Rirkrit Tiravanija

Installation view 1997 © Rirkrit Tiravanija. Courtesy of the artist and neugerriemschneider, Berlin. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997 © Rirkrit Tiravanija. Courtesy of the artist and neugerriemschneider, Berlin. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Untitled, 1997 (The Zoo Society)

1997

Participatory project

Wooden stage, puppets, props, scenery

Performed by a group of school children from the Gymnasium Paulinum (grammar school)

 

Location

Grounds of the former zoo behind the Westfälische Schule für Musik, Himmelreichallee 50.

Temporary installation and performance for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997: 21.6.1997 until 28.9.1997, every Saturday and/or Sunday afternoon

 

Rirkrit Tiravanija

* 1961 in Buenos Aires, Argentina

lives and works in New York, USA, in Berlin, Germany, and in Chiang Mai, Thailand

 

For Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 Rirkrit Tiravanija conceived a stage for performing puppet plays at the weekend. The puppets were made locally in workshops with Münster residents. Local groups were also responsible for the scenery, the script and staging the play. The production was based on Söffken van Gievenbeck, a story about a Münsterland farm that is saved only thanks to the farmer’s son who has become a successful artist. In contrast to a conventional theatre the audience had the freedom to walk around during the performance, to get something to drink and to socialise. According to Tiravanija, the wooden structure was designed to be used simultaneously as a stage, a café and a place to meet.1

Tiravanija deliberately chose amateurs to carry out the project, which was inspired by the soirée events held by the Abendgesellschaft Zoologischer Garten (Zoo Society), an amateur theatre group that raised funding for Münster’s zoo, originally founded by Hermann Landois. Performing solely with male actors, the Zoo Society played an important part in the city’s cultural life. Tiravanija substituted puppets for the actors but retained the principle of their male identity. With music and theatre, Untitled, 1997 (The Zoo Society) was sought to convey the ideas associated with the zoo and the Zoo Society, yet at the same time also to give pleasure to everyone involved. In the fusion of production and reception, art and social interaction, the work can be seen in the context of the participatory projects described by Nicolas Bourriaud in his collection of essays Relational Aesthetics.2

 

Sarah Kristin Happersberger

1 Cf. Rirkrit Tiravanija, “Untitled, 1997 (The Zoo Society)”, in: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, pp. 422–425.

2 Cf. Nicolas Bourriaud, Relational Aesthetics, Dijon, 2002.

 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Rirkrit Tiravanija

Installationsansicht 1997 © Rirkrit Tiravanija. Courtesy of the artist und neugerriemschneider, Berlin. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 1997 © Rirkrit Tiravanija. Courtesy of the artist und neugerriemschneider, Berlin. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Untitled, 1997 (The Zoo Society) [Ohne Titel, 1997 (Die Zoo-Gesellschaft)]

1997

Partizipatorisches Projekt

Theaterbühne aus Holz, Marionetten, Requisiten, Kulissen

Aufgeführt von einer Schülergruppe des Gymnasiums Paulinum

 

Standort

Gelände des alten Zoos hinter der Westfälischen Schule für Musik, Himmelreichallee 50, temporäre Installation und Performance für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997: 21.6.1997 bis 28.9.1997, jeweils samstags und/oder sonntags am Nachmittag

 

Rirkrit Tiravanija

* 1961 in Buenos Aires, Argentinien

lebt und arbeitet in New York, USA, Berlin, Deutschland, und Chiang Mai, Thailand

 

Rirkrit Tiravanija konzipierte für die Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 eine Bühne, auf der an den Wochenenden Puppenspiele stattfanden. Die Marionetten wurden vor Ort in Workshops mit Münsteraner Bürger_innen gebastelt; die Anfertigung der Kulissen, die Textbearbeitung und die Inszenierung des Theaterstückes lagen ebenfalls in der Hand lokaler Gruppen. Als Vorlage diente Söffken van Gievenbeck, eine Geschichte um ein Hofgut im Münsterland, das nur mithilfe des als Künstler erfolgreichen Bauernsohnes gerettet werden kann. Im Gegensatz zu einem konventionellen Theaterraum war es dem Publikum freigestellt, während der Aufführungen herumzulaufen, Getränke zu konsumieren oder sich zu unterhalten. Tiravanija zufolge war das Holzgerüst zugleich als Theaterbühne, Café und Kommunikationsstätte angelegt.1

Das bewusst mit Amateuren realisierte Kunstprojekt nahm Bezug auf die Veranstaltungen der Abendgesellschaft Zoologischer Garten, einer Amateurtheatergruppe, die den von Hermann Landois gegründeten Zoo in Münster finanziell unterstützte. Die Abendgesellschaft arbeitete ausschließlich mit männlichen Schauspielern und leistete einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Kulturleben der Stadt. Tiravanija ersetzte die Schauspieler durch Marionetten, behielt für diese jedoch das Prinzip des männlichen Geschlechtes bei. Untitled, 1997 (The Zoo Society) sollte mit Musik und Theater die mit dem Zoo und der Abendgesellschaft verbundenen Vorstellungen vermitteln, zugleich aber auch dem Vergnügen aller Beteiligten dienen. In der Verschränkung von Produktion und Rezeption, Kunst und sozialer Interaktion steht die Arbeit im Kontext der partizipatorischen Projekte, die Nicolas Bourriaud in seiner Essaysammlung Relational Aesthetics beschreibt.2

 

Sarah Kristin Happersberger

 

1 Vgl. Rirkrit Tiravanija, Untitled, 1997 (The Zoo Society). In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 422–425.

2 Vgl. Nicolas Bourriaud, Relational Aesthetics Dijon 2002.

 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum