Heimo Zobernig

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Untitled

1997

Multi-part work, various locations

 

Six billboards bearing the words “SKULPTUR PROJEKTE MÜNSTER 1997”, erected beside the principal roads into the city at the point where they join Promenade: one each at Neutor, Mauritztor, Salzstraße, Windthorstraße, Ludgeriplatz and Aegidiitor

Stage in the atrium of the Landesmuseum, with chairs from the museum’s lecture hall set out in front of it

Back wall of the stage with the words “SKULPTUR PROJEKTE MÜNSTER 1997”: 400 x 800 cm; podium: 200 x 400 cm; temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition

 

 

 

 

Heimo Zobernig

* 1958 in Mauthen, Austria

lives and works in Vienna, Austria

Heimo Zobernig installed billboards beside the six largest access roads into the city at the point where thy joined Promenadenring. The billboards carried the inscription “SKULPTUR PROJEKTE MÜNSTER 1997” in the typeface Helvetica, printed in black on a white ground. Zobernig also created a stage in the Landesmuseum’s atrium. The stage consisted of a podium, a rear wall carrying the inscription “SKULPTUR PROJEKTE MÜNSTER 1997” printed in white on a black ground, and a stage roof with a lighting system. Chairs from the Landesmuseum’s lecture hall were set out in front of the stage.

The collision of textual and visual representation produced a “logo-like” image-text, whose economic utility and practical value can be categorised as public relations.1 The billboards on Promenadenring each referred to the rear wall of the stage in the museum – their colour-reversed counterpart – and vice versa, in what may be interpreted as a formal indication of the reciprocal suspension of reference/announcement and performance/presence.2 By establishing a network of references in which the sculptural project oscillated between pure sign(ifying) function and artistic presence Zobernig gave visible form to the abstract mechanism connecting artwork, institution, public and the addressed viewer.

 

Ferdinand Uptmoor

 

 

1 Christian Höller, “Public Relations”, in: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Sculpture. Projects in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, pp. 476–478, here p. 477.

2 Ibid.

 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Heimo Zobernig

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Ohne Titel

1997

Mehrteilige Arbeit, unterschiedliche Standorte

 

Sechs Plakatwände mit der Aufschrift „SKULPTUR PROJEKTE MÜNSTER 1997“, an den großen Einfallstraßen in die Stadt auf Höhe der Promenade aufgestellt: Neutor, Mauritztor, Salzstraße, Windthorstraße, Ludgeriplatz, Aegidiitor

Bühne im Lichthof des Landesmuseums, davor Stühle aus dem Vortragssaal des Landesmuseums

Bühnenrückwand mit der Aufschrift „SKULPTUR PROJEKTE MÜNSTER 1997“: 400 x 800 cm, Podium: 200 x 400 cm

Temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Ausstellung

Heimo Zobernig

* 1958 in Mauthen, Österreich

lebt und arbeitet in Wien, Österreich

Heimo Zobernig stellte an den sechs wichtigsten Einfallstraßen zur Stadt auf Höhe des Promenadenringes Plakatwände auf. Auf diese brachte er in Schwarz auf Weiß in der Schriftart Helvetica den Schriftzug „SKULPTUR PROJEKTE MÜNSTER 1997“ auf. Darüber hinaus realisierte Zobernig im Landesmuseum eine Bühne. Das Bühnenpodium ergänzten eine schwarze Bühnenrückwand mit der weißen Aufschrift „SKULPTUR PROJEKTE MÜNSTER 1997“ und ein Bühnendach mit Beleuchtungssystem. Vor der Bühne wurden Stühle aus dem Vortragssaal des Landesmuseums aufgestellt.

Durch das Aufeinandertreffen von textlicher und bildlicher Repräsentation entstand ein „logohafter“ ,Bildtext‘, dessen ökonomischer Nutzen und Gebrauchswert der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit zugeordnet werden können.1 Die Plakatwände am Promenadenring und der Bühnenhintergrund im Museum verwiesen jeweils auf ihr farblich umgekehrtes Pendant, was als formaler Hinweis auf die gegenseitige Auflösung von Verweis/Ankündigung und Aufführung/Präsenz gedeutet werden kann.2 Die abstrakte Apparatur zwischen Kunstwerk, Institution, Öffentlichkeit und den angerufenen Betrachter_innen wurde erkennbar, indem Zobernig ein Verweisnetz aufspannte, in dem das Skulpturale zwischen reiner Zeichenfunktion und künstlerischer Präsenz oszillierte.

 

Ferdinand Uptmoor

 

1 Christian Höller, „Publike Relationen“. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 477.

2 Ebd.

 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum