Ei Arakawa

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Harsh Citation, Harsh Pastoral, Harsh Münster

2017

 

Installation

LED strips on hand-dyed fabric, LED transmitter, power supply units, SD cards, transducers, cardboard, amplifiers, media player

 

Dimensions

LED paintings:

130 × 150 cm (Gustave Courbet)

193 × 128 cm (Nikolas Gambaroff)

190 × 250 cm (Jutta Koether)

188 × 280 cm (Joan Mitchell)

115 × 110 cm (Amy Sillman)

147 × 279 cm (Reena Spaulings)

194 × 131 cm (Atsuko Tanaka)

 

Location

Meadow in front of Haus Kump, Mecklenbecker Straße 252

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition.

Ei Arakawa

* 1977 in Fukushima, Japan

Lives and works in New York, USA

Ei Arakawa’s art is mostly performative and includes everyday objects, works of art, and people as his actors, as it were, with each accorded an equal footing. Music and lyrics play an important role in his installations and performances, as he draws on the artistic strategies of the Gutai group and Fluxus.

For Skulptur Projekte 2017, Arakawa staged a light and sound show on the south-western end of Lake Aa. He grouped seven pixelated LED paintings he assembled himself on the grassy space. Paintings by Gustave Courbet, Nikolas Gambaroff, Jutta Koether, Joan Mitchell, Amy Sillman, Reena Spaulings, and Atsuko Tanaka served as source material for these panels. Situated adjacent to Haus Kump—one of the oldest settlements in Münster and the seat of the Academy of Design and Crafts under the aegis of the Chamber of Crafts and Skilled Trades—these illuminated pictures accompanied by sound were arranged like an audiovisual choir in the landscape.

As is often the case in Arakawa’s work, painting was endowed with a performative potential. Arakawa’s artistic approach mirrors, among other things, his ambivalent relationship to the contemporary reception of painting as an object hung on the wall. In earlier projects, for example, he carried canvases through the museum space to disrupt rigid gallery conditions and enable a mutual activation potential between image and recipient. Standing, walking, singing, or speaking together becomes an act of collective creativity. This frequently engenders an agency in which the idea of the individual is replaced by a communal, participatory energy. That is why the objects he produces are also characterized by a powerful Do-It-Yourself aesthetic: he is not interested in the perfection of a mechanically produced, anonymous result.

The notion of the collective was important for Arakawa’s Münster project in two respects. He combines a group of digital panels that illuminated a landscape and—quite literally—gave them a voice, while granting the digital copy an interpretative authority over itself and the corresponding original. The community of objects generated new forms of itself from an audiovisual interaction that could only be partially controlled. Furthermore, a temporary community of visitors was created at a peaceful and remote location. The walk and the encounter with Arakawa’s LED paintings on the green field was reflected in the choice of Courbet’s The Meeting (1854). The original source of this LED-painting shows the important encounter of the wandering artist with his patron while walking through a flat, green, pastoral landscape.

 

Nico Anklam

 

Images

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Ei Arakawa

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Harsh Citation, Harsh Pastoral, Harsh Münster [Harsches Zitat, harsche Pastorale, Harsches Münster]

2017

 

Installation

LED-Streifen auf handgefärbtem Textil, LED-Transmitter, Netzteile, SD-Karten, Energieumwandler, Karton, Verstärker, Mediaplayer

 

Maße

130 × 150 cm (Gustave Courbet)

193 × 128 cm (Nikolas Gambaroff)

190 × 250 cm (Jutta Koether)

188 × 280 cm (Joan Mitchell)

115 × 110 cm (Amy Sillman)

147 × 279 cm (Reena Spaulings)

194 × 131 cm (Atsuko Tanaka)

 

Standort

Wiese vor Haus Kump, Mecklenbecker Straße 252

Temporäre Aufstellung für die Dauer der Ausstellung

Ei Arakawa

* 1977 in Fukushima, Japan

lebt und arbeitet in New York, USA

 

Die Arbeiten Ei Arakawas sind meist performativ und schließen alltägliche Gegenstände, Kunstwerke oder Menschen als Akteur_innen gleichsam und gleichberechtigt ein. An künstlerische Strategien der Gutai-Gruppe und Fluxus anknüpfend, spielen Musik und Text in seinen Installationen und Aufführungen eine wichtige Rolle.

Für die Skulptur Projekte 2017 inszenierte Arakawa auf einer Wiese am südwestlichen Ende des Aasees ein Licht- und Klangspiel. Der Künstler gruppierte sieben grob gerasterte LED-Malereien, die er per Hand zusammengefügt hat, auf der Grünfläche. Als Bildvorlagen für diese Panels dienten Gemälde von Gustave Courbet, Nikolas Gambaroff, Jutta Koether, Joan Mitchell, Amy Sillman, Reena Spaulings und Atsuko Tanaka. In direkter Nachbarschaft zum Haus Kump, einer der ältesten Siedlungen in Münster und dem Sitz der Akademie der Gestaltung der Handwerkskammer, wurden die leuchtenden und tönenden Bilder als ein audiovisueller Chor in der Landschaft arrangiert.

Wie häufig in Arakawas Werk wurde Malerei mit einem performativen Potenzial ausgestattet. In seiner künstlerischen Praxis zeigt sich unter anderem ein zwiespältiges Verhältnis zur gängigen Rezeption von Gemälden als an der Wand hängenden Objekten. Arakawa trug schon in früheren Projekten Leinwände durch Museumsräume, um starre Verhältnisse aufzubrechen und ein gegenseitiges Aktivierungspotenzial von Bild und Rezipient_innen zu ermöglichen. Das gemeinsame Stehen oder Gehen, Singen oder Sprechen wird zu einem Akt kollektiver Kreativität. Häufig tritt dabei eine Handlungs-macht zutage, in der die Idee des Individuums durch gemeinschaftliche, partizipative Energie ersetzt wird. Deshalb zeichnen sich auch die von ihm hergestellten Objekte durch eine starke Do-it-yourself-Ästhetik aus: An der Perfektion eines maschinell und anonym hergestellten Ergebnisses ist Arakawa nicht interessiert.

Für sein Projekt in Münster war die Idee der Gemeinschaft in zweifacher Hinsicht wichtig: Er vereinte eine Gruppe digitaler Tafelbilder, die in der Landschaft leuchteten. Arakawa gab ihnen – ganz wörtlich – eine Stimme, und räumte der digitalen Kopie die Interpretationshoheit über sich selbst und das entsprechende Original ein. Die Objektgemeinschaft generierte aus einer nur bedingt kontrollierbaren audiovisuellen Interaktion neue Formen ihrer selbst. Darüber hinaus entstand an dem ruhigen und abgelegenen Ort eine temporäre Gemeinschaft der Besucher_innen. Das Spazieren und die Begegnung mit Arakawas LED-Malereien auf der grünen Wiese wurde durch die Verwendung von Courbets Gemälde Die Begegnung (1854) reflektiert. Die Vorlage dieser Malerei zeigt die bedeutende Begegnung des wandernden Künstlers mit seinem Mäzen in einer flachen, grünen, pastoralen Landschaft.

 

Nico Anklam

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum