Hans Haacke

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Standort Merry-go[-]round [Location Merry-go-round]

1997

Installation

Used, rough wooden planks, razor barbed wire

 

Location

On the Promenade at Mauritztor / corner Fürstenbergstrasse next to the war memorial to the soldiers killed in the wars of German unification by Bernhard Frydag. Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Hans Haacke

* 1936 in Cologne, Germany

lives and works in New York, USA

 

Directly alongside Bernhard Frydag’s “Ehrenmal am Mauritztor” (war memorial) Hans Haacke erected a children’s carousel, then boarded it up behind a cylindrical wall of used, rough wooden planks topped with razor barbed wire. Occasional narrow gaps between some of the planks afforded glimpses of the carousel spinning round and round and of the light shining from a light organ. One could also hear fairground music through the slits, which on closer listening proved to be the German national anthem. Visitors were denied the fun of the merry-go-round ride.

Frydag’s war memorial is nicknamed the “Mäsentempel” in Münster – local slang meaning ‘temple of arses’ – since the larger-than-life stone figures surrounding the memorial have their behinds bared to the outside world. Haacke incorporated the walling-off of the memorial’s compact body. He undermined the nationalist pathos of this commemoration by creating a direct analogy with the children’s carousel. He contrasted the fairground pleasure with the identificational function of the memorial. By reminding us of the monument’s political implications Haacke also exposed the constantly rehashed “drone” of nationalist founding myths as vacuous fiction, laying bare the banality of such pathos formulae set in stone.

 

Thorsten Schneider

 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Hans Haacke

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Standort Merry-go[-]round

1997

Installation

Gebrauchte, unbehandelte Holzbohlen, NATO-Draht

 

Standort

Auf der Promenade am Mauritztor / Ecke Fürstenbergstraße neben dem Kriegerdenkmal für die Gefallenen der deutschen Einigungskriege von Bernhard Frydag, temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Ausstellung

Hans Haacke

* 1936 in Köln, Deutschland

lebt und arbeitet in New York, USA

 

Direkt neben das „Ehrenmal am Mauritztor“ von Bernhard Frydag platzierte Hans Haacke ein Karussell und verkleidete es mit einem zylinderförmigen Bretterverschlag aus gebrauchten, ungehobelten Holzbohlen mit abschließendem NATO-Draht. Einblicke auf das sich darin in voller Fahrt drehende Gefährt gewährten lediglich kleine Spalte zwischen einigen Brettern. Durch diese drangen auch das Licht einer Lichtorgel und Jahrmarktsmusik nach außen, deren Melodie bei genauerem Hinhören als deutsche Nationalhymne zu erkennen war. Die Betrachter_innen blieben vom Vergnügen der Fahrt ausgesperrt.

Frydags Denkmal in Erinnerung an die preußischen Kriege wird im Münsteraner Volksmund auch „Mäsentempel“ genannt: Umrundet wird das übermannshohe Werk von steinernen Standfiguren, die ihre „Mäsen“ – hochdeutsch „Hintern“ – nach außen kehren. Haacke nahm die Geschlossenheit des kompakten Körpers des Kriegerdenkmals auf. In direkter Analogie konterkarierte er mit dem Kinderkarussell das nationale Pathos des Gedenkens. Der identitätsstiftenden Funktion des Kriegerdenkmals setzte er das Amüsement der Kirmes entgegen. Er entlarvte die immer gleiche ,Leier‘ nationaler Gründungsmythen als leere Fiktion und offenbarte damit die Banalität versteinerter Pathosformeln.

 

Thorsten Schneider

 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum