Emeka Ogboh

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Passage through Moondog

Sound installation (soundscapes, Couplets by Moondog, Trimba music, 16 speakers)

Location

Hamburger Tunnel (underpass)

Münster central station

Temporary Installation for the duration of the exhibition

 

Credits

Lyrics: Moondog • Read by: Judith Frey, Wolfgang Gnida, Tineke Kaiser, Konstanze Klecha, Stefan Lakatos, Britta Peters, Tatjana Niederberghaus, Anna-Lena Treese, Sophia Trollmann, Jessica Tropp, Marianne Wagner, Doris Wermelt • Trimba music: Stefan Lakatos • Soundscapes: Titus Maderlechner, Emeka Ogboh • Consultant: Wolfgang Gnida • Sound design: Titus Maderlechner

With kind permisson of the estate of Louis Hardin (Moondog), represented by executor Alexander Duve, Berlin.

 

Quiet Storm

Material

Honey beer with lime blossom; amount brewed: 60 hl, 7.5 % alcohol

Available at

Brewed in collaboration with Philipp Overberg (Guthaus-Brauerei)at Anders Brewery (Belgium)

Sound design: Thomas Bücker

Emeka Ogboh

* 1977 in Enugu, Nigeria, lives in Berlin, Germany and Lagos, Nigeria

Emeka Ogboh deals with urban sounds, the babel of voices, songs, shouts, screams, and bankground noise, but he also works with his own compositions, consisting of existing songs and public speeches. He filters specific tonal and content-related layers from complex sound material and converts them into experimental musical pieces and spatial audio installations that can be heard in exhibition spaces and in compositions for public spaces like his arrangement for the African Union’s new headquarters in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. He generates auditory topographies of urban and political sound textures, whose layers are exposed by the artist as an extract of social and cultural diversity. Ogboh’s works focus on the use of all five senses for perception, smell and taste included. He emphasizes the preparation of food and drink as a means of creating identity that is passed on from one generation to the next and along migratory routes.

As his contribution to Sculpture Projects, Ogboh has developed a sound concept for the Hamburger Tunnel, an underground passageway next to Münster’s main station. Based on the compositions and poems of the legendary American musician Moondog, he uses, among other things, material recorded on the trimba by Moondog’s close friend Stefan Lakatos. The instrument was invented by Moondog—a blind street musician, who was born Louis Thomas Hardin (1916–1999)—and it is characteristic of the pieces he began composing in the late 1940s. According to the obituary written by his old New York flatmate Philip Glass, he was one of the most influential nonconformists of his time, an associate of Leonard Bernstein, and a source of inspiration for the composer Artur RodziƄski. Thanks to his intense involvement with rhythm, melody, and language, Moondog wrote several hundred two-line poems in addition to his music pieces. After leaving New York, where he had gained fame as the Viking of 5th Avenue, Moondog ended up in the Westphalian town of Oer-Erkenschwick, moving just before he died to Münster, where he is buried at the main municipal cemetery. The concept of soundscapes shared by both Moondog and Ogboh reveals a common interest in the public space as a source and stage for their compositions: the street, which John Cage called ‘the true concert hall’.

Ogboh has also contributed a second project: the beer called Quiet Storm, which he had brewed in Belgium and enhanced with lime-blossom honey from the Westerholt meadow along Münster’s promenade. During the two-week process of fermentation, the brewery’s large beer tankers were equipped with special loudspeakers to sonify the beer and influence the brewing process with intense sound textures recorded in Lagos, Africa’s most populous city, an overlapping mix of about five hundred Nigerian dialects, ritual music, techno and traffic noise. All the city’s good vibes are present in Quiet Storm.

 

Nicola Torke

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Emeka Ogboh

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Passage through Moondog [Passage zu Moondog]

Soundinstallation (Soundscapes, Couplets von Moondog, Trimbaspiel, 16 Lautsprecher)

 

Standort

Hamburger Tunnel

Münster Hauptbahnhof

Temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Ausstellung

 

Credits

Text: Moondog • Eingelesen von: Judith Frey, Wolfgang Gnida, Tineke Kaiser, Konstanze Klecha, Stefan Lakatos, Britta Peters, Tatjana Niederberghaus, Anna-Lena Treese, Sophia Trollmann, Jessica Tropp, Marianne Wagner, Doris Wermelt • Trimbaspiel: Stefan Lakatos • Soundscapes: Titus Maderlechner, Emeka Ogboh • Beratend: Wolfgang Gnida • Sounddesign: Titus Maderlechner

 

Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Nachlasses von Louis Hardin (Moondog), vertreten durch den Testamentsvollstrecker Rechtsanwalt Alexander Duve, Berlin.

 

Quiet Storm [Ruhiger Sturm]

Honigbier mit Lindenblüten, Braumenge: 60 HL, 7,5 % Alkohol

In Zusammenarbeit mit Philipp Overberg (Guthaus-Brauerei) in der Anders Brauerei (Belgien) gebraut

Sounddesign: Thomas Bücker

Emeka Ogboh

* 1977 in Enugu, Nigeria, lebt in Berlin, Deutschland und Lagos, Nigeria

Emeka Ogboh arbeitet sowohl mit den Geräuschen einer Stadt, Stimmengewirr, Liedern, Rufen, Schreien, Rauschen als auch mit eigenen Kompositionen aus bestehenden Liedern und öffentlichen Reden. Aus komplexem Soundmaterial filtert er spezifische tonale und inhaltliche Ebenen, die er in experimentelle Musikstücke und klangräumliche Installationen überführt, die in Ausstellungsräumen, aber auch, wie etwa in seiner Komposition für das neue Gebäude der African Union in Addis Abeba, Äthiopien, im öffentlichen Raum zu hören sind. Es entstehen auditive Topografien von Urbanität und Politik, deren Schichtungen der Künstler als Ausschnitt aus der gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Vielheit freilegt. Ogbohs Werk fokussiert auf die Wahrnehmung mit allen Sinnen, auch dem Riechen und Schmecken. Er hebt die Zubereitung von Speisen und Getränken als identitätsstiftende Praxis hervor, die über Generationen und in Migrationslinien weitergetragen wird.

Für Münster entwickelte Ogboh, ausgehend von Kompositionen und Gedichten des legendären amerikanischen Musikers Moondog, ein Soundkonzept für den Hamburger Tunnel, eine Unterführung neben dem Hauptbahnhof. Er verwendete dafür u. a. Aufnahmen, die der Musiker und Vertraute Moondogs, Stefan Lakatos, mit der Trimba eingespielt hat. Dieses Instrument ist eine Erfindung des erblindeten Moondogs und charakteristisch für seine Stücke seit den späten 1940er Jahren. Moondog, alias Louis Thomas Hardin (1916–1999), war Straßenmusiker und, laut dem Nachruf seines ehemaligen New Yorker Wohngenossen Philip Glass, einer der einflussreichsten Nonkonformisten seiner Zeit, Dialogpartner von Leonard Bernstein und Impulsgeber des Komponisten Artur Rodziński. Von seiner intensiven Beschäftigung mit Rhythmus, Melodie und Sprache zeugen neben den Musikstücken auch mehrere hundert zweizeilige Gedichte. Nachdem es ihn aus New York, wo er als Viking of 5th Avenue Berühmtheit erlangte, ins westfälische Oer-Erkenschwick verschlagen hatte, lebte Moondog kurz vor seinem Tod in Münster, wo er heute auf dem Zentralfriedhof begraben liegt. Mit dem Konzept der Soundscapes teilen Moondog und Ogboh das Interesse am öffentlichen Raum als Quelle und Bühne für ihre Kompositionen: die Straße, die John Cage den wahren Konzertsaal nannte.

Daneben brachte Ogboh noch ein weiteres Projekt ein: das Bier Quiet Storm, das er unter Zusatz von Lindenblütenhonig von der an der Promenade gelegenen Westerholtschen Wiese in Belgien brauen ließ. Während des ca. zweiwöchigen Fermentierungsprozesses des Bieres wurden die großen Kessel der Brauerei mit speziellen Lautsprechern ausgestattet, um das Bier mit Aufnahmen der intensiven Klangkulisse von Lagos zu bespielen und den Brauprozess zu beeinflussen: die bevölkerungsreichste Stadt Afrikas, in der sich ca. 500 nigerianische Dialekte, rituelle Musik, Techno und Verkehrslärm überlagern, war mit ihren good vibes im Quiet Storm anwesend.

 

Nicola Torke

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum