Marjetica Potrč

Magadan, 1997 © Courtesy the Artist and Galerie Nordenhake Berlin / Stockholm. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Magadan, 1997 © Courtesy the Artist and Galerie Nordenhake Berlin / Stockholm. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Magadan

1997

Installation

Sign with the inscription “MAGADAN”, various construction materials such as bricks, wood and plastic roofing

 

Location

Grounds of the former air-raid shelter in Lazarettstrasse.

Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Marjetica Potrč

 * 1953 in Ljubljana, Slovenia

lives and works in Ljubljana, Slovenia

 

 With Magadan, Marjetica Potrč in 1997 installed the name of a coastal town in eastern Russia over a gateway in a brick wall close to Promenade. Only in appearance is this massive edifice a historic fortification. Concealed behind the camouflaged façade is a multi-storey air raid shelter that was built in 1941. Potrč partially opened up the building, allowing visitors to pass through several narrow corridors to reach a grassy area on a lower level at the rear where three built structures with walled-in windows were standing. Decorated on just one side with frescoes, these edifices proved to be no more than vacant shells. In their fragmented, interim state they prompted a number of questions, evidence of Potrč’s interest in forms of informal architecture that defy the regimentation of urban planning. Francesco Bonami defined this as “anthropological urbanism”.1

While the graduated architect and sculptor in her other ’case studies‘ examines and quotes specific types of settlement, forms of habitation and local architectural idioms, in Münster she turned her attention to a generic construction. Here, her work was universally identifiable and in a pragmatic manner made use of unconventional materials. In both areas of activity various types of improvised architecture and marginal spaces that assume lives of their own are placed in the focus of a decidedly socially critical artistic practice, as is clearly articulated in Potrč’s statement: “I think it is good for Münster to have someplace which is all that it is not, to have something unexpectedly deserted, shabby, wild, uncontrollable and disorderly, something of no use to the city. I think cities need empty buildings (places of rest) like a man needs a place to sleep.”2

 

Andreas Prinzing

1 Francesco Bonami, “Promised Land. Shelters and Other Spaces in the work of Marjetica Potrč”, in: Künstlerhaus Bethanien/Philip Morris Kunstförderung (eds.), Marjetica Potrč, Berlin, 2001, p. 3.

2 Marjetica Potrč, “Vorschläge für Skulptur Projekte Münster 1997, in: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfalisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, pp. 323f.

Images

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Marjetica Potrč

Magadan, 1997 © Courtesy the Artist and Galerie Nordenhake Berlin / Stockholm. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Magadan, 1997 © Courtesy the Artist and Galerie Nordenhake Berlin / Stockholm. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Magadan

1997

Installation

Schild mit der Aufschrift „MAGADAN“, diverse Baumaterialien wie Ziegelsteine, Holz, eine Kunststoffbedachung

 

Standort

Gelände des Luftschutzbunkers an der Lazarettstraße, temporäre Einrichtung für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Marjetica Potrč

* 1953 in Ljubljana, Slowenien

lebt und arbeitet in Ljubljana

 

Mit Magadan setzte Marjetica Potrč 1997 den Namen einer ostrussischen Küstenstadt über die Tordurchfahrt eines Backsteingemäuers nahe der Promenade. Bei dem massiven Bauwerk handelt es sich nur scheinbar um eine historische Befestigungsanlage. Hinter der camouflierenden Fassade verbirgt sich ein 1941 errichteter Hochbunker. Potrč öffnete das Gebäude partiell, sodass man nach dem Passieren enger Korridore rückseitig eine tiefer gelegene Grünfläche erreichte, auf der drei Gebäudestrukturen mit zugemauerten Fenstern platziert waren. Nur auf einer Seite mit Fresken verziert, entpuppten sie sich als leer stehende Rohbaustrukturen. In ihrem fragmentarischen Zwischenzustand warfen sie zahlreiche Fragen auf und zeigten Potrčs Interesse an informellen Architekturen, die sich städteplanerischen Regulierungen widersetzen. Francesco Bonami bezeichnete dies als „anthropological urbanism“.1

Während die diplomierte Architektin und Bildhauerin in anderen ,Fallstudien‘ spezifische Siedlungstypen, Wohnformen und lokale Architektursprachen untersucht und zitiert, bediente sie sich in Münster einer generischen Konstruktion. Diese war universell lesbar und griff auf pragmatische Weise auf unkonventionelle Materialien zurück. Hier wie dort stehen improvisierte Architekturen und Orte, die ein Eigenleben entwickeln, im Fokus einer dezidiert gesellschaftskritischen künstlerischen Praxis, was in einem Statement Potrčs deutlich wird: „Ich glaube, es ist gut für Münster, einen Ort zu haben, der all das ist, was Münster nicht ist, etwas unerwartet Verlassenes, Schäbiges, Wildes, Unkontrollierbares und Unordentliches zu haben, etwas, das keinen Nutzen für die Stadt hat. Ich denke, daß Städte leere Gebäude brauchen (Ruheorte), so wie ein Mensch einen Platz zum Schlafen braucht.“2

 

Andreas Prinzing

 

1 Francsco Bonami, „Promised Land. Shelters and Other Spaces in the Work of Marjetica Potrč“. In: Künstlerhaus Bethanien / Philip Morris Kunstförderung (Hg.), Marjetica Potrč, Berlin 2001, 3.

2 Marjetica Potrč, „Vorschlag für Skulptur Projekte in Münster 1997“. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 324.

 

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum