CAMP (Shaina Anand, Ashok Sukumaran)

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Matrix

2017

 

Installation

Black cable, monitors, switches, speakers, electronics

 

Location

Theater Münster, patio on the first floor, entrance via outside staircase

Neubrückenstraße 63

 

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition

CAMP (Shaina Anand, Ashok Sukumaran)

* 1975 in Bombay, India

lives in Mumbai, India

 

* 1974 Hokkaido, Japan

lives in Mumbai, Indien

CAMP is an interdisciplinary studio currently made up of Shaina Anand, Ashok Sukumaran, Zinnia Ambapardiwala, Simpreet Singh, and other actors. It was founded in 2007 and continuously regroups for specific projects. Within the context of long-term projects, the group has developed a range of investigative, cultural initiatives for the twenty-first century. CAMP makes use of various media—CCTV, electricity, archives; many of its projects are characterized by an affinity for technological processes.

Ashok Sukumaran and Shaina Anand created a piece in the Theater Münster as CAMP’s contribution to Skulptur Projekte 2017. The architects of the first new theatre to be built in post-war Germany (Harald Deilmann, Max von Hausen, Ortwin Rave, and Werner Ruhnau) chose a section of the façade of the Romberger Hof, the theatre which was destroyed in World War II, and integrated it into the modern construction. CAMP stretched a system of cables between the ruins and the glass façade from the 1950s. The exhibition site was thus transformed into a fictional extension of the building, which emphasized and connected the existing assemblage of destruction and reconstruction, exterior and interior. The new system of reference expanded on the existing temporal layers, which from today’s perspective are both rooted in the past, to include the question of the relationship between the utopian promises of post-war modernism and the present. CAMP’s system of cables symbolized a global network and the still unfulfilled promise of comprehensive horizontal participation in grassroots democracy. By operating switches hanging from electrical wires, visitors could trigger various environmental changes, thus proposing a ‘vertical’ to impinge on the ‘horizontal’.

CAMP creates a metaphor for systems of participation and support, from the access to electricity—which is now privately owned almost everywhere across the globe—to digital communication and the immanent possibilities of manipulation. At the same time, the black net specifically reminds us of the lighting wires and ropes that are used backstage and hung from the ceiling of a theatre to help create an illusion on stage. CAMP addresses the contingent and constantly changing power structures in today’s societies. Modern architectural elements and the claims they make—for example, that glass façades ensure transparency—are questioned with regard to their actual qualities and other aspects that come to light in everyday usage: historically speaking, who was on which side of the glass, and what is the situation today? Why did the ideals of equality and participation in grassroots, horizontal democracy fizzle out? And, in spite of all this, what pathways and vertical shortcuts or incremental processes can provide systemic access?

 

Nico Anklam

Images

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

CAMP (Shaina Anand, Ashok Sukumaran)

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Matrix

2017

 

Installation

Schwarzes Kabel, Monitore, Schalter, Lautsprecher, benutzerdefinierte Elektronik

 

Standort

Theater Münster, Innenhof, 1. Obergeschoss, Zugang über Außentreppe

Neubrückenstraße 63

 

Temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Ausstellung

 

CAMP (Shaina Anand, Ashok Sukumaran)

* 1975 Bombay, Indien

lebt in Mumbai, Indien

 

* 1974 Hokkaido, Japan

lebt in Mumbai, Indien

CAMP ist ein interdisziplinär arbeitendes Studio, derzeit bestehend aus Shaina Anand, Ashok Sukumaran, Zinnia Ambapardiwala, Simpreet Singh und weiteren Akteur_innen, das sich projektbezogen immer wieder neu zusammensetzt. In Langzeitprojekten entwickelt es unterschiedliche Varianten von investigativer, kultureller Arbeit im 21. Jahrhundert. CAMP nutzt verschiedene Medien – Kameraüberwachungsysteme (CCTV), Elektrizität, Archive; viele Projekte zeichnen sich durch eine Affinität zu technologischen Prozessen aus.

Für die Skulptur Projekte 2017 realisierten Ashok Sukumaran und Shaina Anand als CAMP ein Werk im Theater Münster. Die Architekten dieses ersten Theaterneubaus in Deutschland nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg (Harald Deilmann, Max von Hausen, Ortwin Rave und Werner Ruhnau) integrierten einen Teil der Fassade der vorherigen Spielstätte, des zerstörten Romberger Hofs, in das moderne Bauensemble. Zwischen der Ruine und der Glasfassade aus den 1950er Jahren spannte CAMP ein Netz aus Kabeln. Der Ausstellungsort wurde in eine fiktive Erweiterung des Gebäudes verwandelt, die das bestehende Gefüge aus Zerstörung und Wiederaufbau, aus Außen- und Innenraum betonte und verband. Das neue Bezugssystem erweiterte die vorhandenen Zeitschichten, aus heutiger Sicht beide in der Vergangenheit angesiedelt, um die Frage nach dem Verhältnis zwischen den utopischen Verheißungen der Nachkriegsmoderne und der Gegenwart. Das von CAMP gespannte Netz stand sinnbildlich für eine globale Vernetzung und das bis heute nicht eingelöste Versprechen einer flächendeckenden, horizontalen, basisdemokratischen Partizipation. Mit an Stromkabeln herunterhängenden Schaltern konnten die Besucher_innen verschiedene Veränderungen in der unmittelbaren Umgebung auslösen und so aus einer Vertikalen in die Horizontale eingreifen.

CAMP metaphorisiert Systeme der Teilhabe: vom Zugang zu Strom – der sich heute nahezu überall in privater Hand befindet – bis hin zur digitalen Kommunikation und den Möglichkeiten der Manipulation, die darin liegen. Gleichzeitig erinnerte das schwarze Netz auch konkret an jene Beleuchtungskabel und Seile, wie sie hinter der Theaterbühne und an der Bühnendecke Verwendung finden, um eine Illusion auf der Bühne zu gewährleisten. CAMP beschäftigt die kontingente, sich stetig verändernde Machtstruktur aktueller Gesellschaften. Moderne Architekturelemente und ihre Behauptungen, etwa der Transparenz und Durchlässigkeit versprechende Einsatz von Glasfassaden, werden im Hinblick auf ihre tatsächlichen und im Gebrauch zu Tage tretenden weiteren Qualitäten befragt: Wer befand sich historisch und befindet sich heute vor der Scheibe, wer dahinter? Woran sind die Ideale von basisdemokratischer, horizontaler Gleichberechtigung und Teilnahme gescheitert, und welche Wege und vertikalen Abkürzungen gibt es, sich trotz allem Zugang zum System zu verschaffen?

 

Niko Anklam

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum