Ayşe Erkmen

Happening 1997.  © Ayşe Erkmen. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Happening 1997. © Ayşe Erkmen. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Sculptures on Air

1997

An action staged twice that was originally planned to take place distinctly more often.

Various ecclesiastical sculptures from the 15th–17th centuries from the holdings of the Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster

 

Location

Airspace above the centre of Münster, roof of the historic section of the Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, and the museum depot in Drensteinfurt

Ayşe Erkmen

* 1949 in Istanbul, Turkey

lives and works in Berlin, Germany, and Istanbul, Turkey

Having seen three proposals for projects intended for the western façade of St. Paulus Cathedral turned down, Ayşe Erkmen circumvented the need for permission from the cathedral chapter with Sculptures on Air, which used the airspace over the city as its sphere of action. This still allowed her to make explicit reference to the cathedral and the surrounding urban space.

To perform the action a helicopter flew tours above the cathedral with ecclesiastical sculptures from the museum collection suspended on ropes. Subsequently the sculptures were lowered onto the roof of the historic section of the museum opposite. As Ayşe Erkmen wrote in her project description, “The sculpture will stand there overlooking Domplatz, until the next sculpture arrives to take its place.”1 The action also served as a commentary on the foregoing dialogue between the church and the museum.

On 22 June 1997 the helicopter flew as planned above the cathedral bearing the sculptures and once again incurred the displeasure of the cathedral chapter. The reason was a Holy Mass that overran its schedule, hence the helicopter’s overflight at the same time was felt to be a great disturbance. This prompted a legal dispute between the cathedral chapter and the museum, reflecting the debate about public and ecclesiastical space and questions of territorial hierarchy.

Ronja Primke

Ayşe Erkmen, “Fourth project: Sculptures on the Air”, in: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, p. 149.

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Other Participation

This artist also participated in: 2017

Ayşe Erkmen

Aktion 1997.  © Ayşe Erkmen. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Aktion 1997. © Ayşe Erkmen. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Sculptures on Air [Skulpturen in der Luft]

1997

Aktion, die zweimal stattgefunden hat, ursprünglich jedoch deutlich häufiger geplant war.

Verschiedene Sakralskulpturen des 15.–17. Jahrhunderts aus den Beständen des Westfälischen Landesmuseums für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster

 

Standort

Luftraum über der Münsteraner Innenstadt, Dach des Altbaus des Westfälischen Landesmuseums für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Museumsdepot in Drensteinfurt

Ayşe Erkmen

* 1949 in Istanbul, Türkei

lebt und arbeitet in Berlin, Deutschland, und Istanbul, Türkei

Nach drei abgelehnten Projektvorschlägen, die für das Westwerk des St.-Paulus-Doms geplant waren, umging Ayşe Erkmen mit den Sculptures on Air einer weiteren Ablehnung durch das Domkapitel, indem sie den Luftraum als Aktionsradius nutzte. Damit konnte sich das Projekt dennoch explizit auf den Dom und den umgebenden städtischen Raum beziehen.

Für die Aktion kreiste ein Hubschrauber mit angehängten Sakralskulpturen aus dem Museumsdepot über dem Dom. Anschließend wurden die Skulpturen auf dem gegenüberliegenden Dach des historischen Museumstraktes abgesetzt. „Die Skulptur wird dort stehenbleiben und den Domplatz überblicken, bis die nächste Skulptur eintrifft, um ihren Platz einzunehmen“,1 schrieb Ayşe Erkmen in ihrer Projektskizze. Dies war auch ein Kommentar zu dem vorangegangenen Dialog zwischen Kirche und Museum.

Am Morgen des 22. Juni 1997 überflog der Hubschrauber mit den Skulpturen wie geplant den Dom und zog damit erneut den Unmut des Domkapitels auf sich. Denn eine heilige Messe hatte viel länger gedauert als angekündigt, weshalb der gleichzeitige Hubschrauberflug als massive Störung empfunden wurde. Danach entfachte sich ein langwieriger Rechtsstreit zwischen Domkapitel und Museum, der die Debatte um öffentlichen und kirchlichen Raum sowie territoriale Hierarchien widerspiegelte.

Ronja Primke

Ayşe Erkmen, „Viertes Projekt: Sculptures on the Air“. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kaspar König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 149.

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden

Weitere Teilnahmen

Weitere Teilnahmen dieses Künstlers: 2017