Peles Empire

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Sculpture

2017

 

Material

Dibond, ceramic tiles, galvanized steel, Jesmonite

 

Dimensions

755 × 622 × 638 cm

 

Location

Car park of Oberverwaltungsgericht,

corner of Aegidiistrasse / Aegidiikirchplatz

Artist’s talks with:

21.07.17 Alexandre da Cunha

22.07.17 Maria Loboda

11.08.17 Mariechen Danz

12.08.17 Anthea Hamilton / Julie Verhoeven

02.09.17 Nicolas Deshayes

22.09.17 Oliver Osborne

23.09.17 Daniel Sinsel

Peles Empire

Katharina Stöver: * 1982 in Gießen, Germany, lives in Berlin, Germany
Barbara Wolff: * 1980 Fogarasch, Romania, lives in Berlin, Germany

The artist duo Peles Empire, consisting of Barbara Wolff and Katharina Stöver, takes its material and name from the Romanian royal castle of Peleş, built in 1883. The interior is dominated by a chaotic hodgepodge of replica furniture and décors from various stylistic periods. The two artists pick up on the historical dimension of the furnishings and adopt a postmodern process of reproduction, sampling, and quotation as the basis for their artistic practice.

For Skulptur Projekte, Peles Empire erected a gable, nearly eight metres high, in the immediate vicinity of the city’s historic centre. The gable’s tiled façade showed an image of the castle’s crumbling terrace as well as the supports that keep it from collapsing. The façade was braced by poles and propped against a stepped volume, whose surface was covered with black-and-white streaks, mimicking a stone surface. This surface visually anticipated the Jesmonite bar inside. Both are black and white and thus created the effect of a photocopy. The object, which is located in a carpark, is not just for viewing from the outside—it can also be entered. The first impression suggested some intrinsic value, but this was misleading: what looked magnificent and solid from the outside turned out to be a print pasted on a sheet of thin aluminium-based material. The size of the tiles and the stepped element behind the façade were based on the size of standard A3 paper. This and the black-and-white imagery were a clear reference to the technology of photocopying where every copy increasingly becomes an abstraction of the original.

Peles Empire used its piece Sculpture to allude to the historicized architecture of Münster’s historic market (the Prinzipalmarkt), which was rebuilt after being destroyed in World War II—not as an exact reconstruction but according to the historical prototype of the 1950s. Based on the original façade, the plans for the new façade, and what was actually built, the duo developed a kind of ‘standard’ gable from all three elements to define the front of the sculpture. Akin to black-and-white image interference, the object commented on the picturesque charm and homogenized narrative of the apparently medieval town centre. Peles Empire’s work also included a social dimension: at the beginning of their collaboration, the two artists used their flat in Frankfurt am Main as a kind of salon—after moving to London, it later became an exhibition space. Photo wallpaper served as the décor for their weekly gatherings in their own living room with depictions of the rooms in Peleş Castle. At that time they had already begun utilizing photocopies, photographs, and collages to transpose the three-dimensional interior of the castle into two dimensions—before finally returning it to a three-dimensional space by using the images as wallpaper. In Münster, Peles Empire once again took on the role of host: the artists organized discussions with other artists in the bar.

 

Jan Bockholt

Images

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Peles Empire

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Sculpture [Skulptur]

2017

 

Material

Dibond, Keramikfliesen, verzinkter Stahl und Jesmonite

 

Maße

755 × 622 × 638 cm

 

Standort

Parkplatz des Oberverwaltungsgerichts

Ecke Aegidiistraße / Aegidiikirchplatz,

 

Künstler_innengespräche mit:

21.07.17 Alexandre da Cunha 22.07.17 Maria Loboda

11.08.17 Mariechen Danz

12.08.17 Anthea Hamilton / Julie Verhoeven

02.09.17 Nicolas Deshayes

22.09.17 Oliver Osborne

23.09.17 Daniel Sinsel

Peles Empire

Katharina Stöver: * 1982 in Gießen, Deutschland, lebt in Berlin, Deutschland
Barbara Wolff: * 1980 in Fogarasch, Rumänien,  lebt in Berlin, Deutschland

Das Künstlerinnenduo Peles Empire, bestehend aus Barbara Wolff und Katharina Stöver, entnimmt sein Material und seinen Namen dem rumänischen Königsschloss Peleş aus dem Jahr 1883, in dessen Innerem ein chaotisches Nebeneinander von Möbelkopien und Raumgestaltung diverser Stilepochen herrscht. Diese historisierende Einrichtung greifen die beiden Künstlerinnen auf und machen ein postmodernes Reproduktions-, Sampling- und Zitierverfahren zur Grundlage ihrer künstlerischen Praxis.

Für die Skulptur Projekte errichtete Peles Empire in direkter Nähe zur Altstadt einen knapp acht Meter hohen Giebel, dessen gekachelte Fassade die marode Terrassenanlage des Schlosses abbildete sowie die Stützen, die diese Terrasse vor dem Einstürzen bewahren. Die Fassade wurde mit Stangen auf ein hinteres, abgestuftes Volumen gestützt, dessen Oberfläche mit schwarz-weißen Schlieren, ähnlich einer Steinoberfläche, überzogen war. Diese Oberfläche nahm optisch bereits die aus Jesmonite gefertigte Bar im Innenraum vorweg. Beide waren in schwarz-weiß gehalten und erzeugten Kopie-Effekte. Die Besucher_innen konnten das Objekt, das auf einem Parkplatz steht, nicht nur umgehen, sondern auch betreten. Der äußere Eindruck suggerierte eine Wertigkeit, die so nicht existierte: Was von außen prachtvoll und massiv aussah, entpuppte sich als Druck auf dünnem aluminiumbasierten Plattenmaterial. Als Vorlage für die Größe der Kacheln sowie den hinteren, getreppten Teil des Objekts dienten DIN A3-Papiermaße. Die DIN-Maße sowie das Schwarz-Weiß verwiesen auf die Technik des Fotokopierens, bei der jede Reproduktion mit einer zunehmenden Abstraktion einhergeht.

Peles Empire bezog sich mit seiner Arbeit Sculpture auf die historisierende Bauweise des Prinzipalmarktes. Dieser wurde nach seiner Zerstörung im Zweiten Weltkrieg wiederaufgebaut – und zwar nicht als exakte Rekonstruktion, sondern nach dem historischen Vorbild der 1950er Jahre. Ausgehend von ursprünglichen, geplanten und gebauten Fassaden entwickelte das Duo eine Art Durchschnittsgiebel, der die Vorderfront der Skulptur definierte. Wie eine schwarz-weiße Bildstörung kommentierte das Objekt den pittoresken Charme und die homogenisierende Erzählung des scheinbar mittelalterlichen Stadtkerns. Zur Arbeit von Peles Empire gehört auch ein sozialer Aspekt: Zu Beginn ihrer Zusammenarbeit diente die Wohnung der beiden in Frankfurt a. M. als eine Art Salon, der später – mit dem Umzug nach London – zum Ausstellungsraum wurde. Als Ausstattung ihres wöchentlichen Salons im eigenen Wohnzimmer dienten Fototapeten mit Abbildungen der Räume von Schloss Peleş. Bereits hier wurde das dreidimensionale Interieur des Königssitzes mittels Kopien, Fotografien und Collagen in die Zweidimensionalität übersetzt – um schließlich, durch die Nutzung des Bildmaterials als Tapete, erneut in einen dreidimensionalen Raum überführt zu werden. Auch in Münster war Peles Empire in der Rolle des Gastgebers: Die beiden luden zu Künstler_innengesprächen in der Bar ein.

 

Jan Bockholt

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum