Franz West

Etude de couleur [Colour Study], 1991, Installation view 1997 © Archiv Franz West. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Etude de couleur [Colour Study], 1991, Installation view 1997 © Archiv Franz West. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Autostat, 1996, Installation view 1997 © Archiv Franz West. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Autostat, 1996, Installation view 1997 © Archiv Franz West. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Warum ist etwas und nicht Nichts? [Why is Something and not Nothing?]

Three-part exhibition project, comprising two works in Münster and one work on the outskirts of Stronsdorf, near Laa an der Thaya, Austria

 

Location

Northern Promenade, east of the Promenade / Am Kreuztor crossroad.

Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Etude de couleur [Colour Study]

1991

Installation

Copper piping, brass, lead, hosepipe, polyester

156 x 212 x 85 cm (urinal with privacy screen) and 13 x 100 x 1600 cm (walkway)

Autostat

1996

Sculpture made of sheet steel, painted pink, over an iron frame

160 x 460 x 100 cm

 

 

 

Franz West

* 1947 in Vienna, Austria

† 2012 in Vienna

 

For his second appearance at Skulptur Projekte, Franz West exhibited two already existing works near a pond along Promenadenring. Autostat, a sculpture of welded sheet steel painted a pale pink, was located on the eastern bank, where it stood out strikingly amidst the greenery. West installed Etude de couleur on the opposite bank, above the existing artificial waterfall. Its privacy screen of brightly-coloured synthetic panels appeared to allow men to urinate into the water. A 16-metre-long walkway made of colourful sheets of polyester led up to the free-standing “toilet facility”.

Autostat was the first work by West to pursue a primarily aesthetic approach. Originally created for a car manufacturer in 1996, the bulky, hollow sculpture was reworked and enlarged for Münster, where West placed it in a dialogue with its park-like surroundings and with an object that had the character of a functional and participative work. The constellation reflected the two opposite poles – utility value and sculptural autonomy – in West’s oeuvre.

The works exhibited at Münster under the overarching conceptual title Warum ist etwas und nicht Nichts? (Why is Something and not Nothing?) were directly related to a third sculpture in Austria. With its amorphous oval body painted pink, this sculpture – lying on the verge at the intersection of two single-track roads in the open countryside – resembles the work Autostat.1 West explained that, for him, the exhibition – happening at the same time, but geographically far apart – of three mutually related works under the same title represented penetrance “as a motif of multiplication”.2

 

Daniel Friedt

1 On this project, see also the entry on Franz West, Skulptur am Ortsrand von Stronsdorf published by the Department of Art and Culture, Lower Austrian Government. Online (in German) at: www.publicart.at/home.php?pnr=374&il=12&l=deu&weiter=0 (last accessed: 18.5.2017). A link to a short documentary video about the work can also be found on this page.

2 Franz West, “Warum ist etwas und nicht Nichts?”, in: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.) Sculpture. Projects in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, pp. 440–445, here p. 445.

Images

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Other Participation

This artist also participated in: 1987

Franz West

Etude de couleur, 1991, Installationsansicht 1997 © Archiv Franz West. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Etude de couleur, 1991, Installationsansicht 1997 © Archiv Franz West. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Autostat, 1996, Installationsansicht 1997 © Archiv Franz West. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Autostat, 1996, Installationsansicht 1997 © Archiv Franz West. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Warum ist etwas und nicht Nichts?

Dreiteiliges Ausstellungsprojekt, davon zwei Arbeiten in Münster, eine Arbeit bei Stronsdorf in der Nähe von Laa an der Thaya, Österreich

 

Standort

Nördliche Promenade, östlich der Kreuzung Promenade / Am Kreuztor, temporäre Aufstellung für die Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Etude de couleur [Farbstudie]

1991

Installation

Verwendete Materialien und Gegenstände: Kupferrohr, Messing, Blei, Schlauch, Polyester

156 x 212 x 85 cm (Pissoir mit Sichtschutz) und 13 x 100 x 1600 cm (Steg)

Autostat

1996

Skulptur aus einem Eisengerüst, Stahlblech, rosa Lack

160 x 460 x 100 cm

 

 

 

 

Franz West

* 1947 in Wien, Österreich

† 2012 in Wien

Bei seiner zweiten Teilnahme an den Skulptur Projekten stellte Franz West zwei bereits bestehende Arbeiten nahe einem Teich am Promenadenring aus. Das östliche Teichufer nahm die aus zusammengeschweißten Stahlblechen bestehende Skulptur Autostat auf, deren hellrosa Lackierung auffällig im Grünen hervorstach. Auf der gegenüberliegenden Seite installierte West Etude de couleur über dem dort vorhandenen künstlichen Wasserfall. Ein Sichtschutz aus grellbunten Kunststoffflächen schien Männern das Urinieren in das Gewässer zu erlauben. Ein 16 Meter langer, aus farbigen Polyesterplatten belegter Steg führte zu der frei stehenden vermeintlichen Toilettenanlage.

Autostat war Wests erste Arbeit, die primär einen ästhetischen Ansatz verfolgte. Die 1996 ursprünglich für einen Automobilhersteller entworfene klobige Hohlform überarbeitete und vergrößerte West für Münster und stellte sie in einen Dialog mit der parkähnlichen Umgebung und einem Objekt mit funktionalem und partizipatorischem Werkcharakter. Die Szene spiegelte die beiden Gegenpole – Gebrauchswert und skulpturale Autonomie – in Wests Schaffen wider.

Die in Münster unter dem übergeordneten Konzepttitel Warum ist etwas und nicht Nichts? aufgestellten Arbeiten standen in direktem Bezug zu einer dritten Skulptur in Österreich. Diese auf dem Rasen an einer Kreuzung zweier Feldwege liegende Skulptur ähnelte mit ihrem amorphen, rosa lackierten Ovalkörper der Arbeit Autostat.1 West erläuterte, dass er „Penetranz als Motiv der Vervielfachung“ für die weit voneinander entfernte, parallele Ausstellung dreier aufeinander bezogener Werke verstand.2

 

Daniel Friedt

 

 

1 Zum Projekt siehe auch den Eintrag des Amtes der Niederösterreichischen Landesregierung, Abt. Kunst und Kultur, zu Franz West[,] Skulptur am Ortsrand von Stronsdorf. Online unter: www.publicart.at/home.php?pnr=374&il=12&l=deu&weiter=0 (Stand: 4.5.2017). Zu der Arbeit gibt es dort außerdem eine knappe Videodokumentation.

2 Franz West, „Warum ist etwas und nicht Nichts?“. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, S. 445.

 

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum

Weitere Teilnahmen

Weitere Teilnahmen dieses Künstlers: 1987