Tobias Rehberger

Installation view 1997 © Courtesy Tobias Rehberger and Galerie Bärbel Grässlin, Frankfurt a.M. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997 © Courtesy Tobias Rehberger and Galerie Bärbel Grässlin, Frankfurt a.M. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Günter’s (wiederbeleuchtet) [Günter’s re-lit)]

1997

Installation/intervention

Outdoor design for a roof terrace: red synthetic carpet, red-varnished furniture, windows covered in white transparent paper and illuminated from the inside

 

Location

Lecture hall with roof terrace, Schlossplatz 46 (until 2012 still known as Hindenburgplatz), entrance from Bäckergasse.

Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Tobias Rehberger

* 1966 in Esslingen, Germany

lives and works in Frankfurt am Main, Germany 

For Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 Tobias Rehberger identified certain sites in Münster that he was interested in redefining by means of artistic intervention. His idea was to transform places that were barely used into vibrant social venues. Each of his three proposals included a temporary open-air bar.1 The artist was able to implement his final design for the roof terrace on top of the lecture hall at Schlossplatz 46.

Here he covered the concrete floor with red synthetic carpet and constructed a red-varnished counter that in the evenings doubled up as a DJ desk and a bar. The rooms of the building were brightly lit on the inside so that the goings-on on the terrace were bathed in atmospheric light radiating from the broad glazed front, especially on the upper floor.

Playing with form, function, art and design Rehberger reinterpreted a publicly known but unused space. Ultimately, his idea took shape thanks to the animated participation of people who visited Günter’s and brought the place alive, who perceived the roof terrace with its view of the palace and gave it visibility.

 

Daniel Friedt

 

 

1 Cf. three project proposals by Rehberger in: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, pp. 336–341. 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Tobias Rehberger

Installationsansicht 1997 © Courtesy Tobias Rehberger und Galerie Bärbel Grässlin, Frankfurt a.M. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 1997 © Courtesy Tobias Rehberger und Galerie Bärbel Grässlin, Frankfurt a.M. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Günter’s (wiederbeleuchtet)

1997

Installation/Intervention

Außenraumgestaltung einer Dachterrasse: roter Kunststoffteppich, rot lackiertes Mobiliar, von innen mit weißem Transparentpapier abgedeckte und beleuchtete Fenster des angrenzenden Gebäudeteiles

 

Standort

Hörsaalgebäude mit Dachterrasse, Schlossplatz 46 (bis 2012 noch Hindenburgplatz), am Zugang von der Bäckergasse, temporäre Einrichtung für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

 

Tobias Rehberger

* 1966 in Esslingen am Neckar, Deutschland

lebt und arbeitet in Frankfurt am Main, Deutschland

 

Für die Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 hatte sich Tobias Rehberger vorgenommen, ausgesuchte Orte in der Stadt durch gestalterische Intervention einer neuen Bestimmung zuzuführen. Die wenig beachteten Plätze wollte er zu Treffpunkten des pulsierenden sozialen Lebens transformieren. Seine drei Konzeptvorschläge beinhalteten alle eine temporäre Freiluft-Bar.1 Realisieren konnte der Künstler seinen letzten Entwurf auf der Dachterrasse des Hörsaalgebäudes am Schlossplatz 46.

Auf der Betonfläche verlegte er einen roten Kunststoffteppich und stellte einen rot lackierten Tresen auf, der abends als Bar und DJ-Pult diente. Dann waren die Innenräume hell ausgeleuchtet, sodass die breiten Glasfronten, vor allem jene im Obergeschoss das Geschehen auf der Terrasse in stimmungsvolles Licht tauchten.

Rehberger interpretierte mithilfe von Form, Funktion, Kunst und Design einen bekannten, aber von niemandem genutzten Raum neu. Seine Idee nahm dank der regen Teilnahme von Menschen, die das Günter’s besuchten und die Dachterrasse mit Blick auf das Schloss belebten, wahrnahmen und wahrnehmbar machten, Form an.

 

Daniel Friedt

 

1 Vgl. die drei Projektvorschläge von Rehberger in: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 336–341. 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum