Roman Signer

Installation view 1997 © Roman Signer. Photo: Aleksandra Signer

Installation view 1997 © Roman Signer. Photo: Aleksandra Signer

Installation view 1997 © Roman Signer. Foto: Aleksandra Signer

Installation view 1997 © Roman Signer. Foto: Aleksandra Signer

Fontana di Piaggio [Piaggio Fountain]

1995

Mobile installation

Modified blue panel van by vehicle manufacturer Piaggio (Ape P model), black hosepipe, water

 

Location

14 different inner-city locations:

Historic section of the Landesmuseum, in front of the entrance

Salzstraße in front of the Stadtmuseum

Horsteberg, north of the choir of the Cathedral

Corner of Kirchherrengasse/Mauritzstraße

Bergstraße/Kiepenkerlplatz

Pferdegasse, in front of the Fürstenberghaus

Klemensstraße, in front of the Town Hall

Corner of Drubbel/Alter Fischmarkt

Rothenburg, in front of the former Westfälisches Museum für Archäologie (today the administrative wing of the LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur)

Loerstraße 8, in front of the Sisters of Charity’s Euthymia Centre

Prinzipalmarkt, in front of Tepe clothes shop

Harsewinkelplatz, in front of the former “Nebengebäude K” (a regional government annex)

Ludgeristrasse

Lambertikirchplatz

Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Spazierstock [Walking Stick]

1997

Kinetic installation on water

Aluminium walking stick, rope, black hosepipe, water

Height: ca. 70 cm

 

Location

Pond in the grounds of the former zoo behind the Westfälische Schule für Musik, Himmelreichallee 50.

Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Roman Signer

* 1938 in Appenzell, Switzerland

lives and works in St. Gallen, Switzerland

 

In Münster in 1997 Roman Signer presented two installations connected with water as an element. Fontana di Piaggio (Piaggio Fountain), a work first conceived in 1995, consisted of an aqueous blue, three-wheeler light commercial van by the Italian vehicle-maker Piaggio. Signer repurposed the van as a mobile fountain, which over the course of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 he parked in 14 different inner-city locations, always close to a hydrant. From these hydrants, water was conducted via a hosepipe to the back of the van, where it was forced through a nozzle at pressure so that it sprayed against the tin roof in a powerful jet. The water drained out through a narrow outlet pipe in the metal-panelled back of the van and seeped away into the ground.

Signer’s second contribution, Spazierstock, was created on a pond behind the Westfälische Schule für Musik. Here the artist strung a rope across the water. Hanging from the rope was an aluminium walking stick, attached to a section of rubber hose. The hose, which was connected to the public water supply on the bank, piped water through the hollow walking stick. The pressure caused the stick to swing on the rope and vigorously spray an upside-down fountain across the surface of the pond.

Roman Signer’s artistic practice and his use of natural elements situate him within the realm of sculpture.1In Münster he interpreted fountain design – an area traditionally close to sculpture – in a novel and whimsical manner. With Fontana di Piaggio he associated the fountain with the aspect of mobility and so created an experimental “event sculpture”2, while his Spazierstock commented upon and transformed the usually static but much-loved changing water displays in public parks.

 

Daniel Friedt

 

1 Konrad Bitterli (ed.), Roman Signer, exhib. cat. Swiss Pavilion / 48th Venice Biennale, Zurich, 1999, pp. 7–8. Fontana di Piaggio was likewise exhibited at the Biennale.

2 Cf. Susanne Jacob, “Roman Signer – WATER. Sculpture Between Experiment and Event”, in: Klaus Bussmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Sculpture. Projects in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, pp. 390–394, here p. 392.

 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Roman Signer

Installationsansicht 1997 © Roman Signer. Foto: Aleksandra Signer

Installationsansicht 1997 © Roman Signer. Foto: Aleksandra Signer

Installationsansicht 1997 © Roman Signer. Foto: Aleksandra Signer

Installationsansicht 1997 © Roman Signer. Foto: Aleksandra Signer

Fontana di Piaggio [Piaggio-Brunnen]

1995

Mobile Installation

Umgebauter blauer Kleintransporter des Herstellers Piaggio (Modell Ape P), schwarzer Gummischlauch, Wasser

 

Standort

14 verschiedene Plätze in der Innenstadt:

Altbau des Landesmuseums, vor dem Eingang

Salzstraße, vor dem Stadtmuseum

Horsteberg, nördlich des Domchores

Ecke Kirchherrengasse/Mauritzstraße

Bergstraße/Kiepenkerlplatz (ab 11.00 Uhr)

Pferdegasse ,vor dem Fürstenberghaus

Klemensstraße, vor dem Stadthaus

Ecke Drubbel/Alter Fischmarkt

Rothenburg, vor dem Westfälischen Museum für Archäologie (heute: LWL-Museum für Archäologie – Westfälisches Landesmuseum)

Loergasse 8, vor dem Kloster

Prinzipalmarkt, vor dem Bekleidungsgeschäft Tepe

Harsewinkelplatz, vor dem Regierungsgebäude

Ludgeristraße

Lambertikirchplatz

Temporäre Einrichtung/Aufstellung für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Spazierstock

1995/1997

Kinetische Installation auf dem Wasser

Spazierstock aus Aluminium, Seil, schwarzer Gummischlauch, Wasser

Höhe: ca. 70 cm

 

Standort

Teich auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Zoos hinter der Westfälischen Schule für Musik, Himmelreichallee 50, temporäre Einrichtung/Aufstellung für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Roman Signer

* 1938 in Appenzell, Schweiz

lebt und arbeitet in St. Gallen, Schweiz

 

Roman Signer präsentierte in Münster 1997 zwei mit dem Element Wasser verbundene Installationen. Das 1995 bereits konzipierte Werk Fontana di Piaggio bestand aus einem wasserblauen, dreirädrigen Kastenwagen der italienischen Marke Piaggio. Signer hatte diesen zu einem mobilen Brunnen umfunktioniert, der während der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 an 14 Orten in der Innenstadt und in unmittelbarer Nähe von Hydranten parkte. Von diesen Hydranten leitete ein Gummischlauch das Wasser zur Ladefläche des Kleintransporters, wo es mit Druck durch eine Düse gepresst wurde und als kräftiger Strahl gegen das Blechdach prasselte. Über ein schmales Abflussrohr in der Metallwannenverkleidung des Laderaumes floss das Wasser ab und versickerte.

Signers zweiter Beitrag Spazierstock entstand an einem Teich hinter der Westfälischen Schule für Musik. Dort spannte der Künstler ein Seil über das Wasser, von dem eine an einem Gummischlauch befestigte Gehhilfe aus Aluminiumrohr herabhing. Der Schlauch, der am Ufer an die öffentliche Versorgung angeschlossen war, leitete Wasser durch den ausgehöhlten Spazierstock. Aufgrund des Druckes geriet der Stock in Bewegung und sprühte schwungvoll die Gischt der nach unten gerichteten Fontäne über die Oberfläche des Teiches.

Seine künstlerische Praxis und die Verwendung von Naturelementen verortet Roman Signer in der Bildhauerei.1 In Münster interpretierte er auf amüsant-skurrile Weise die Brunnengestaltung neu, ein traditionell der Skulptur nahestehendes Auftragsgebiet: Während er mit Fontana di Piaggio den Springbrunnen mit dem Aspekt der Mobilität verband und so eine experimentelle „Ereignis-Skulptur“2 schuf, kommentierte und transformierte der Spazierstock die gewöhnlich statischen, aber beliebten Varianten von Wasserspielen in öffentlichen Parkanlagen.

 

Daniel Friedt

1 Konrad Bitterli (Hg.), Roman Signer, Ausst.-Kat.: Schweizer Pavillon/48. Biennale in Venedig, Zürich 1999, 7–8. Auf der Biennale war Fontana di Piaggio ebenfalls ausgestellt.

2 Vgl. Susanne Jacob, „Roman Signer – WASSER. Zwischen Versuchsanordnung und Ereignis-Skulptur. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 390–394, Zitat: 392.

 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden