Wolfgang Winter / Berthold Hörbelt

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Kastenhäuser [Crate houses]

1997

Four temporary structures used as information stands

Bottle crates belonging to Deutsche Brunnen AG, fibreglass laminate and packing-crate grade plywood

 

Locations

Main railway station; Salzstrasse in front of Karstadt; northwest bank of Aasee lake; in front of the north gatehouse of Münster Palace.

Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

Wolfgang Winter / Berthold Hörbelt

* 1960 in Offenbach, Germany

lives and works in Frankfurt am Main, Germany

 

*1958 in Coesfeld, Germany

lives and works in Frankfurt am Main and Havixbeck, Germany

 

Artistic collaboration since 1992

Wolfgang Winter and Berthold Hörbelt have been working as the artist duo Winter/Hoerbelt since 1992. Known chiefly for their outdoor sculptural works, they interrogate sculpture in its relationship to public space. They frequently combine the spheres of music, architecture and design and develop temporary installations out of everyday materials with infrastructural properties.1

Within the framework of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Winter/Hoerbelt erected four of their “crate houses”, which consisted simply of stacked bottle crates belonging to the mineral-water bottling company Deutsche Brunnen AG. The crates are made of brown, white or green plastic and are designed to be stackable and strong. Reinforced with a top and a base plate of fibreglass laminate and plywood, the translucent, walk-in outdoor sculptures served as places of retreat and as information stands.2 Erected on four different sites around Münster, the crate houses coupled the aspects of user-friendly urban space and re-usability with the temporary character of the exhibition, which takes place every ten years.

 

Daniel Friedt

 

1 Cf. Winter/Hoerbelt, “Biography”. Online at: http://winter-hoerbelt.de/about#tab-biographygl (last accessed: 18.5.2017).

2 Wolfgang Winter and Bertholt Hörbelt, “Kastenhäuser”, in: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Sculpture. Projects in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, pp. 456–461.

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Wolfgang Winter / Berthold Hörbelt

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Kastenhäuser

1997

Vier als Informationsstände genutzte temporäre Bauten

Flaschentransportkästen (FTK) aus dem Besitz der Deutsche Brunnen AG, Glasfaserlaminat, Verpackungssperrholz

 

Standorte

Hauptbahnhof, Salzstraße vor Karstadt, nordwestliches Aaseeufer, vor dem nördlichen Torhaus am Schloss; temporäre Errichtung für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Wolfgang Winter / Berthold Hörbelt

* 1960 in Offenbach, Deutschland

lebt und arbeitet in Frankfurt am Main, Deutschland

 

* 1958 in Coesfeld, Deutschland

lebt und arbeitet in Frankfurt am Main und Havixbeck, Deutschland

 

Zusammenarbeit seit 1992

 

Die Künstler Wolfgang Winter und Berthold Hörbelt arbeiten seit 1992 als Winter/Hoerbelt zusammen. Hauptsächlich für ihre Außenskulpturen bekannt, hinterfragen sie die Skulptur in ihrer Beziehung zum öffentlichen Raum. Häufig verbinden sie die Bereiche Musik, Architektur und Design und entwickeln temporäre Installationen aus alltäglichem Material mit infrastrukturellen Eigenschaften.1

Im Rahmen der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 errichteten Winter/Hoerbelt vier ihrer sogenannten Kastenhäuser, die lediglich aus gestapelten Flaschentransportkästen (FTK) aus dem Besitz der Deutschen Brunnen AG bestanden. Die Behälter für Mineralwasserflaschen sind aus braunem, weißem oder grün pigmentiertem Kunststoffmaterial gefertigt und dank ihrer besonderen Formgebung stapel- und belastbar. Mit jeweils einer Decken- und einer Basisplatte aus Glasfaserlaminat und Sperrholz versehen, dienten die lichtdurchlässigen, begehbaren Skulpturen für den Außenbereich als Rückzugsorte und Informationsstände.2 An verschiedenen Orten in Münster aufgestellt, verbanden die Kastenhäuser die Aspekte des benutzerfreundlichen Stadtraumes und der Wiederverwendbarkeit mit dem temporären Charakter der alle zehn Jahre stattfindenden Ausstellung.

 

Daniel Friedt

 

 

 

1 Vgl. Winter/Hoerbelt, „Biography“. Online unter: http://winter-hoerbelt.de/about#tab-biographygl. (Stand: 4.5.2017).

2 Wolfgang Winter und Bertholt Hörbelt, „Kastenhäuser“. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 457–461.

 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum