Ayşe Erkmen

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

On Water

2017

 

Installation

Ocean cargo containers, steel beams, steel grates

 

Dimensions

6400 × 640 cm walkway

 

Location

Stadthafen 1

North side: Hafenweg 24, South side: Am Mittelhafen 20

 

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition

 

Ayşe Erkmen

* 1949 in Istanbul, Turkey

lives in Berlin, Germany and Istanbul, Turkey

Ayse Erkmen’s site-specific interventions call our attention to things that are overlooked, presenting what would otherwise remain hidden. She interferes with pre-existing structures and alters their functions or operational processes, revealing, at the very least, an unusual if not completely new view of something familiar.

For Skulptur Projekte 2017, Erkmen selected Münster’s inland harbour as her location. Just below the surface of the water between the bustling Nordkai (northern pier) and the industrialized Südkai (southern pier) she installed a jetty that links the two riverbanks. It created the impression that visitors are walking on water. In that sense, they became visible actors on Erkmen’s stage. In addition, the artist pointed out problems of a sociological and city-planning nature: How are borders drawn on maps, and how is sociocultural access achieved on the drawing board? How can existing hurdles be overcome, both physically and metaphorically?

Within Erkmen’s oeuvre, the concepts of transportation, relocation, and displacement keep manifesting themselves anew. For example, during Skulptur Projekte 1997 she set objects from the collection at the Landesmuseum in motion in a very unusual manner when she had them circle above the city with a helicopter. Her plans for an intervention at St Paul’s Cathedral had been rejected, so Erkmen made use of the airspace above it, which she was permitted to use. For her contribution this year she creates a pathway which wasn’t intended as part of Münster’s urban structure and deals once again with water, an element that frequently appears in her work. At the 54th Venice Biennale in 2011, she had a water treatment facility installed in the city, entitled Plan B. Her piece Shipped Ships was also specifically related to waterways: in 2001 she arranged for passenger ferries rented from Japan, Italy, and Turkey to carry local residents, turning the river Main in Frankfurt into a possible means of getting about in the city.

The courses of rivers have often been used on political maps as a possible place to draw borders, while waterways and man-made canals served as starting points and catalysts for urban development. Accordingly, waterways have had an ambiguous place in the processes of civilization, representing either possibility or restriction. Erkem not only mirrored this divide in her piece for Skulptur Projekte 2017, she literally bridged it. In addition to that, her jetty consisted of sunken containers which are normally used to transport goods on ships on the surface of the water. The municipal harbour of the Dortmund-Ems Canal, which is rarely used by ships became accessible on foot to Münster’s residents and visitors, thus linking two separate urban spaces that were previously separated by the harbour basin—using a water bridge rather than a land bridge.

 

Nico Anklam

Images

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Other Participation

This artist also participated in: 1997

Ayşe Erkmen

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

On Water [Über Wasser]

2017

 

Installation

Seefracht-Container, Stahlträger, Gitterroste

 

Maße

6400 × 640 cm Lauffläche

 

Standort

Stadthafen 1

Nordseite: Hafenweg 24,  Südseite: Am Mittelhafen 20

 

Temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Ausstellung

 

Ayşe Erkmen

* 1949 Istanbul, Türkei

lebt in Berlin, Deutschland und Istanbul, Türkei

Ayşe Erkmens ortsbezogene Interventionen lenken das Augenmerk auf Übersehenes und stellen aus, was sonst verdeckt bliebe. Sie greift in gegebene Strukturen ein und verändert Funktionen oder Abläufe, wodurch sich mindestens ein ungewohnter, wenn nicht ein gänzlich neuer Blick auf Bekanntes eröffnet.

Für die Skulptur Projekte 2017 wählte Erkmen den Binnenhafen als Standort. Zwischen dem stark frequentierten Nordkai und dem eher industriell geprägten Südkai installierte sie knapp unter der Wasseroberfläche einen Steg, der beide Ufer miteinander verband. Es entstand der Eindruck, die Besucher_innen würden über das Wasser laufen. Sie wurden dabei zu sichtbaren Akteur_innen auf einer von Erkmen inszenierten Bühne. Darüber hinaus beleuchtete die Künstlerin Probleme soziologischer und stadtplanerischer Art: Wie werden Grenzen auf Landkarten gezogen und soziokulturelle Zugänglichkeit auf dem Reißbrett geregelt? Wie können einmal gebaute Hürden physisch und metaphorisch überwunden werden?

Innerhalb des Werkes von Erkmen manifestiert sich das Transportieren, Relokalisieren und Verschieben immer wieder neu. So brachte sie während der Skulptur Projekte 1997 Sammlungsobjekte des Landesmuseums auf ungewöhnliche Weise in Bewegung, als sie diese mit einem Hubschrauber über der Stadt kreisen ließ. Damals waren Vorschläge für eine Intervention am St.-Paulus-Dom abgelehnt worden, und so nutzte Erkmen den genehmigungsfreien Luftraum. Für ihren diesjährigen Beitrag bietet sie einen im Gefüge der Stadt nicht vorgesehenen Weg an und beschäftigt sich ferner mit dem in ihren Arbeiten häufig auftauchenden Element Wasser. Für die 54. Biennale von Venedig ließ sie 2011 unter dem Titel Plan B. eine Wasseraufbereitungsanlage in der italienischen Lagunenstadt installieren. Ihr Werk Shipped Ships hatte ebenfalls einen konkreten Bezug zu Wasserwegen: 2001 konnten die Bewohner_innen Frankfurts den Main mittels angemieteten Personenfähren aus Japan, Italien und der Türkei erstmals als Transportweg nutzen.

Flussläufe fungierten auf politischen Karten oft als Möglichkeit der Grenzziehung, Wasserwege und menschengemachte Kanäle dagegen als Ausgangspunkte und Katalysatoren für urbane Entwicklung. Wasserläufe zeichnen sich dementsprechend durch eine zivilisatorische Ambivalenz zwischen Möglichkeit und Beschränkung aus, die Erkmen in ihrem Beitrag für die Skulptur Projekte 2017 nicht nur spiegelte, sondern im Wortsinn überbrückte. Ihr Steg bestand zudem aus versenkten Cargo-Containern, jenen Behältern also, die normalerweise zum Transport von Gütern oberhalb der Wasseroberfläche auf Schiffen vorgesehen sind. Der von der Schifffahrt wenig benutzte Stadthafen des Dortmund-Ems-Kanals wurde für die Bewohner_innen und Besucher_innen Münsters per pedes erschließbar, und Erkmen verband damit zwei zuvor durch das Hafenbecken getrennte urbane Räume – nicht durch eine Land-, sondern durch eine Wasserbrücke.

 

Nico Anklam

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum

Weitere Teilnahmen

Weitere Teilnahmen dieses Künstlers: 1997