Sany (Samuel Nyholm)

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Marginal Frieze

2017

Fallande ting series and film trailer with drawings for banners, carrier bags, flyers, stickers, and merchandise

 

Fallande ting

Pyrographic series in the Münster / Marl urban space

 

In Münster:

Untitled (Estrid)

333 × 340 cm

Schlossplatz 34

 

Untitled (Grazyna)

170 × 370 cm

Hüfferstraße 20

 

Untitled (Apisina)

117 × 247 cm

Bispinghof 20

 

 

In Marl:

Untitled (Yggdrasil)

370 × 340 cm

Kampstraße 8 – 10

 

Untitled (Norns)

280 × 235 cm

Kampstraße 8 – 10

 

Temporary Installation for the duration of the Exhibition

Sany (Samuel Nyholm)

* 1973 in Lund, Sweden, lives in Stockholm, Sweden and Bremen, Germany

Samuel Nyholm, who publishes his figurative drawings under the acronym Sany, works as a graphic designer and artist. Frequently his sketchy drawings borrow from Danish Pilsner cartoons from the 1960s and 1970s in terms of both their visual language and choice of motif. They vary motivic situations, which are peopled by a handful of fictional characters who keep popping up again and again, as the drawings refer topopular culture’s slapstick genre and play with prejudices and stereotypical simplifications. One particular focus of the cartoons, which sometimes echo the distant style of Saul Steinberg, can be found in the arbitrary character of linguistic and symbolic systems. They often humorously depict scenarios from the world of art, highlighting misunderstandings and misinterpretations and thus pointing to the gap between a symbol and its meaning.

Sany’s work Marginal Frieze for the Skulptur Projekte linked two different areas. On the one hand, a multi-part mural was exhibited in the urban space, while, on the other, his cartoons were part of the exhibition’s accompanying advertising campaign: his work circulated as film trailers, on banners, bags, flyers, and stickers—as a patchwork of subliminal media fragments with a wide range of influence in the public space. For his Fallande ting Sany  installed large-sized pyrographies on the walls of several buildings in Münster and Marl, showing individual falling figures. For this project he turned to familiar characters from his cosmos of images: with Estrid, the Valkyrie, and Yggdrasil, the World Tree, he re-interpreted two figures from Nordic mythology, who were joined by the monkey Apis and the Greek artist Stavros.

Sany’s contribution alluded in many respects to the marginal, the fringe. And that applied specifically to the location of his pyrographies, which were reminiscent of the large billboards and murals that covered the fireproof walls of vacant urban spaces during the post-war years. In his use of folk-art pyrography, he drew on an old technique associated with basement hobby rooms and stuffy bourgeois values that has been refused admission to the canon of accepted artistic media. By blowing the figures up to a large-scale format, he referred to the disparities in value ascription within the art system, which are based not only on conventions but also on the relationship between the signified and the signifier. Having slipped from their mythological, human, and cultural-historical context, Sany’s figures fell from the sky. The drawings introduced a dynamic, snapshot-like element to an urban space that is otherwise dominated by advertising, thus promoting the interplay between the pictorial surface and its surroundings, similar to viewing a sculpture. In this way, Sany’s figures seemed like they are just about to hit the kerb—and look just as endangered as the passers-by who unknowingly crossed the street beneath them.

 

Andreas Prinzing

Images

Location

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Sany (Samuel Nyholm)
Marginal Frieze

Sany, Marginal Frieze, 2017

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Sany (Samuel Nyholm)
Marginal Frieze

Sany, Marginal Frieze, 2017

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Sany (Samuel Nyholm)

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Marginal Frieze

2017

 

Fallande ting-Serie und Filmtrailer sowie Zeichnungen für Banner, Tragebeutel, Flyer, Aufkleber und Merchandise

 

Fallande ting

Serie von Pyrographien im Stadtraum Münster / Marl

 

In Münster:

Untitled (Estrid)

333 × 340 cm

Schlossplatz 34

 

Untitled (Grazyna)

170 × 370 cm

Hüfferstraße 20

 

Untitled (Apisina)

117 × 247 cm

Bispinghof 20

 

In Marl:

Untitled (Yggdrasil)

370 × 340 cm

Kampstraße 8–10

 

Untitled (Norns)

280 × 235 cm

Kampstraße 8–10

 

Temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Ausstellung

Sany (Samuel Nyholm)

* 1973 in Lund, Schweden, lebt in Stockholm, Schweden und Bremen, Deutschland

Samuel Nyholm, der seine figurativen Zeichnungen unter dem Akronym Sany publiziert, arbeitet als Grafiker und Künstler. Häufig nehmen seine in wenigen Linien dahingeworfenen Zeichnungen in Bildsprache und Motivwahl Anleihen bei Danish Pilsner Cartoons der 1960er und 1970er Jahre. Unter Bezug auf ein populärkulturelles, von Vorurteilen und stereotypen Simplifizierungen durchsetztes Genre an Slapstick-Humor variieren sie motivische Situationen, die von einer Handvoll fiktiver, immer wieder auftauchender Charaktere bevölkert werden. Ein Fokus der Cartoons, in denen gelegentlich auch der ferne Strich von Saul Steinberg nachhallt, liegt auf dem arbiträren Charakter von Sprach- und Zeichensystemen. Mit Humor entwerfen sie häufig im Kunstbetrieb angesiedelte Szenerien, die Missverständnisse und Fehlinterpretationen in den Blick nehmen und dabei auf jenen Raum, der sich zwischen einem Zeichen und seiner Bedeutung auftut, verweisen.

Auch in Sanys Arbeit Marginal Frieze für die Skulptur Projekte verschränkten sich zwei Bereiche. Zum einen war er mit einer mehrteiligen Wandarbeit im Stadtraum vertreten, zum anderen in der begleitenden Kommunikation der Ausstellung präsent: Seine Motive zirkulierten als Filmtrailer, auf Bannern, Tragebeuteln, Flyern und Aufklebern als kleinteilige, unterschwellige Medien mit großer Reichweite im öffentlichen Raum. In Münster und Marl installierte Sany mit Fallande ting an mehreren Häuserwänden großformatige Pyrographien, die einzelne, fallende Figuren zeigten. Er griff dabei auf bekanntes Personal seines Bildkosmos zurück: Mit Estrid, der Valkyrie, und Yggdrasil, dem Weltenbaum, interpretiert er zwei der nordischen Mythologie entstammende Figuren neu, denen der Affe Apis und der griechische Künstler Stavros zur Seite gestellt werden.

Sanys Beitrag nahm in mehrfacher Hinsicht auf das Marginale, das Randständige Bezug. Das betraf die Platzierung der Pyrographien, die an große Werbetafeln und -malereien erinnerte, wie sie in den Nachkriegsjahrzehnten die Brandmauern städtebaulicher Zwischenräume bedeckten. Mit der Volkskunst der Brandmalerei bedient er sich einer alten, heute mit Hobbykeller und Spießigkeit assoziierten Technik, der die Aufnahme in den Kanon tradierter künstlerischer Medien verweigert blieb. Indem er sie auf Großformat vergrößerte, spielte er auch auf das Gefälle an Wertzuschreibungen im Kunstsystem an, die ebenso auf Konvention beruhen wie die Beziehung zwischen Signifikant und Signifikat. Ihrem mythologischen, menschheits- und kulturgeschichtlichen Kontext entglitten, fielen Sanys Figuren vom Himmel. Die Zeichnungen brachten ein dynamisches, schnappschussartiges Moment in den primär von Werbung durchsetzten Stadtraum ein, durch das man Bildebene und Umraum, ähnlich wie bei der Betrachtung einer Skulptur, in Beziehung zueinander setzte. So erschienen die Figuren, als seien sie kurz vor dem Aufschlag auf den Bordstein begriffen – und wirkten ebenso gefährdet wie die Passant_innen, die unter ihnen ahnungslos die Straße kreuzten.

 

Andreas Prinzing

Bilder

Standort

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Sany (Samuel Nyholm)
Marginal Frieze

Sany, Marginal Frieze, 2017

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Sany (Samuel Nyholm)
Marginal Frieze

Sany, Marginal Frieze, 2017

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum