Pae White

Installation view 2007 © Pae White / Courtesy the artist and neugerriemschneider, Berlin. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 2007 © Pae White / Courtesy the artist and neugerriemschneider, Berlin. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

my-fi

2007

Musical installation with 3 glockenspiele, 3 majolica bells (height: each 100 cm); marzipan objects in the shape of tacos, 3 miniature trucks made of marzipan

 

Location

Alter Steinweg 3

Rothenburg 13

Stadthausturm, Prinzipalmarkt 15

Botanischer Garten

Café Kleimann, Prinzipalmarkt 48

 

Performance of the glockenspiel, installation of the three porcelain bells and display of the small objects during skulptur projekte münster 07

 

Pae White

* 1963 in Pasadena, California, USA

lives and works in Los Angeles, California

 

In 2007 Pae White brought a sample of her home country California to Münster. Instead of the folkloric tunes that can usually be heard in the city’s historic centre, for the period of the Skulptur Projekte exhibition she had a different set of tunes played on the three glockenspiels there. A compilation of melodies that reminded Pae White of the period of her own awakening of love was performed. As an extension of the project idea she also had three bells cast that incorporated the imprint of an embrace and were installed in Münster’s botanical garden. In addition, in the front window of Café Kleimann on Prinzipalmarkt, the artist presented tacos and miniature taco trucks all made of marzipan and arranged on typical Californian paper plates inside traditional confectioners’ boxes.

Her unusual marzipan creations referring to the fast-food culture of her home state of California sat like aliens among the traditional pastries and Westphalian cakes. The new musical repertoire of the carillons playing in the old town also disconcerted passers-by as well. Beyond the region Münster is not known either for its marzipan or its glockenspiels, yet for the artist these two things shaped her image of the city.1 It gave Münster residents the chance do discover something exotic within their own familiar environment, while White implanted what was familiar to her into a different surrounding.

 

Ronja Primke

 

1 Anna Sophia Schultz, “Pae White, in: Brigitte Franzen, Kasper König and Carina Plath (eds.), sculpture projects muenster 07, exhib. cat. LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Cologne, 2007, p. 287.

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Pae White

Installationsansicht 2007 © Pae White / Courtesy the artist und neugerriemschneider, Berlin. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 2007 © Pae White / Courtesy the artist und neugerriemschneider, Berlin. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

my-fi

2007

mehrteilige Arbeit an verschiedenen Standorten: Musikinstallation mit drei Glockenspielen in der Altstadt, Marzipanobjekte in Form von Tacos, drei Miniaturtrucks aus Marzipan, Aufstellung von drei Glocken aus Halbporzellan (Höhe der Glocken: 100 cm, mit Glockenständer ca. 580 cm)

 

Standort

Alter Steinweg 3
Rothenburg 13
Stadthausturm, Prinzipalmarkt 15
Botanischer Garten
Café Kleimann, Prinzipalmarkt 48

Aufführung der Glockenspiele, Aufstellung der Glocken und Auslegung der Kleinobjekte für den Zeitraum der skulptur projekte münster07

 

Pae White

* 1963 in Pasadena, Kalifornien, USA

lebt und arbeitet in Los Angeles, Kalifornien, USA

 

2007 brachte Pae White ein Stück ihrer Heimat Kalifornien nach Münster. Sie ließ anstatt der gewöhnlich erklingenden volkstümlichen Melodien für die Zeit der Skulptur Projekte andere Lieder auf den drei Glockenspielen in der Altstadt spielen. Zu hören waren Tonfolgen, welche Pae White an eine Zeit des Verliebtseins erinnerten. Als Erweiterung des Projektvorschlages ließ sie zusätzlich drei Glocken anfertigen, die den Abdruck einer Umarmung zeigten und im Botanischen Garten aufgestellt wurden. Am Prinzipalmarkt präsentierte die Künstlerin des Weiteren im Schaufenster des Café Kleimann aus Marzipan angefertigte Tacos und Miniatur-Taco-Trucks auf typisch kalifornischen Papptellern in traditionellen Konditoreischachteln.

Die ungewöhnlichen Marzipankreationen, die Bezug auf die Fast-Food-Kultur ihrer Heimat Kalifornien nahmen, wirkten wie Fremdkörper zwischen dem traditionellen Gebäck und den westfälischen Torten. Auch das neue Liedrepertoire der Glockenspiele in der Altstadt irritierte die Passant_innen. Weder für Marzipan noch für die Glockenspiele ist Münster überregional bekannt, für die Künstlerin jedoch bestimmten sie das Bild, das sie von der Stadt hatte.1 Die Münsteraner_innen konnten so etwas Fremdes im Vertrauten entdecken, während Pae White das ihr Vertraute an einem anderen Ort implementierte.

 

Ronja Primke

 

1Anna Sophia Schultz, „Pae White“. In: Brigitte Franzen, Kasper König und Carina Plath (Hg.), skulptur projekte münster 07, Ausst.-Kat.: LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Köln 2007, 287.

 

Standort

Installationsansicht 2007 © Pae White / Courtesy the artist und neugerriemschneider, Berlin. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Pae White
my-fi

my-fi

Installationsansicht 2007 © Pae White / Courtesy the artist und neugerriemschneider, Berlin. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Pae White
my-fi

None

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum