Koki Tanaka

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Provisional Studies: Workshop #7 How to Live Together and Sharing the Unknown

2017, Skulptur Projekte 2017

 

Action and workshops, installation of the video documentation in four rooms, booklet

 

Location

Johannisstraße 18/20, access via the passage between Johannisstraße 18/20 and 21, oppositeAegidiimarkt

Accompanying booklet available on-site

Temporary Installation for the duration of the exhibition

 

Owner

After Skulptur Projekte 2017 the work was purchased for the collection of LWL Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Münster an will be shown in temporary exhibitions.

 

 

Participants’ workshops

Tasnim Baghdadi, Stephan Biermann, Isa Selçuk Dilmen, Annette Hinricher, Anna Mondain-Monval, JoAnn Osborne, Rolf Tiemann, Lina Zaher

Facilitators’ workshops

Ahmad Alajlan, Kai van Eikels, Andrew Maerkle, Hendrik Meyer, Tami Tanagisawa

Crew

Director of photography: Hikaru Fujii

Sound: Ryota Fujiguchi

Editor: Koki Tanaka

Camera operator: Shinya Aoyama

Boom operator: Kadoaki Izuta

Assistants: Lejla Aliev, Jakob Reuter

Workshop / filming coordination: Sophia Trollmann

Assistant: Alexandra Südkamp

Logistics: Jan Enste / jae kunst und medien

Textiles support: Kvadrat

Equipment rental and support: Kunstakademie Münster, Filmwerkstatt Münster e. V., Atelier Screen TV, ARTISTS’ GUILD, C-RENT, CAMCAR, cineOne

Subtitles: Eurotape – Media Services GmbH

Koki Tanaka

* 1975 Tochigi, Japan, lives in Kyoto, Japan

Since the events of Fukushima, if not before, Koki Tanaka’s art has been centred around crises and the temporary communities that they produce. Tanaka brings people together in unaccustomed situations that are often unsettling. In these unusual collective moments, he tests the possibility of defying existing routines. The documentary footage that was produced in these situations and workshops serves in various forms as the basis for his video installations.

For Skulptur Projekte, Tanaka asked eight residents of Münster from various generations and different cultural backgrounds to participate in workshops for nine days. Based on Roland Barthes’s book of the same title, the central question was, how to live together? Tanaka invited contributions from ‘facilitators’ acting as temporary guests and sources of inspiration.

A total of eleven video sequences document things such as the night spent together on mats in the gymnasium, cooking a wartime recipe, the interview and shoot with a globalization expert from Syria, and physical exercises in an old nuclear bunker. The camera crew was also told to capture all the breaks and interruptions. So we witness moments of exhaustion as well as the moments when stereotypical roles and argument patterns are initiated or set off. And we also see moments of irritation or displeasure. From the very beginning, the presence of a film crew transformed the participants into subjects in front of the camera and, as such, into a designated, temporary, and defined group of performers. During the shoot, Tanaka saw himself as the viewer and leaves it up to the participants to guide the process, including the decision to stop an exercise. Like the everyday objects in the workshop, the artist’s notes were an important part of the work and are designed as independent publications.

The contextual starting point of the project was also the location where it took place: the Aegidiimarkt complex across from the LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur. Built in the late 1970s, the building incorporates space for living, shopping, work, and leisure. Next to the adult education centre there is a car park for the section of the building frequented most. It was erected during the Cold War and until 2015 designated as a WMD shelter which could house three thousand people in the event of an emergency. Researching the history of the place, we discover how various communities gathered or lived together there: prior to 1819, there was a monastery on the same site that had been used as a military barracks since 1830. After being destroyed in World War II, the property remained vacant for quite some time. The lines of sight that visitors were offered from the standpoint of the installation were directly connected to the Aegidiimarkt across from it.

 

Sophia Trollmann

Images

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Koki Tanaka

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Provisional Studies: Workshop #7 How to Live Together and Sharing the Unknown [Provisorische Studien: Workshop #7 Wie zusammen leben und das Unbekannte teilen]

2017

 

Aktion und Workshops, Installation der Videodokumentation in vier Räumen, Begleitendes Booklet verfügbar vor Ort

 

Standort während der Ausstellung

Johannisstraße 18/20

Zugang über den Durchgang zwischen Johannisstraße 18/20 und 21, gegenüber dem Aegidiimarkt

 

Eigentümer

Nach Ende der Skulptur Projekte 2017 wurde die Arbeit für die Sammlung des LWL Museums für Kunst und Kultur angekauft und wird fortan in temporären Ausstellungen gezeigt.

 

 

Teilnehmer_innen Workshops:

Tasnim Baghdadi, Stephan Biermann, Isa Selçuk Dilmen, Annette Hinricher, Anna Mondain-Monval, JoAnn Osborne, Rolf Tiemann, Lina Zaher

Moderatoren_innen Workshops:

Ahmad Alajlan, Kai van Eikels, Andrew Maerkle, Hendrik Meyer, Tami Tanagisawa

Filmteam

Bildregisseur: Hikaru Fujii

Ton: Ryota Fujiguchi

Schnitt: Koki Tanaka

Kameramann: Shinya Aoyama

Tonassistent: Kadoaki Izuta

Assistenten: Lejla Aliev, Jakob Reuter

Koordination Workshop / Film: Sophia Trollmann

Assistentin: Alexandra Südkamp

Logistik: Jan Enste / kunst und Medien

Unterstützung Textilien: Kvadrat

Equipment: Kunstakademie Münster, Filmwerkstatt Münster e. V., Atelier Screen TV, ARTISTS’ GUILD, C-RENT, CAMCAR, cineOne

Untertitel: Eurotape – Media Services GmbH

Koki Tanaka

* 1975 Tochigi, Japan, lebt in Kyoto, Japan

Spätestens seit den Ereignissen von Fukushima spielt in den Arbeiten von Koki Tanaka der Umgang mit Krisen und darin temporär entstehenden Gemeinschaften eine wichtige Rolle. Tanaka bringt Menschen in ungewohnten und oft verunsichernden Situationen zusammen. Er erprobt in diesen besonderen, kollektiven Momenten die Möglichkeit des Widerstands gegen bestehende Routinen. Das dokumentarische Filmmaterial, das während dieser Situationen und Workshops entsteht, bildet in unterschiedlicher Form die Grundlage für seine Multikanal-Videoinstallationen.

Für die Skulptur Projekte Münster 2017 bat Koki Tanaka acht Münsteraner_innen unterschiedlicher Generationen und unterschiedlicher kultureller Herkunft, für zehn Tage an Workshops teilzunehmen. In Anlehnung an den gleichnamigen Buchtitel von Roland Barthes lautete die zentrale Frage: How to live together? Dazu lud Tanaka sogenannte Faciliators als temporäre Gäste und Impulsgeber für Beiträge ein.

Insgesamt neun Videosequenzen dokumentieren die gemeinsam verbrachte Nacht in der Turnhalle auf Gymnastikmatten, das Kochen eines Rezeptes aus Kriegszeiten, die Interview- und Filmsituation eines Globalisierungsexperten aus Syrien und Bewegungsübungen in einem ehemaligen Atombunker. Das Kamerateam war angewiesen, auch Pausen und Unterbrechungen einzufangen. In diesen werden Erschöpfung sowie das Entstehen oder Aufbrechen von Rollen- und Argumentationsmustern ebenso sichtbar, wie Momente der Irritation oder des Missfallens. Die Präsenz der Filmcrew macht die Partizipierenden vom ersten Moment des Zusammentreffens an zu Subjekten vor der Kamera und damit zu einer ausgewiesenen, temporären und definierten Gruppe von Performer_innen. Tanaka selbst sah sich während der Aufnahmen in der Rolle des Beobachters und überließ den Teilnehmenden die Gestaltung des Prozesses bis hin zur Entscheidung, eine Übung abzubrechen. Die Notizen des Künstlers waren, wie die Alltagsobjekte des Workshops, wichtiger Bestandteil der Arbeit und wurden als eigenständige Publikationen konzipiert.

Inhaltlicher Ausgangspunkt für Provisional Studies: How to live together? sowie Austragungsort der Workshops war das Aegidiimarkt-Areal gegenüber dem LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur. Ende der 1970er Jahren erbaut, vereint das Gebäude wohnen, einkaufen, arbeiten und Freizeit. Neben der Volkshochschule ist ein Parkhaus der von der Öffentlichkeit am meisten genutzte Bereich des Hauses. Letzterer wurde zur Zeit des Kalten Krieges gebaut und sollte bis 2015 im Krisenfall als ABC-Bunker 3000 Menschen Schutz bieten. Ein Blick in die Geschichte des Ortes zeigt, wie dort zu allen Zeiten unterschiedliche Gemeinschaften zusammenkamen oder gemeinsam lebten: Vor 1819 befand sich am selben Ort ein Kloster, welches ab 1830 als Kaserne genutzt wurde. Nach dessen Zerstörung im Zweiten Weltkrieg lag das Gelände lange Zeit brach. Die Blickachsen, die die Besucher_innen vom Standort der Installation aus einnehmen konnten, stellten einen direkten Bezug zum gegenüberliegenden Aegidiimarkt her.

 

Sophia Trollmann

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum