Sol LeWitt

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Concrete Blocks / Six Vertical Rows

1997

Six steles built of chalky sandstone blocks

300 x 200 x 120 cm

 

Location

Schlossplatz, lawn south of the southern gatehouse (AStA).

Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Sol LeWitt

 * 1928 in Hartford, Connecticut, USA

† 2007 in New York, USA

As in 1987, for this work Sol LeWitt delivered a project description and entrusted its execution to local craftsmen. “Here is a proposal for Münster. It is made of concrete blocks 20 x 20 x 40 cm (standard measure) consisting of six piles (120, 300, 160, 240, 140, 260 cm). They must be cemented together and it must be level, not painted.”1

Chalky sandstone blocks first began to appear in Sol LeWitt’s work in the mid-1980s. As a material it is cheap and available almost everywhere, as well as being easy to handle, even for unskilled labourers. The material together with LeWitt’s reduced formal vocabulary also allowed complex ideas to be brought about in outdoor contexts. Initially, LeWitt intended his brick-built sculptures to be given a coat of paint, which as with his metal sculptures was supposed to shift attention away from the material onto the form. At the close of the 1990s, however, he created a large series of works which were not painted. In contrast to the more extensive of these Irregular Progressions or Irregular Towers, which resemble the skylines of US American cities, his work for Münster was more subtle in appearance.2 Its location on a non-descript patch of lawn makes the sculpture seem quite desultory – maybe a response to the controversy surrounding Black Form in 1987.

 

Eckhard Kluth

1 Sol LeWitt, “Concrete Blocks / Six Vertical Rows”, in: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, p. 269.

2 Gary Garrels, Sol LeWitt. A Retrospective, exhib. cat. San Francisco Museum of Art, San Francisco, 2000, p. 307.

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Other Participation

This artist also participated in: 1987

Sol LeWitt

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Concrete Blocks / Six Vertical Rows [Betonblock / Sechs vertikale Reihen]

1997

Sechs Stelen aus gemauertem Kalksandstein

300 x 200 x 120 cm

 

Standort

Schlossplatz (bis 2012 noch Hindenburgplatz), Rasenfläche südlich des südlichen Torhäuschens (AStA), temporäre Aufstellung für die Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

Sol LeWitt

* 1928 in Hartford, Connecticut, USA

† 2007 in New York, USA

 

Wie schon 1987 reichte Sol LeWitt auch bei dieser Arbeit eine Projektbeschreibung ein und vertraute die Ausführung den ortsansässigen Handwerkern an: „Hier ist ein Vorschlag für Münster. Er wird gefertigt aus Industriestein in den Maßen 20 x 20 x 40 cm (Standardmaß), besteht aus sechs Türmen (120, 300, 160, 240, 140, 260 cm). Sie sollen nicht angestrichen und auf ebenem Untergrund gemauert werden.“1

Mitte der 1980er-Jahre tauchten erstmals Arbeiten aus Gasbetonsteinen im Werk LeWitts auf. Das Material lässt sich fast überall günstig beschaffen und kann auch von ungelernten Arbeitern verarbeitet werden. Auch komplexe Ideen ließen sich mit diesem Baustoff und dem reduzierten Formenvokabular LeWitts auf einfache Weise in den Außenraum transferieren. Anfangs sah LeWitt für diese gemauerten Skulpturen einen Anstrich vor, der wie bei seinen Metallskulpturen das Material gegenüber der Form in den Hintergrund drängen sollte. Ende der 1990er-Jahre entstand jedoch eine größere Gruppe von Arbeiten, bei denen er auf den Anstrich verzichtete. Wirken die umfangreicheren dieser Irregular Progressions oder Irregular Towers wie Skylines amerikanischer Städte, erschien die Arbeit für Münster bescheiden.2 Sie wirkte durch die Platzierung auf einer abseitigen Rasenfläche fast beiläufig – vielleicht ein Reflex auf die Auseinandersetzungen um Black Form aus dem Jahr 1987.

 

Eckhard Kluth

1 Sol LeWitt, „Cocrete Blocks / Six Vertical Rows“. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 269.

2 Gary Garrels (Hg.), Sol LeWitt. A Retrospective, Ausst.-Kat., San Francisco Museum of Art, San Francisco 2000, 307.

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum

Weitere Teilnahmen

Weitere Teilnahmen dieses Künstlers: 1987