Stephen Craig

Installation view 1997 © Stephen Craig. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.

Installation view 1997 © Stephen Craig. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.

Grundriss Pavillon [Pavilion Ground Plan]

Two-part architectural installation

1997

Baumberg sandstone, wood, glass

50 x 750 x 330 cm and 300 x 770 x 330 cm

 

Location

Grassy area near Promenade between Aegidiitor and Wallgasse.

Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Stephen Craig

* 1960 in Larne, Northern Ireland

lives and works in Hamburg, Germany, and Karlsruhe, Germany

Using blocks of Baumberg sandstone, respectively 50 cm and 80 cm high, Stephen Craig constructed two oblong ground plans on the sloping area of grass beside Promenade between Aegidiitor and Wallgasse. The simple horizontal rectangular shapes strongly resembled the characteristic layout of ancient Greek temples. However, with the long sides measuring seven metres Craig’s edifice had the dimensions of a miniaturised model. One of the stone ground plans was encompassed by a modern wooden pavilion with several large-format windows reaching almost to the ground, preventing visitors from going inside. The neighbouring outline structures remained unprotected and maybe their low walls brought to mind actual ancient ruins and archaeological excavation sites. “Are they ruins at all? Or perhaps the foundation for a new building? Is the pavilion a sort of showcase, […] or is it a new structure which has grown up around the old form?”1

By combining traditional building materials and architectural forms with a modern pavilion Stephan Craig’s contribution was addressing common perceptions of historical forms and structures, and how they are treated. In doing so, Craig was also making reference to the various phases of destruction and reconstruction in the course of Münster’s history. Likewise, by offering different possibilities of accessing these architectural structures the artist was also giving visual expression to and questioning the relationship between public and private space on a miniaturised scale.

 

Ronja Primke

 

1 Stephan Craig, “Contribution to Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997”, in: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, p. 112.

 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Stephen Craig

Installationsansicht 1997 © Stephen Craig. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.

Installationsansicht 1997 © Stephen Craig. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.

Grundriß Pavillon

Zweiteilige architektonische Installation

1997

Baumberger Sandstein, Holz, Glas

50 x 750 x 330 cm und 300 x 770 x 330 cm

 

Standort

Rasenfläche an der Promenade zwischen Aegidiitor und Wallgasse,

temporäre Installation während der Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

 

Stephen Craig

* 1960 in Larne, Nordirland

lebt und arbeitet in Hamburg, Deutschland, und Karlsruhe, Deutschland

 

An der Promenade zwischen Aegidiitor und Wallgasse legte Stephen Craig auf der abschüssigen Rasenfläche mit 50 bzw. 80 Zentimeter hohen Quadern aus Baumberger Sandstein zwei rechteckige Grundrisse an. Die einfachen querrechteckigen Strukturen ähnelten dabei sehr dem Grundrisstypus antiker griechischer Tempel. Mit einer Seitenlänge von sieben Metern handelte es sich hier jedoch um ein Miniaturmodell. Ein Steingrundriss wurde von einem modernen hölzernen Pavillon mit mehreren großformatigen, beinahe bodentiefen Fenstern umschlossen und war somit für die Besucher_innen nicht zu betreten. Die benachbarten Grundrissstrukturen blieben ungeschützt und mochten in dieser halbhohen Form an tatsächliche antike Ruinen und archäologische Stätten erinnert haben. „Sind es überhaupt Ruinen? Und nicht vielleicht ein Fundament für ein neues Gebäude? Ist der Pavillon eine Art Vitrine, […] oder ist er eine neue Struktur, die um die alte Form herum gewachsen ist?“1

Stephen Craig thematisierte in seinem Beitrag die Wahrnehmung von tradierten Formen und Strukturen und den Umgang mit ihnen, indem er traditionelles Baumaterial und alte Baustrukturen mit einem modernen Pavillon kombinierte. Damit rekurrierte Craig auch auf Zerstörung und Wiederaufbau in der Münsteraner Stadtgeschichte. Ebenso wurde durch die unterschiedlichen Zugangsmöglichkeiten der Architekturen auch das Verhältnis von öffentlichem und privatem Raum auf Miniaturebene visualisiert und hinterfragt.

 

Ronja Primke

 

 

 

1 Stephen Craig, „Beitrag zu Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997“. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 112. 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum