Andreas Bunte

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Laboratory Life

2017

 

16 mm films transferred to digital Video (colour, sound), between 2 and 3 min., accessed via posters with QR codes, Free Wi-Fi is provided at all locations

 

 

Locations

H1, Schlossplatz 46

VHS Mùˆnster, Aegidiistraße 2

Stadthaus I, Klemensstraße 10

 

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition

Andreas Bunte

* 1970 in Mettmann, Germany

lives in Berlin, Germany

Andreas Bunte’s artistic interests focus on the interaction between technology, the human body, and architecture and the question of how this interplay shapes and determines our material and immaterial environment.

His work Laboratory Life, which was created specifically for Münster, is based on the interplay between moving pictures and scientific experimental set-ups. In these films, Bunte removes everyday occurrences—like the rotation of a car-wash brush on a windscreen, a plastic bag flapping in the wind, or someone putting in a contact lens—from their original context and places them in a laboratory-like setting under video surveillance. Bunte’s films enabled viewers to observe isolated processes in a new light, particularly when ‘motion capture’ was used to reduce the performance of an everyday activity to an abstract dance of points and lines in front of a black background or when human limbs are replaced by robot arms. By means of QR codes that have been printed on posters and hung up around Münster, these everyday choreographies could be watched on viewers’ phones. In other words, the films was not screened in interior spaces but could be activated on any standard smartphone by scanning the QR codes. The film posters were pasted straight onto the architectural surface of the city. In this way, the video surveillance under lab conditions unfolded in a direct encounter with actual everyday life in Münster. With the help of our constant companion, the portal we call the phone, Bunte’s Laboratory Life opened a brief cinematic windows for us through which to view an urban environment.

Bunte’s interest in scientific research films and the lab as a production site for films can be traced back to his three-year research project on Göttingen’s IWF (Institute for Scientific Film). This research institute, which was active from 1957 to 2010, sought to disengage time-based phenomena from their original context and conserve them as moving pictures in the neutral environment of a laboratory. In addition to recording these processes, Bunte’s films document the embedding of film production in the reality of a lab and examine the extent to which a lab can ever be a place of neutral observation. He also sees the everyday actions and processes reproduced there as time-based ready-mades, where it remains uncertain who is the actual protagonist of a particular event. Objects often seem strangely animated, whereas human actions are dominated by limited opportunities of interaction. At the same time, questions are raised about the correct way of performing the actions: What options are suggested by a car door or a metal detector, especially when these actions are only performed for the sake of video documentation?

 

Niko Anklam

Images

Location

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Andreas Bunte
Laboratory Life

Andreas Bunte, Laboratory Life, 2017

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Andreas Bunte
Laboratory Life

Andreas Bunte, Laboratory Life, 2017

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Andreas Bunte

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Laboratory Life [Laborbedingungen]

2017

 

16 mm Film, digitalisiert (Farbe, Ton), Dauer zwischen 2 und 3 Minuten, abrufbar über Poster mit QR-Codes, Offenes WLAN an allen Standorten

 

Standort

Hörsaal H1, Schlossplatz 46

VHS Münster, Aegidiistraße 2

Stadthaus I, Klemensstraße 10

 

Temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Ausstellung

 

Andreas Bunte

* 1970 in Mettmann, Deutschland

lebt in Berlin, Deutschland

Andreas Buntes künstlerisches Interesse kreist um das Zusammenspiel von Technologie, menschlichem Körper und Architektur und die Frage, wie dieses unsere materielle und immaterielle Umgebung formt und bestimmt.

Seine für Münster realisierte Arbeit Laboratory Life hatte ihren Ausgangspunkt in der Verschränkung von bewegtem Bild und wissenschaftlichem Versuchsaufbau. Bunte löst in diesen Filmen Vorgänge, zum Beispiel die Rotationsbewegung einer Autowaschanlagenbürste auf einer Windschutzscheibe, das Flattern einer Plastiktüte im Wind oder das Einsetzen einer Kontaktlinse, aus ihrem ursprünglichen Zusammenhang und stellt sie in einem laborähnlichen Raum unter die Beobachtung der Kamera. Die Filme ermöglichten den Betrachter_innen, bekannte Abläufe isoliert und neu zu sehen – insbesondere wenn durch sogenanntes motion capture die Aufführung des Alltäglichen zu einem abstrakten Punkt- und Linientanz vor schwarzem Hintergrund reduziert oder wenn menschliche Gliedmaßen durch Roboterarme ersetzt wurden. Über in der Stadt plakatierte Poster mit QR-Codes waren diese Choreografien des Alltags auf den Telefonen der Besucher_innen abrufbar. Die Filme wurden also nicht als Projektionen im Innenraum gezeigt, sondern sie aktivierten sich auf jedem gängigen Smartphone durch das Scannen der Codes. Die Filmposter wurden direkt auf die architektonische Oberfläche der Stadt gekleistert. Somit entfalteten sich die filmischen Laborbeobachtungen in direkter Konfrontation mit dem konkreten Münsteraner Alltag. Buntes Laboratory Life öffnete für die Besucher_innen innerhalb des Stadtraums kurzzeitig kineastische Fenster auf dem stets griffbereiten Portal namens Telefon.

Buntes Interesse für den wissenschaftlichen Film und das Labor als Produktionsort von Filmen lässt sich anhand seines dreijährigen Rechercheprojekts zum Göttinger Institut für Wissenschaft und Film nachvollziehen. Diese von 1957 bis ins Jahr 2010 aktive Forschungsstelle strebte an, zeitbasierte Phänomene aus ihrem Ursprungskontext zu lösen, um sie im neutralen Umfeld eines Labors im bewegten Bild zu konservieren. Buntes eigene Filme dokumentieren neben den Prozessen auch die Einbettung der Filmherstellung in die Laborrealität und hinterfragen so, inwieweit das Labor überhaupt ein Ort neutraler Beobachtung sein kann. Darüber hinaus versteht er die dort nachgestellten, alltäglichen Ereignisse und Prozesse als zeitbasierte Readymades, bei denen offen bleibt, wer eigentlich Protagonist_in eines bestimmten Vorgangs ist. Oft scheinen Objekte eigenartig belebt, menschliches Handeln dagegen durch eingeschränkte Interaktionsmöglichkeiten dominiert. Gleichzeitig stellen sich Fragen nach der korrekten Handhabe: Welche Handlungsoptionen legen eine Autotür oder ein Metalldetektor nahe, besonders wenn deren Handhabung allein für die Dokumentation durch die Kamera erfolgt?

 

Niko Anklam

Bilder

Standort

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Andreas Bunte
Laboratory Life [Laborbedingungen]

Andreas Bunte, Laboratory Life [Laborbedingungen], 2017

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Andreas Bunte
Laboratory Life [Laborbedingungen]

Andreas Bunte, Laboratory Life [Laborbedingungen], 2017

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum