Tue Greenfort

Installation view 2007 © Courtesy the artist and KÖNIG GALERIE. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 2007 © Courtesy the artist and KÖNIG GALERIE. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Diffuse Einträge [Diffuse Entries]

2007

Installation

Silver liquid manure spreader GARANT PT manufactured by Kotte Landtechnik, Rieste

Tank volume: 17,600 litres

Tank dimensions: diameter 200 cm, cylindrical length 525 cm, thickness of outer wall 6 mm

Frame and tank both zinc-coated

Vacuum pump

 

Location

The semi-circular platform on the eastern shore of Lake Aa, between Adenauerallee and Bismarckallee. Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition skulptur projekte münster 07

 

Tue Greenfort

* 1973 in Holbæk, Denmark

lives and works in Berlin, Germany

 

During skulptur projekte münster 07 a fountain spurted uninterruptedly and at high pressure from a liquid manure spreader into Lake Aa. However, it was not liquid manure the Danish artist Tue Greenfort was spraying into the lake – as the silver vehicle might lead one to think – but water pumped up from the lake, enriched with added Iron (III)-Chloride.

The artificial Aa Lake was initiated in the late 19th century as a reservoir to the southwest of the centre of Münster and completed in 1934. It is the largest recreational area within the city and is fed by the river Aa, which flows through the intensively farmed Münsterland region. Water from the fields is drained into the river, flushing large quantities of phosphates into the lake. This process of eutrophication stimulates the growth, amongst others, of blue-green algae in the lake. Thus human contact with water is still considered a health hazard.

Scientific reports say “diffuse entries” are responsible for the lake’s pollution, brought on by the meat industry in the region.1 In Münster, so as to protect the meat industry and its major EU subsidies, attempts have been made to reduce the level of phosphates in the lake and stop algae growth by adding Iron (III)-Chloride. Instead of tackling the cause of the problem and imposing regulations on industrialised farming and meat production, this solution is purely cosmetic. Tue Greenfort’s work commented on the attempt to lower the level of phosphates in the lake by adding chemicals. With the manure spreader he was also casting an ironic light on this method for maintaining the seemingly natural idyll.

 

Jenny Hoedemaker

 

 

 

1 Cf. Tue Greenfort, in: Brigitte Franzen, Kasper König and Carina Plath (eds.), sculpture projects muenster 07, exhib. cat. LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Cologne, 2007, p. 117.

Images

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Tue Greenfort

Installationsansicht 2007 © Courtesy the artist und KÖNIG GALERIE. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 2007 © Courtesy the artist und KÖNIG GALERIE. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Diffuse Einträge

2007

Installation

Silberner Jauchepumptankwagen GARANT PT der Firma Kotte Landtechnik GmbH & Co. KG, Rieste

Behältergröße: 17.600 l

Behältermaße: Durchmesser 200 cm, zylindrische Länge 525 cm, Wandstärke 6 mm

Rahmen und Behälter verzinkt

Vakuumpumpe

 

Standort

Auf der halbrunden Plattform am östlichen Aaseeufer zwischen Adenauerallee und Bismarckallee, temporäre Aufstellung während der Ausstellung

 

Tue Greenfort

* 1973 in Holbæk, Dänemark

lebt und arbeitet in Berlin, Deutschland

 

 

Ununterbrochen und mit hohem Druck schoss während der skulptur projekte münster 07 eine Fontäne aus einem Jauchepumpwagen in den Aasee. Der dänische Künstler Tue Greenfort hatte jedoch nicht, wie der silberne Wagen zuerst vermuten ließ, Gülle versprüht, sondern aus dem See gepumptes, mit Eisen-III-Chlorid angereichertes Wasser.

Der Aasee wurde Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts als ein Stausee südwestlich der Innenstadt angelegt und 1934 vollendet. Er ist das größte Naherholungsgebiet innerhalb der Stadt und speist sich durch den Zufluss der Aa, die durch das intensiv landwirtschaftlich genutzte Münsterland fließt. Die Drainagen der Felder entwässern in den Fluss, sodass große Mengen Phosphat in den See gelangen. Der See enthält durch diese Eutrophierung unter anderem Blaualgen und der Kontakt mit dem Wasser wird nach wie vor als gesundheitsschädlich eingestuft.

Als „diffuse Einträge“ beschrieben Forschungsberichte die Ursache für die Seeverschmutzung, hervorgerufen durch die im Umland angesiedelteFleischindustrie.1 In Münster versuchte man die Phosphatmenge im See zugunsten der Betriebe und ihrer Subventionierung durch die Zugabe von Eisen-III-Chlorid gering zu halten und das Algenwachstum zu stoppen. Anstatt die Ursache des Problems zu beheben und der industrialisierten Land- beziehungsweise Fleischwirtschaft Regeln aufzuerlegen, wurde damit eine rein kosmetische Maßnahme vollzogen. Tue Greenfort kommentierte den Versuch, mittels chemischer Zugaben den Phosphatgehalt des Sees zu senken. Mit dem Jauchewagen ironisierte er auch die Aufrechterhaltung der scheinbar natürlichen Idylle.

 

Jenny Katharina Hoedemaker

1 Tue Greenfort, „Diffuse Einträge“. In: Brigitte Franzen, Kasper König und Carina Plath (Hg), skulptur projekte münster 07, Ausst.-Kat.: LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Köln 2007, 117.

 

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum