Karin Sander

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Schwerpunkt der Stadt Münster 1997 [Centre of Gravity of the City of Münster 1997]

1997

Concrete, red paint

Diameter: 130 cm

 

Location

Private garden between the Marienschule (a Catholic Grammar School for Girls) and the residential building at Von-Kluck-Straße 38

 

Gauss-Krüger coordinates:

Easting: 3405456.8 m

Northing: 5758707.1 m

Geographical coordinates:

Latitude: 51° 57’ 20.24”

Longitude: 7° 37’ 28.36”

 

Status

Installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 and left as a fragment in urban space

 

Karin Sander

* 1957 in Bensberg, Germany

lives and works in Berlin, Germany, and Zürich, Switzerland

The city of Münster grew from a small sixth-century Saxon settlement called Mimigernaford and the monastery founded in 793 by a missionary called Liudger. During the Middle Ages it expanded almost in a circle around Domplatz, with Prinzipalmarkt and the town hall forming the town’s centre.

While the city’s political and social core has never shifted from its earliest location, over time the municipal area has expanded in a geographically irregular manner. This prompted Karin Sander in 1997 to undertake new measurements to establish the precise central point of Münster which by now lay at a considerable distance from Domplatz. In this Sander was assisted by the physicist Dieter Grünebaum, the geodesist Lothar Lenzmann and Olaf Lenzmann, an electrical engineering student. With their expertise, using a new method of calculation devised specifically for this project and working with survey data supplied by the city land registry office, the artist succeeded in determining the geometric centre of gravity and true geographic centre of Münster.1 Sander marked the calculated spot between a private property and the Mariengymnasium school on the Von-Kluck-Strasse with a red circular concrete slab.

With this project Karin Sander brought an anonymous place into the foreground of her artistic work and created a counterpoint to Münster’s centre of trade and local government in the heart of the city. As a purely mathematic entity the centre of gravity prompts us to think about urban change over history and in the present from which the city’s truly identity-forming features have emerged – and continue to do so .

 

Daniel Friedt

 

 

1 For a more detailed description of the calculation, cf. Hubert Hagedorn, “Determination of Centre of Gravity in Münster”, in: Klaus Bussmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, pp. 367–369; for a description of Karin Sander’s project concept, cf. op. cit., pp. 365–366.

 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Karin Sander

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Schwerpunkt der Stadt Münster 1997

1997

Beton, rote Farbe, Durchmesser: 130 cm

 

Standort

Privatgrundstück zwischen der Marienschule, Bischöfliches Gymnasium für Mädchen und dem Wohnhaus Von-Kluck-Straße 38

 

Gauß-Krüger-Koordinaten:

Rechts: 3405456,8 m

Hoch: 5758707,1 m

Geographische Koordinaten:

Nördliche Breite: 51° 57’ 20,24”

Östliche Länge: 7° 37’ 28,36”

Einrichtung für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 und im Stadtraum als Fragment belassen

 

Karin Sander

* 1957 in Bensberg, Deutschland

lebt und arbeitet in Berlin, Deutschland, und Zürich, Schweiz

 

Die Stadt Münster entstand in der Nachfolge der kleinen Sachsen-Siedlung Mimigernaford im sechsten Jahrhundert und des 793 durch den Missionar Liudger gegründeten Klosters. Im Mittelalter wuchs sie nahezu kreisförmig um den Domplatz herum, der mit Prinzipalmarkt und Rathaus das Stadtzentrum bildete.

Während der politisch-gesellschaftliche Stadtkern unverändert am genannten Ort verblieb, hat sich das Stadtgebiet seither geografisch unregelmäßig ausgedehnt. Karin Sander initiierte deshalb 1997 eine exakte Neuberechnung des nun deutlich vom Domplatz entfernt liegenden Mittelpunktes von Münster. Sanders Projekt begleiteten der Physiker Dieter Grünebaum, der Geodät Lothar Lenzmann und Olaf Lenzmann, ein Student der Elektrotechnik. Mit dieser fachlichen Unterstützung wurde anhand einer eigens entwickelten Berechnungsformel sowie auf der Grundlage von Vermessungsdaten des Katasteramtes der geometrische Schwerpunkt und geografische Mittelpunkt berechnet.1 Die ermittelte Stelle zwischen einem Privatgrundstück und dem Mariengymnasium an der Von-Kluck-Straße markierte Sander mit einer kreisförmigen roten Betonfläche.

Karin Sander rückte einen anonymen Ort in den Vordergrund ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit und schuf einen Gegenpol zu Münsters innerstädtischem Handels- und Verwaltungszentrum. Als rein mathematische Größe erinnert der Schwerpunkt an den urbanen Wandel in Geschichte und Gegenwart, in dem sich die eigentlich identitätsstiftenden Merkmale der Stadt herausgebildet haben und weiterhin herausbilden.

 

Daniel Friedt

 

 

1 Für die genaue Beschreibung der Berechnung siehe Hubert Hagedorn, „Ermittlung des Schwerpunktes von Münster“. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 367–369; die Konzepterläuterung von Karin Sander findet sich ebd., 365–366.

 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum