Marie-Ange Guilleminot

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Le Paravent [The Screen]

1997

Participatory installation

Circular wooden screen made of stainless steel, teak and textiles, personnel for massages (six professional reflexologists at any time), visitors

Diameter: 370 cm; height: 210 cm

 

Location

Courtyard of Theater Münster (Münster City Theatre, at that time still called Städtische Bühnen Münster), Neubrückenstrasse 63.

Temporary installation and operation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Massage treatment available at the following times (in case of rain Le Paravent is not in operation):

21.6.1997, 4–5 p.m.

22.–29.6.1997, 2–3 p.m. and 6–7 p.m.

30.6–6.7.1997, 6–7 p.m.

(7.–25.7.1997: for viewing only)

26.–27.7.1997, 6–7 p.m.

2.–3.8.1997, 6–7 p.m.

9.–10.8.1997, 6–7 p.m.

16.–17.8.1997, 6–7 p.m.

 

Owner

Centre d’arts plastiques contemporains de Bordeaux / On permanent loan from the artist

 

Marie-Ange Guilleminot

* 1960 in Saint-Germain-en-Lays, France

lives and works in Paris, France

Outdoors in the courtyard of Münster city theatre, between the glass façade and the incorporated remains of the historic façade of Romberger Hof, a Baroque aristocratic residence, Marie-Ange Guilleminot erected a twelve-sided circular screen made of teak. Each wall section of the screen had a round aperture that was fitted with a light beige knitted garment shaped like a sleeve. Folding chairs arranged around the screen were an invitation to passers-by to sit down and insert their feet into the structure’s interior. Inside, seated on wooden flooring, trained reflexologists were waiting to massage the feet of their unseen vis-à-vis.

Marie-Ange Guilleminot conceived this participatory performance installation with a sense of eager expectation. She described her concept thus: “There are reflex areas in the foot. These areas are like an aircraft’s instrument panel, they provide testimony in regard to what’s happening inside your body. One can act on the body by acting on the foot. What interests me about the screen is the ability to touch someone in a way that’s never been tried.”1

Visitors were also able to echo this impulse of curiosity from the outside by spontaneously letting themselves in for unpredictable moments of physical human contact. Since Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 the artist has shown Le Paravent in various locations around the world, while continuing to create new accompanying actions and performances.2

 

Daniel Friedt

 

1 Marie-Ange Guilleminot, “Le Paravent (The Screen)”. Available online at: www.skulptur-projekte.de/skulptur-projekte-download/muenster/97/guille/index.htm →Konzept (last accessed: 14.06.2017).

2 Institutions to have held exhibitions of her work include: Centre d’arts plastiques contemporains de Bordeaux (CAPC), Bordeaux, 1998; Musée national d’art moderne Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris, 2000; Contemporary Arts Center, Cincinnati, 2005.

 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Marie-Ange Guilleminot

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 1997 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Le Paravent [Der Wandschirm]

1997

Partizipative Installation

Holzparavent aus rostfreiem Stahl, Teakholz und Textilien, Personal für die Massage (je sechs Massagefachkräfte), Besucher_innen

Durchmesser: 370 cm, Höhe: 210 cm

 

Standort

Innenhof des Theaters Münster (damals noch Städtische Bühnen Münster), Neubrückenstraße 63, temporäre Aufstellung und Durchführung während der Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

Massagebehandlungen an folgenden Terminen (bei Regen konnte der Paravent nicht genutzt werden):

21.6.1997, 16–17 Uhr

22.–29.6.1997, 14–15 Uhr und 18–19 Uhr

30.6.–6.7.1997, 18–19 Uhr

(7.–25.7.1997 nur Besichtigung)

26.–27.7.1997, 18–19 Uhr

2.–3.8.1997, 18–19 Uhr

9.–10.8.1997, 18–19 Uhr

16.–17.8.1997, 18–19 Uhr

 

Eigentümer

Centre d’arts plastiques contemporains de Bordeaux / Dauerleihgabe der Künstlerin

 

Marie-Ange Guilleminot

* 1960 in Saint-Germain-en-Lays, Frankreich

lebt und arbeitet in Paris, Frankreich

 

Im Innenhof des Münsteraner Stadttheaters, unter freiem Himmel zwischen der Glasfassade und den dort integrierten Resten der Fassade des Romberger Hofes, eines Adelspalais, stellte Marie-Ange Guilleminot einen zwölfteiligen Wandschirm aus Teakholz auf. Die Wandelemente des Paravents besaßen runde Öffnungen, die mit hellbeigen, schlauchförmigen Strickstoffen verhängt waren. Klappstühle luden Passanten ein, sich zu setzen und ihre Füße in den Innenraum zu strecken. Dort wartete auf dem mit Holz ausgelegten Boden Fachpersonal darauf, dem unsichtbaren Gegenüber die Füße zu massieren.

Marie-Ange Guilleminot konzipierte die partizipative Aktionsinstallation mit einer neugierigen Erwartungshaltung und erläuterte zum Konzept: „Im Fuß gibt es Reflexzonen. Diese Zonen sind wie das Armaturenbrett eines Flugzeugs, sie geben Auskunft darüber, was in deinem Körper passiert. Man kann auf den Körper einwirken, indem man auf den Fuß einwirkt. Was mich an dem Paravent interessiert, ist die Möglichkeit, jemanden auf eine Art zu berühren, die noch nie erprobt worden ist.“1

Auch die Besucher_innen konnten diese Neugier von außen widerspiegeln, wenn sie sich spontan auf die unerwarteten zwischenmenschlichen Berührungen einließen. Seit den Skulptur. Projekten in Münster 1997 stellt die Künstlerin Le Paravent weltweit aus und entwirft dazu neue Aktionen und Performances.2

 

Daniel Friedt

1 Marie-Ange Guilleminot, „Le Paravent (Der Wandschirm). Online unter: www.skulptur-projekte.de/skulptur-projekte-download/muenster/97/guille/index.htm →Konzept (Stand 8.6.2017).

2 Ausstellungen fanden beispielsweise statt in: Bordeaux, Centre d’arts plastiques contemporains de Bordeaux (CAPC) 1998; Paris, Musée national d’art moderne Centre Georges Pompidou 2000; Cincinnati, Contemporary Arts Center 2005.

 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum