

3 A Thousand Doors war eine von Iwona Blazwick kuratierte Ausstellung der Whitechapel Gallery in Zusammenarbeit mit NEON in der Gennadius Bibliothek, ,siehe NEON, „A Thousand Doors“. Online unter: http://neon.org.gr/en/exhibition/exhibition-a-thousand-doors-at-the-gennadius-library-in-collaboration-with-the-whitechapel-gallery/ (Stand: 27.1.2017).

 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum

Weitere Teilnahmen

Weitere Teilnahmen dieses Künstlers: 1987