Christian Odzuck

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

OFF OFD

2017

 

Material

Concrete, steel, wood, spolia

 

Dimensions

2300 × 1600 × 3600 cm

 

Location

Andreas-Hofer-Straße 50

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition

Christian Odzuck

* 1978 in Halle, Germany, lives in Düsseldorf, Germany

Christian Odzuck takes as his focus architectural fragments as well as urban building processes. His basic artistic approach is the reuse and further development of building materials, which he reassembles as accessible structures. The original buildings as well as individual elements, reused materials, or the memories thereof are made visible and aesthetically tangible for visitors.

The point of departure for his Skulptur Projekte piece was Münster’s former revenue office, the Oberfinanzdirektion (OFD) building complex, which was torn down in 2016/17. It was built in the 1960s from plans developed by the architecture firm HPP Heinrich-Petschnigg & Partner. Odzuck placed his work OFF OFD on the now abandoned space, getting his bearings from the clear, modern use of form in the now demolished administrative building as well as from its former dimensions and floor plan. The centrepiece of the work was the stairway, which is conspicuous in an architectural sense. Originally, it was at the main entrance of the OFD, but Odzuck reconstructed it as a mock-up, imitating its function as a walkway yet expanding it from a conceptual and structural point of view. He recycled the demolished building’s materials as a ballast bed and added on modular prefab concrete bricks made of leftover cement from previous building projects. In addition to this, the artist translocated and reactivated the 23-metre-long street light from the OFD car park.

In reference to Lucius Burckhardt’s science of strollology, Odzuck investigates urban places on his strolls through town, exploring their political, social, and historical subtexts and functions, which he documents in essays, studies, and research books. His publications trace these continuing expeditions, mapping the impressions of his walks and, at the same moment, serving as his working medium, a documentation and a true experience. Subsequently, the artist converts these concepts and visions from a two-dimensional surface to a real three-dimensional space. Odzuck understands construction phases as process-oriented, artistic strategies that challenge the possibilities of a space and render them visible. For Skulptur Projekte the artist consciously focused on urban structures and situations that were faced with impending demolition or repurposing. By placing his work in front of the anti-panorama of the abandoned construction site, Odzuck alluded to that fragile state of limbo between demolition and new construction and to the urban development potential and social opportunities that could emerge from it.

 

Clara Napp

Images

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Christian Odzuck

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

OFF OFD

2017

 

Material

Beton, Stahl, Holz, Spolien

 

Maße

2300 × 1600 × 3600 cm

 

Standort

Andreas-Hofer-Straße 50

Temporäre Aufstellung für die Dauer der Ausstellung

Christian Odzuck

* 1978 in Halle, lebt in Düsseldorf, Deutschland

Christian Odzucks künstlerisches Interesse gilt architektonischen Fragmenten sowie baulichen Prozessen in der Stadt. Grundlegende Methode seiner künstlerischen Praxis ist dabei die Weiterverwendung und -entwicklung bereits benutzter Bauteile, die er zu begehbaren Gefügen neu zusammensetzt. Die ursprünglichen Bauwerke sowie einzelne Elemente, Spolien oder Erinnerungen daran, werden so für die Besucher_innen sichtbar und ästhetisch erfahrbar.

Ausgangspunkt seiner Arbeit für die Skulptur Projekte war der 2016 / 2017 abgerissene Gebäudekomplex der Oberfinanzdirektion Münster (OFD), der in den 1960er Jahren nach Plänen der Architekten HPP Hentrich-Petschnigg & Partner errichtet wurde. Odzuck platzierte seine Arbeit OFF OFD auf der Brachfläche und orientierte sich dafür an der klaren, modernen Formensprache des abgerissenen Verwaltungsgebäudes sowie an dessen getreuen Maßen und der Raumaufteilung. Im Mittelpunkt der Arbeit stand die architektonisch auffällige Treppenanlage, die sich ursprünglich am Haupteingang der OFD befand. Odzuck rekonstruierte sie als Attrappe, indem er ihre Laufbewegung nachahmte, und sie konzeptuell sowie baulich erweiterte. Er recycelte das Material des abgerissenen Gebäudes als Schotterbett und ergänzte dieses um modulare Betonfertigsteine, die aus Restbetonmengen früherer Bauvorhaben gegossen wurden. Darüber hinaus translozierte und reaktivierte der Künstler die 23 Meter lange Straßenlaterne vom Parkplatz der OFD.

In Anlehnung an die Spaziergangswissenschaft Lucius Burckhardts erkundet Odzuck in intensiven Streifzügen durch die Stadt Orte und ihre jeweiligen politischen, sozialen und historischen Subtexte und Funktionen, die er in fotografischen Essays, Studien und Recherchebüchern festhält. Seine Publikationen zeichnen diese fortlaufenden Suchbewegungen nach, kartographieren die Eindrücke seiner Spaziergänge und sind somit Arbeitsmedium, Dokumentation und Ereignis zugleich. Anschließend überführt der Künstler die Konzepte und Visionen aus dem zweidimensionalen in den dreidimensionalen, realen Raum. Bauprozesse begreift Odzuck als prozessuale, künstlerische Strategie, um die Möglichkeiten eines Raumes zu hinterfragen und sichtbar zu machen. Für die Skulptur Projekte hat sich der Künstler bewusst auf Bauwerke und Situationen in der Stadt konzentriert, deren Abriss oder Umnutzung kurz bevor stand. Mit der Platzierung seines Werkes vor das Anti-Panorama des brachliegenden Baufeldes verwies Odzuck auf diesen fragilen Schwebezustand zwischen Abriss und Neubau und die städteplanerischen und gesellschaftlichen Potenziale, die daraus entwachsen können.

 

Clara Napp

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum