Hito Steyerl

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

HellYeahWeFuckDie

2017

 

3-channel-video installation, environment, 4 min., HD video (2016)

 

Location

LBS West

Himmelreichallee 40

access via Promenande, Foyer A

 

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition

 

Credits

Original soundtrack: Kassem Mosse • Post-production: Christoph Manz, Maximilian Schmoetzer • Line producer: Lawren Joyce • Producer / Director of photography: California Robotic Challenge Kevan Jenson • Assistant: Milos Trakilović Special thanks to: Dr. Imad Elhajj (Vision & Robotics Laboratory, American University of Beirut), Siyuan Feng (The Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon University), Thomas Geijtenbeek, Noel Maalouf (Vision & Robotics Laboratory, American University of Beirut), Natural Motion, MIT DARPA Robotics Challenge Team, Michiel van de Panne, Frank van der Stappe, Seedwell Media, Benjamin Stephens (Robotics Challenge Team, Carnegie Mellon University), WPI-CMU DARPA Robotics Challenge Team, Zhibin (Alex) LI (University of Edinburgh School of Informatics) and ATRIAS ROBOT (Oregon State University Terrestrial Robotics Engineering & Controls Lab, Virginia Tech)

Robots Today

Material

HD video, 8 min. (2016)

Credits

Protagonists: Nevin Soyukaya (archaeologist, researcher, writer, Head of the Department Cultural Heritage and Tourism; Diyarbakır), Abdullah Yaşin, (researcher and writer; Cizre) • Dancers: Ibrahim Halil Saka, Vedat Bilir, Sezer Kılıç • Music: Kassem Mosse • Post-production: Christoph Manz, Maximilian Schmoetzer • Assistant: Milos Trakilović • Camera: Savaş Boyraz • Translation: Rojda Tugrul, Övül Durmosoğlu • Production: Misal Adnan Yıldız, Şener Özmen • Support: Bariş Şehitvan, Zelal Özmen, Sümer Kültür Merkezi Diyarbakır

Hito Steyerl

* 1966 in München, Germany, lives in Berlin, Germany

Hito Steyerl’s films, installations, and writings come out of a systemic way of thinking and working, in which artistic production and the theoretical analysis of global social issues are closely linked. Steyerl investigates the interaction and synthesis of technological and artistic imagery, for example, at the level of visual mass culture—and its function within the overall dispositif of technocracy, monetary policy, the abuse of power, and violence. Her lecture Is the Museum a Battlefield? at the 13th Istanbul Biennial (2013) took as its theme the question of how artists and the art industry are involved in this network. Martin Lockheed, the sponsor of her film about the death of her friend Andrea Wolf (November, 2004) is himself a manufacturer of guns and ammunition—and of the bullet that killed Andrea Wolf in 1998 while she was fighting for the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK).

The location Steyerl chose for her installation is the Westdeutsche Landesbausparkasse (LBS savings bank) with its futuristic technocratic architectural style. It was built in 1975 at the northern end of the old zoo by the banker Ludwig Poullain. In what used to be the cashier’s hall and lobby there are kinetic works by Heinz Mack, Günther Uecker, Otto Piene, etc., from the LBS collection, which has been made accessible to the public again within the framework of Münster’s Skulptur Projekte. Steyerl installed tubular steel barriers and corrugated steel partitions in the lobby of the modernistic building. Compiled audiovisual sequences can be seen on three monitors: documentary lab footage showing computer-simulated or actual physical force applied to humanoid robots to test their balance behaviour. The videos began with the animation of a fragmented sentence: HELL YEAH WE FUCK DIE—which according to the online magazine Billboard are the most frequently used five words in the English language music charts of the past decade. They provided the basis for the musical compositions and also appear in neon lettering encased in concrete. In the smaller cashier’s room in the back there is a further installation with the same elements and an additional video: footage from south-eastern Turkey of the Kurdish town of Cizre on the Syrian border, which now resembles a ghost town following numerous skirmishes of escalating intensity between the government and the PKK. It is the native town of the Arabic writer and engineer Al-Jazari, who wrote a book about mechanical apparatuses in 1205 to convey knowledge about ingenious devices, a work known as Automata in Western culture. Steyerl combined the pictures of the town with questions addressed to SIRI, the software installed on the mobile phone: What role does computer technology play in war?


Nicola Torke

Images

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Hito Steyerl

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

HellYeahWeFuckDie

2017

 

3-Kanal-Videoinstallation, Environment, 4 Min., HD Video (2016)

 

Standort

LBS West

Himmelreichallee 40

Zugang via Promenade, Foyer A

Temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Ausstellung

 

Credits

Soundtrack: Kassem Mosse •Postproduktion: ChristophManz, Maximilian Schmoetzer • Produktionsleiterin: Lawren Joyce • Produzent / Regisseur: MIT DARPA Robotics Challenge Team, Kevan Jenson • Assistent: Milos Trakilović

Dank an: Dr. Imad Elhajj (Vision & Robotics Laboratory, American University of Beirut), Siyuan Feng (The Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon University), Thomas Geijtenbeek, Noel Maalouf (Vision & Robotics Laboratory, American University of Beirut), Natural Motion, MIT DARPA Robotics Challenge Team, Michiel van de Panne, Frank van der Stappe, Seedwell Media, Benjamin Stephens (Robotics Challenge Team,

Carnegie Mellon University), WPI-CMU DARPA Robotics Challenge Team, Zhibin (Alex) LI (University of Edinburgh School of Informatics) sowie ATRIAS ROBOT (Oregon State University Terrestrial Robotics Engineering & Controls Lab, Virginia Tech)

Robots Today

Material

HD Video, 8 Min. (2016)

Credits

Protagonisten: Nevin Soyukaya (Archäologin, Wissenschaftlerin und Autorin, Leiterin des Departments kulturelles Erbe und Tourismus; Diyarbakır), Abdullah Yaşin (Wissenschaftler, Autor; Cizre) • Tänzer:

Ibrahim Halil Saka, Vedat Bilir, Sezer Kılıç • Musik: Kassem Mosse • Postproduktion: Christoph Manz, Maximilian Schmoetzer • Assistent: Milos Trakilović • Kamera: Savaş Boyraz • Übersetzung: Rojda Tugrul, Övül Durmosoğlu • Produktion: Misal Adnan Yıldız, Şener Özmen • Unterstützt von: Bariş Şehitvan, Zelal Özmen, Sümer Kültür Merkezi Diyarbakır

Hito Steyerl

* 1966 München, Deutschland, lebt in Berlin, Deutschland

Die Filme, Installationen und Schriften von Hito Steyerl gehen aus einer systemischen Denk- und Arbeitsweise hervor; künstlerisches Schaffen und theoretische Durchdringung von globalen gesellschaftlichen Fragestellungen sind dabei aufs Engste verbunden. Steyerl analysiert die Wechselwirkungen und Synthesen von technologischen und künstlerischen Bildsprachen, z. B. auf der Ebene der visuellen Massenkultur – und deren Funktion im Gesamtdispositiv von Technokratie, Geldpolitik, Machtmissbrauch, Gewalt. In welcher Weise der Kunstbetrieb und die Künstler_innen in dieses Geflecht eingebunden sind, war Thema ihres Vortrags Is the Museum a Battlefield? auf der 13ten Biennale von Istanbul (2013): Martin Lockheed, der Sponsor ihres Filmes über den Tod ihrer Freundin Andrea Wolf (November, 2004), ist in persona Produzent von Waffen und Munition – jener Kugel, mit der Andrea Wolf 1998 als Kämpferin der kurdischen Arbeiterpartei PKK getötet wurde.

Als Ort für ihre Installation wählte sie das Gebäude der Westdeutschen Landesbausparkasse (LBS), eine futuristisch-technokratische Architektur, die 1975 auf dem nördlichen Gelände des alten Zoos durch den Bankier Ludwig Poullain erbaut wurde. Im ehemaligen Kassenschalterraum und Foyer befinden sich Werke kinetischer Kunst von Heinz Mack, Günther Uecker, Otto Piene etc. aus der LBS-Sammlung, die im Rahmen der Skulptur Projekte der Öffentlichkeit wieder zugänglich gemacht wurden. In das Foyer des modernistischen Gebäudes passte Steyerl raumgliedernde Absperrelemente (Stahlrohr) und Wände (Stahlprofilbleche) ein. Auf drei Monitoren waren kompilierte Video-Audio-Sequenzen zu sehen: Dokumentationsmaterial aus Laboren über konkrete physische oder am Rechner simulierte Krafteinwirkungen auf humanoide Roboter, mit denen das Balanceverhalten getestet wird. Die Videos beginnen mit der Animation eines losen Satzes: HELL YEAH WE FUCK DIE – die laut dem Online-Magazin Billboard am häufigsten gebrauchten fünf Worte in den englischsprachigen Musikcharts der letzten Dekade. Sie lieferten die Basis für die musikalische Komposition und tauchen auch in Form von leuchtenden Schriftzügen, eingefasst in Beton, wieder auf. Im hinteren kleinen Kassenschalterraum befand sich ein weiterer Aufbau mit den gleichen Elementen, zudem ist ein weiteres Video zu sehen: Aufnahmen aus dem Südosten der Türkei, aus der an der syrischen Grenze gelegenen kurdischen Stadt Cizre, die im Zuge zahlloser Eskalationen zwischen dem Staat und der PKK mittlerweile einer Geisterstadt gleicht. Es ist die Geburtsstadt des arabischen Autors und Ingenieurs al-Dschazarī, der 1205 sein Werk über mechanische Apparaturen verfasste, das Buch des Wissens von sinnreichen mechanischen Vorrichtungen, als Automata im westlichen Kulturbereich bekannt. Steyerl kombinierte die Aufnahmen aus der Stadt mit Fragen an die auf dem Mobiltelefon installierte Software SIRI: Welche Rolle spielen Computertechnologien im Krieg?

 

Nicola Torke

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum