Nicole Eisenman

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Sketch for a Fountain

2017

 

Sculptural ensemble, fountain

Bronze, plaster, basin

 

Dimensions

Basin ca. 500 × 700 m

Reclining bronze ca. 70 × 165 × 280 cm

Standing bronze ca. 260 × 80 × 120 cm

Seated plaster figure ca. 100 × 120 × 100 cm

Reclining plaster figure ca. 50 × 120 × 320 cm

Reclining plaster figure with water ca. 150 × 110 × 240 cm

 

Location

Meadow alongside Promenade

Am Kreuztor / Promenade

 

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition

 

 

 

The Association Dein Brunnen für Münster e.V. is dedicated to a permanent Realization of the work in Münster.

 

more information: https://www.deinbrunnen4ms.de/

 

 

Nicole Eisenman

* 1965 in Verdun, France

lives in New York, USA

Nicole Eisenman is primarily known for her paintings and drawings. She makes playful use of a palette of styles and visual languages that ranges from Renaissance painting to modern art, combining them with everyday observations and references to pop culture and pornography. Relationships, stereotypes, the body, and sexuality are assigned a key role in her figurative pictures with their underlying sense of melancholy. Since 2012, Eisenman has been increasingly involved with sculpture, a medium she appreciates for its tactile and sensual qualities.

In Münster Eisenman has created a fountain installation with several figures in the middle of the Promenade. The ensemble of five larger-than-life figures, made of bronze or plaster, is casually grouped around a basin. The nude figures of voluminous proportions, which cannot readily be assigned to one gender, take various poses. The relaxed formation is accompanied by narrative moments: in the middle of the water, a self-assured nude extends its body skywards in exhibitionist fashion, while the other figures chill around the basin, sunbathing or lost in thought as they gaze into the reflections in the pool. Water trickles from three of the figures, as a culture of handmade mushrooms sprouts at the feet of one figure. Similar to Eisenman’s colour application in her paintings, the texture of the figures is varied. The entire setting is rounded off with moss-covered stones from Marl.

With her fountain design, the artist has interpreted one of the oldest examples of public art in a new way. In antiquity, fountains served as meeting places for cult rituals. And today monumental fountains with an abundance of figures still give distinction to numerous parks and squares. Eisenman’s work responds to those opulent arrangements with a gentle sprinkle, streams of water coming from various body parts, and a placid water surface that—together with the inactivity of the figures—conveys calm. She counters these historical fountain arrangements, which are replete with a wide range of meaningful gestures, with lumpishly sluggish, cartoon-like figures that evoke associations with Paul Cézanne, George Segal, or Tom Otterness and seem indifferent to aesthetic or societal norms.

The scene resembles those of the artist’s drawings that bring forth a queer Arcadia. Time seems to stand still; only the can of soda held by a dozing figure alludes to the present. Reduced activity, gentle splashing, and the ground-level arrangement invite visitors to join the protagonists and become part of the setting. Everything stands together as an elementary creation in fluid correlation as Mother Nature, culture, and identities intertwine. Wind and weather cause the group to age slightly over the course of the exhibition.

 

Andreas Prinzing

Images

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Nicole Eisenman

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Sketch for a Fountain (Skizze für einen Brunnen)

2017

 

Skulpturenensemble, Brunnenanlage

 

Bronze, Gips, Wasserbecken

 

Maße

Wasserbecken ca. 500 × 700 cm

Liegende Bronze ca. 70 × 165 × 280 cm

Stehende Bronze ca. 260 × 80 × 120 cm

Sitzende Gipsfigur ca. 100 × 120 × 100 cm

Liegende Gipsfigur ca. 50 × 120 × 320 cm

Liegende Gipsfigur mit Wasser ca. 150 × 110 × 240 cm

 

Standort

Wiese neben der Promenade

Am Kreuztor / Promenade

 

Temporäre Aufstellung für die Dauer der Ausstellung

 

 

 

Die Initiative Dein Brunnen für Münster e.V. engagiert sich für eine dauerhafte Realisierung des Brunnens in Münster.

 

mehr Informationen unter: https://www.deinbrunnen4ms.de/

 

 

Nicole Eisenman

* 1965 Verdun, Frankreich

lebt in New York, USA

Nicole Eisenman ist vor allem als Malerin und Zeichnerin bekannt. Spielerisch greift sie auf eine Palette an Stilen und Bildsprachen zurück, die von Renaissancemalerei bis zur Moderne reicht, und verknüpft sie mit Alltagsbeobachtungen und Referenzen auf Popkultur und Pornographie. Beziehungen, Rollenklischees, Körper und Sexualität kommt in ihren figurativen, melancholisch grundierten Bildern zentrale Bedeutung zu. Seit 2012 bedient sich Eisenman darüber hinaus vermehrt des Mediums Skulptur, dessen haptisch-sinnliche Qualitäten sie schätzt.

In Münster installierte Eisenman eine mehrfigurige Brunnenanlage inmitten der Promenade. Das Ensemble bestand aus fünf überlebensgroßen Figuren aus Bronze und Gips die sich  locker um ein Wasserbecken gruppierten. Die unbekleideten Figuren mit voluminösen Proportionen, die nicht eindeutig einem Geschlecht zuzuordnen sind, nahmen unterschiedliche Haltungen ein. Erzählerische Momente begleiteten die zwanglose Szenerie: Eine ihre Nacktheit selbstbewusst zur Schau stellende Figur streckt sich inmitten des Wassers dem Himmel entgegen, während die anderen um das Becken abhängen, ein Sonnenbad nehmen oder versunken ins spiegelnde Nass blicken. Aus drei Körpern rinnt Wasser, während kleinteilig modellierter Pilzbewuchs zu Füßen einer Figur sprießt. Wie der Farbauftrag in Eisenmans Bildern variiert die Textur der Figuren. Bemooste Steine aus Marl ergänzen die Szenerie.

Mit der Brunnengestaltung interpretierte die Künstlerin eines der ältesten Modelle von Kunst im öffentlichen Raum neu. Brunnen fungierten in der Antike als Treffpunkt kultischer Handlungen. Monumentale Brunnenanlagen mit figurenreichen Bildprogrammen prägen bis heute zahlreiche Gartenanlagen und Plätze. Auf solche opulenten Inszenierungen reagiert Eisenmans Arbeit mit zartem Sprinkeln, aus verschiedensten Körperteilen sprühenden Wasserstrahlen und einer nur sanft bewegten Wasserfläche, die verbunden mit der Inaktivität der Figuren, Ruhe vermittelt. Der ausgreifend-bedeutungsvollen Gestik der historischen Inszenierungen setzte sie eine klobig-träge, cartoonhafte Figuration entgegen, die Assoziationen an Paul Cézanne, George Segal oder Tom Otterness aufruft und sich wenig um ästhetische oder gesellschaftliche Normen schert.

Die Szene erinnert an Zeichnungen Eisenmans, die ein queeres Arkadien entwerfen. Die Zeit scheint stillzustehen, lediglich die Getränkedose einer dösenden Figur verweist in die Gegenwart. Reduzierte Aktivität, sanftes Plätschern und die ebenerdige Aufstellung luden ein, es den Protagonist_innen gleichzutun und Teil der Szenerie zu werden. Alles steht als elementare Schöpfung in fluider Beziehung miteinander, Natur, Kultur und Identitäten gehen ineinander über. Wind und Wetter lassen die Gruppe im Laufe der Ausstellung ein wenig altern.

 

Andreas Prinzing

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum