Eulàlia Valldosera

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Twilight Zone / Zona en Penombra

1997

Two-part light projection from four scanner projectors, two of which were equipped with gobos (graphical optical blackouts) created by the artist, and two were not, two mirrors, electronics, turntable, window display decoration such as furniture and shop window dummies, various packaging for cosmetic goods, string etc.

 

Location

Windows on the northeast-facing side of the former Kiffe Pavilion, Alter Steinweg 15/16, and the firewall opposite, Alter Steinweg 21; since 2009 the site has been redeveloped as the multi-storey car park Parkaus Alter Steinweg.

Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Eulàlia Valldosera

* 1963 in Vilafranca del Penedés near Barcelona, Spain

lives and works in Barcelona

For Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 Eulàlia Valldosera explored the cityscape of Münster after nightfall. In the northeast-facing shop windows of the former Kiffe Pavilion the Spanish artist created a two-part light installation in which she intermingled the shadows cast by real objects with overlayered images, projecting this composite illusion onto the firewall of a residential building opposite.1 In both shop windows the artist placed different objects of decoration in front of the projectors; in the window on the right she assembled furniture and parts of window dummies; in the one on the left she set up a turntable and different kinds of packaging for cosmetics. Mirrors in the window display space reflected the cast shadows through the windows onto the firewall opposite. There they were superimposed over projected gobo motifs that on three sections of the wall alternated between the toppling figure of a woman, falling furniture and other objects, and a burning house.

Originally built in 1955 for the car dealer Ernst Kiffe, as from 1982 the Kiffe Pavilion underwent a varied history of use at the service of the retail sector.2 Standing to the east of this modernist architecture was an older complex which after various redevelopments had left the corner looking increasingly rundown. So much so, that the artist experienced this space between the Kiffe Pavilion and the firewall as a “dead zone” like those found in cities everywhere.3 For Valldosera the transitional state of twilight generally altered perceptive qualities. With her play of diffuse light and shadow the artist reshaped this ‘non-place‘ and animated passers-by to “perceive reality in all its changing aspects,” both between light and shadow as well as between consumerism and urban change.4

 

Daniel Friedt

 

1 On the Kiffe Pavilion, cf. Sylvaine Hänsel, Stefan Rethfeld (eds.) Architekturführer Münster, Berlin, 2008. p. 113; on the light installation, cf. Eulàlia Valldosera, “Twilight Zone/Zona en Penombra”, in: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, pp. 426–429.

The Kiffe Pavilion was build by Hans Walter Rüschenschmidt.

3 Valldosera, 1997, p. 428.

4 Ibid.

Images

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Eulàlia Valldosera

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: LWL / Ahlbrand-Dornseif

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: LWL / Ahlbrand-Dornseif

Twilight Zone / Zona en Penombra [Grauzone]

1997

Zweiteilige Projektion aus vier Scheinwerfern (Scannerprojektionen), davon zwei ohne und zwei mit von der Künstlerin erstellten Gobos (Graphical optical blackouts), zwei Spiegel, Elektronik, eine Drehscheibe, Schaufensterdekoration wie Möbel und Puppen, Verpackungen von Kosmetikartikeln, Schnur u. a.

 

Standort

Schaufenster auf der Nordostseite des Kiffe-Pavillons, Alter Steinweg 15/16, und die gegenüberliegende Brandmauer, Alter Steinweg 21; seit 2009 steht dort das Parkhaus Alter Steinweg; temporäre Einrichtung für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Eulàlia Valldosera

* 1963 in Vilafranca del Penedés bei Barcelona, Spanien

lebt und arbeitet in Barcelona 

Eulàlia Valldosera beschäftigte sich 1997 mit dem Stadtbild von Münster nach Anbruch der Dunkelheit. In den nordöstlichen Schaufenstern des Kiffe-Pavillons realisierte die Spanierin eine zweiteilige Lichtinstallation, die Schatten realer Gegenstände mit eingeblendeten Bildern verschmolz und diese Illusion auf die gegenüberliegende Brandmauer eines Wohnhauses warf.1 In beiden Schaufenstern positionierte die Künstlerin vor den Projektoren Dekorationsstücke – im rechten Fenster Möbelstücke und Teile von Schaufensterpuppen, im linken Fenster eine Drehscheibe mit Kosmetikartikelverpackungen. Spiegel im Schaufensterraum reflektierten die Schattenwürfe durch die Fenster auf die Brandmauer. Dort überlagerten sie sich mit den projizierten Gobo-Motiven, die auf drei Sektionen der Wand abwechselnd eine stürzende Frau, fallende Möbel und andere Gegenstände sowie ein brennendes Haus erkennen ließen.

Der 1955 für den Automobilhändler Ernst Kiffe erbaute Pavillon erfuhr nach 1982 eine abwechslungsreiche Nutzungsgeschichte durch den Einzelhandel.2 Der modernen Fünfziger-Jahre-Architektur stand im Osten ein älterer Komplex entgegen, der im Zuge baulicher Veränderungen zusehends schmuddelig wirkte. Die Künstlerin erlebte den Raum zwischen dem Kiffe-Pavillon und der Brandmauer gar als eine „Dead Zone“ (tote Zone), wie es sie allerorts in Städten gibt.3 Der Zustand der Dämmerung änderte für Valldosera allgemein die Wahrnehmungsqualitäten. Die Künstlerin überformte mit ihren diffusen Licht- und Schattenspielen einen ‚Nicht-Ort‘ und regte Passanten zur „Wahrnehmung der Realität mit all ihren wechselhaften Aspekten“ an, zwischen Licht und Schatten sowie zwischen Konsum und urbanem Wandel.4

 

Daniel Friedt

 

1 Zum Kiffe-Pavillon siehe Sylvaine Hänsel und Stefan Rethfeld, Architekturführer Münster, Berlin 2008, 113; zur Lichtinstallation siehe Eulàlia Valldosera, „Twilight Zone / Zona en Penombra“. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 426–429.

2 Den Kiffe-Pavillon entwarf Hans Walter Rüschenschmidt.

3 Valldosera 1997, 428.

4 Ebd.

 

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum