Wagner / De Burca (Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin De Burca)

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Bye Bye Deutschland! Eine Lebensmelodie [Bye Bye Germany! A Life Melody]

2017

 

1-channel video projection, 20 min.

 

Location

Elephant Lounge, Roggenmarkt 15

 

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition

 

Cast

Mike Förster, Sebastiano Lo Medico, Petra Schwar, Markus Sparfeldt, Makiko Tanaka, Leonardo Teumner, Stefani Teumner

 

Extras

Ulla Bockhorn, Dorothée Degenhardt, Stephanie Heinrich, Jochen Hohmann, Hannelore Quick

 

Crew

Directed by: Benjamin de Burca, Bárbara Wagner • Executive producer: Michel Balagué • Production managers: Lejla Aliev, Jan Enste • Postproduction coordinator: Unai Rosende • Research assistant: Hannah Zipfel • Cinematographer: Pedro Sotero • 1st camera assistant: Maíra Iabrudi • 2nd camera assistant, lightning assistant: Jakob Reuter • Gaffer: Gunar Peters • Editor: Eric Ménard • Assistant editor: Mustafa Khalaf • Sound recording, design, and mixing: Gábor Ripli • Music producer: Jochen Hohmann (Starstreet Studio) • Piano: Jürgen Bleibel • Set assistant producer: Sabine Huzikiewiz • Art assistant, make-up, wardrobe: Jana-Kerima Stolzer • Lighting, grip, art assistant: Alexander Rütten • Drone operators: Dirk Lüttke-Harmann, Christopher Müller

 

Film locations

Botanical Gardens, St Clement Church, Theater Münster, Preussen Stadium, Grille Nightclub and WDR TV Studio Münster

Wagner / De Burca (Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin De Burca)

Bárbara Wagner: * 1980 in Brasília, Brazil, lives in Recife, Brazil

Benjamin de Burca: * 1975 in Munich, Germany, lives in Recife, Brazil

Bárbara Wagner and Benjamin de Burca analyse socio-economic relationships, on the basis, for example, of large urban development projects or specific phenomena from pop culture. After doing investigative research at the site in question, they produce—frequently together with the protagonists of the microcosm they portray—photographic and film formats that capture both documentary and fictional aspects.

For their project in Münster, Wagner and de Búrca have focused on schlager, a particular style of German pop music, and examined the historical and structural principles of this genre by means of music videos produced on location. The Elephant Lounge discotheque in Münster’s historic old town is the starting point for the investigation as well as the venue for the presentation of their video installation. Since 1974, the disco, which is tucked away in a passageway, has been catering to a broad group of people that spans the generations. Following the schlager boom of the 1950s, Germany’s Tin Pan Alley spent decades leading a successful niche existence. After its first renaissance in the 1990s, German pop music is currently experiencing another wave of new, more electronically tinged German-language music whose lyrics and aesthetic tastes are closely associated with the schlager model. Their external perspective enabled the artist duo, who live in Brazil, to view this development and its overall sociocultural context.

Prior to the project in Münster, Wagner and de Búrca took a close look at the brega scene and music industry in the city of Recife in northern Brazil. Tecno brega, which has become very successful in recent years, can be linked musically to the electronic pop culture of the 1980s, although the lyrics describe similarly theatrical visions of love, life, dreams, and sadness, strongly resembling those found in German schlager. Their 2016 film Estas vendo coisas portrays a few of the genre’s singers, dancers, and producers during recording sessions; in formal terms, it makes use of the music video genre, while at the same time deconstructing it.

In a city where cultural perception is often generated and advanced through so-called ‘highbrow’ culture, the post-war music genre of the schlager obviously strikes a certain nerve, which is mirrored in the music’s escapist qualities, catchy motifs, and easily understandable lyrics. The music videos were made on location in Münster and shot with the help of local producers and film crews.

Nico Anklam

Images

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Wagner / De Burca (Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin De Burca)

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Bye Bye Deutschland! Eine Lebensmelodie

2017

 

1-Kanal-Videoinstallation, 20 Min.

 

Standort

Elephant Lounge, Roggenmarkt 15

 

Temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Ausstellung

 

Darsteller

Mike Förster, Sebastiano Lo Medico, Petra Schwar, Markus Sparfeldt, Makiko Tanaka, Leonardo Teumner, Stefani Teumner

 

Statisten

Ulla Bockhorn, Dorothée Degenhardt, Stephanie Heinrich, Jochen Hohmann, Hannelore Quick

 

Filmteam

Regie: Benjamin de Burca, Bárbara Wagner • Ausführender Produzent: Michel Balagué • Produktionsleitung: Lejla Aliev, Jan Enste • Postproduktion: Unai Rosende • Recherche-Assistentin: Hannah Zipfel • Kinematograf: Pedro Sotero • Erste Kamera-Assistentin: Maíra IabrudiZweiter • Kamera- / Licht-Assistent: Jakob Reuter • Oberbeleuchter: Gunar Peters Schnitt: Eric Ménard • Schnitt-Assistent: Mustafa Khalaf • Ton: Gábor Ripli • Musik-Produktion: Jochen Hohmann (Starstreet Studio) • Piano: Jürgen Bleibel • Assistenz Aufnahmeleitung: Sabine Huzikiewiz • Make-up, Kostüm, künstlerische Assistentin: Jana-Kerima Stolzer • Licht-, Grip-, künstlerischer Assistent: Alexander Rütten • Drohnen-Operatoren: Dirk Lüttke-Harmann, Christopher Müller

 

Drehorte

Botanischer Garten, Clemenskirche, Theater Münster, Preußenstadium, Grille Nachtclub und WDR Studio Münster

Wagner / De Burca (Bárbara Wagner, Benjamin De Burca)

Bárbara Wagner: * 1980 in Brasília, Brasilien, lebt in Recife, Brasilien

Benjamin de Burca: * 1975 München, Deutschland, lebt in Recife, Brasilien

Bárbara Wagner und Benjamin de Burca untersuchen gesellschaftlich-ökonomische Zusammenhänge, etwa anhand von großen Stadtentwicklungsprojekten oder ausgehend von bestimmten popkulturellen Phänomenen. Nach investigativen Recherchen am jeweiligen Ort produzieren sie – häufig gemeinsam mit den Protagonist_innen des porträtierten Mikrokosmos – fotografische und filmische Formate, die dokumentarische wie fiktionale Züge aufweisen.

Für ihr Projekt in Münster nahmen Wagner und de Burca den deutschen Schlager in den Fokus und hinterfragen historische und strukturelle Prinzipien dieses Genres mittels vor Ort produzierter Musikvideos. Die Diskothek The Elephant Lounge in der Münsteraner Altstadt fungierte dabei sowohl als investigativer Ausgangspunkt wie auch als Präsentationsort ihrer Videoinstallation. Die versteckt in einer Passage gelegene Diskothek bedient seit 1974 ein breites, generationenübergreifendes Publikum. Nach dem Schlager-Boom der 1950er Jahre führte die Schlagerindustrie jahrzehntelang ein erfolgreiches Nischendasein. Nach einer ersten Renaissance in den 1990er Jahren erlebt der deutsche Pop momentan eine weitere Welle neuer, nun mehr elektronisch gefärbter deutschsprachiger Musik, deren Inhalte und Ästhetik an Schlagermuster anknüpfen. Die Außenperspektive ermöglichte dem in Brasilien lebenden Künstlerduo einen Blick auf diese Entwicklung und ihren gesellschaftlich-kulturellen Gesamtkontext.

Dem Projekt in Münster ist eine Beschäftigung mit der Brega-Szene und -Industrie in der im Norden Brasiliens gelegenen Stadt Recife vorausgegangen. Der unlängst sehr erfolgreiche Tecno-Brega orientiert sich musikalisch an der elektronischen Popkultur der 1980er Jahre, wobei die Liedtexte ähnlich theatralische Bilder von Liebe, Leben, Träumen und Traurigkeit umschreiben, die durchaus mit denen des deutschen Schlagers vergleichbar sind. Ihr Film Estas vendo coisas aus dem Jahr 2016 porträtiert einige Sänger_innen, Tänzer_innen und Produzenten der Szene in Aufnahmesituationen; formal bedient und dekonstruiert er das Genre Musikvideo zur selben Zeit.

In einer Stadt, deren Wahrnehmung oft über sogenannte Hochkultur generiert und befördert wird, trifft das Nachkriegsmusikgenre Schlager an Orten wie der Elephant Lounge offensichtlich einen bestimmten Nerv, der sich in den eskapistischen Qualitäten, eingängigen Motiven und der leicht verständlichen Sprache der Musik spiegelt. Die Musikvideos wurden vor Ort in Münster und mithilfe von ansässigen Produzent_innen und Teams gedreht.

 

Nico Anklam

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum