Maurizio Cattelan

Installation view 1997. © Courtesy Maurizio Cattelan's Archive. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997. © Courtesy Maurizio Cattelan's Archive. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997. © Courtesy Maurizio Cattelan's Archive. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 1997. © Courtesy Maurizio Cattelan's Archive. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

“Love Saves Life” (Die Bremer Stadtmusikanten I) [The Town Musicians of Bremen I]

1995

Sculpture

Four stuffed animals (donkey, dog, cat, chicken)

190.5 x 120.5 x 59.5 cm

 

Location

Historic section of the Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte. Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Owner

City of Bremen, since 2002 on loan to the Kunsthalle Bremen

“Love Lasts Forever” (Die Bremer Stadtmusikanten II) [The Town Musicians of Bremen II]

1997

Sculpture

Four animal skeletons (donkey, dog, cat, chicken)

210 x 120 x 60 cm

 

Location

Historic section of the Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte. Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Owner

City of Bremen, since 2002 on loan to the Kunsthalle Bremen

Out of the Blue

 

1997

 

Installation

Clothed latex doll with a female form

Height: 186 cm

 

Location

Aasee lake, beneath the Goldene Brücke
Temporary installation for the duration of Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Simplicius Simplicissimus, Impossibile

1997

21 stories by Francesco Bonami based on an idea of Maurizio Cattelan, illustrated by Edda Köchl

21 texts, colour illustrations

Featured in the exhibition catalogue for Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Maurizio Cattelan

* 1960 in Padua, Italy

lives and works in New York, USA, and Milan, Italy

 

 Maurizio Cattelan’s contribution to Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 consisted of four works that explored the theme of how legends take shape. In the Westfälisches Landesmuseum the Italian artist presented two sculptures related to the German fairytale of the Town Musicians of Bremen, quoting the image of the animal pyramid from twin perspectives. In his 1995 version the animals were stuffed; the later version made expressly for Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 consisted only of skeletons. The titles made an ironic play on the power and endurance of friendship evoked in the fairytale.1

For Out of the Blue Cattelan sunk an artificial female corpse in Aasee lake. The project proposal stipulated that the dummy should float so close to the water’s surface that unsuspecting tourists out rowing on the lake might inadvertently bump into it. As Cattelan intended, the work swiftly spawned legend: rumours about the purported corpse instantly spread. Since the dummy sank quickly visitors soon began wondering whether it had actually ever existed.2

Cattelan’s fourth piece for Münster was based on project proposals for Skulptur Projekte submitted in 1977, 1987 and 1997 that were never carried out. Commissioned by the artist, the art critic and curator Francesco Bonami wrote 21 stories about people who participated in the exhibition or others who did not. To create the impression of an anthology of fairytales the stories were illustrated with drawings in the style of children’s books.3 The texts reproduced in the exhibition catalogue conflate facts and hearsay about tragicomic legends that frequently end in disaster. Similar to Hans Jakob Christoffel von Grimmelshausen’s picaresque novel, from which this work derived its title, Cattelan set out to disenchant his readers. Yet his ironic depiction also underscored the humorous nature of his contribution.

 

Sarah Kristin Happersberger

1 Cf. Francesco Monacorda, Maurizio Cattelan, Milan, 2006, pp. 30, 54; and Diana Kamin, “Love Saves Life. Love Lasts Forever”, in: Nancy Spector (ed.), Maurizio Cattelan – All, exhib. cat. Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, 2011, pp. 200f.

2 Cf. Maurizio Cattelan, “Out of the Blue”, in: Klaus Bussmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, exhib. cat. Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit, 1997, p. 88; Nancy Spector, “Duality and Death”, in: Nancy Spector (ed.), op. cit., p. 80; Katherine Brinson, “Untitled”, in: ibid., p. 214.

3 Cf. Maurizio Cattelan, “Simplicius Simplicissimus, Impossibile”, in: Klaus Bussmann, Kasper König and Florian Matzner (eds.), op. cit., p. 88

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Maurizio Cattelan

Installataionsansicht 1997. © Courtesy Maurizio Cattelan's Archive. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installataionsansicht 1997. © Courtesy Maurizio Cattelan's Archive. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installataionsansicht 1997. © Courtesy Maurizio Cattelan's Archive. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installataionsansicht 1997. © Courtesy Maurizio Cattelan's Archive. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

„Love Saves Life“ [Liebe rettet Leben] (Die Bremer Stadtmusikanten I)

1995

Skulptur

Vier Tierpräparate (Esel, Hund, Katze, Huhn)

190,5 x 120,5 x 59,5 cm

 

Standort

Altbau des Westfälischen Landesmuseums für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Eigentümer

Freie Hansestadt Bremen, seit 2002 als Leihgabe in der Kunsthalle Bremen

„Love Lasts Forever“ [Liebe hält ewig] (Die Bremer Stadtmusikanten II)

1997

Skulptur

Vier Tierskelette (Esel, Hund, Katze, Huhn)

210 x 120 x 60 cm

 

Standort

Altbau des Westfälischen Landesmuseums für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Eigentümer

Freie Hansestadt Bremen, seit 2002 als Leihgabe in der Kunsthalle Bremen

Out of the Blue [Aus heiterem Himmel]

1997

Installation

Bekleidete Latexpuppe in Frauengestalt

Höhe: 186 cm

 

Standort

Aasee, unterhalb der Goldenen Brücke, temporäre Installation für die Dauer der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

Simplicius Simplicissimus, Impossibile

1997

21 Geschichten von Francesco Bonami nach einer Idee von Maurizio Cattelan, illustriert von Edda Köchl

21 Texte, farbige Illustrationen

Beitrag im Ausstellungskatalog der Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997

 

Maurizio Cattelan

* 1960 in Padua, Italien

lebt und arbeitet in New York, USA, und Mailand, Italien

 

Maurizio Cattelans Beitrag zu den Skulptur. Projekten in Münster 1997 bestand aus vier Werken, die sich mit Legendenbildungen auseinandersetzten. Im Westfälischen Landesmuseum präsentierte der italienische Künstler zwei Skulpturen, die sich auf das Volksmärchen Die Bremer Stadtmusikanten bezogen und die Tierpyramide auf zweischneidige Weise zitierten. In der Version aus dem Jahr 1995 waren die Tiere ausgestopft, die spätere, eigens für die Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997 geschaffene Fassung bestand nur noch aus Skeletten. Die Titel nahmen ironisch auf die im Märchen beschworene Kraft und Dauer der Freundschaft Bezug.1

Für Out of the Blue versenkte Cattelan eine künstliche Frauenleiche im Aasee. Dem Projektvorschlag zufolge sollte die Puppe so dicht unter der Wasseroberfläche schwimmen, dass nichtsahnende Tourist_innen im Ruderboot darauf hätten stoßen können. Die von Cattelan intendierte Legendenbildung um die Leiche nahm umgehend ihren Lauf, denn die Puppe sank rasch und die Besucher_innen fragten sich, ob sie tatsächlich existiert habe.2

Cattelans vierte Arbeit für Münster basierte auf nicht realisierten Werkvorschlägen für die Skulptur Projekte 1977, 1987 und 1997. Im Auftrag des Künstlers verfasste der Kunstkritiker und Kurator Francesco Bonami 21 Geschichten, in die Erzählungen von beteiligten und unbeteiligten Personen einflossen. Um den Eindruck einer Märchensammlung zu evozieren, wurden die Geschichten mit Zeichnungen im Stil von Kinderbüchern illustriert.3 Diese im Ausstellungskatalog abgedruckten Texte verdichten Fakten und Gerüchte zu tragikomischen Legenden, die häufig in Katastrophen enden. Analog zu Hans Jakob Christoffel von Grimmelshausens Schelmenroman, dem diese Arbeit den Titel entlieh, desillusionierte Cattelan die Leser_innen. Durch seine ironische Darstellung betonte er jedoch zugleich auch den humoristischen Charakter seines Beitrages.

 

Sarah Kristin Happersberger

 

1 Vgl. Francesco Manacorda, Maurizio Cattelan, Mailand 2006, 30, 54 sowie Diana Kamin, „Love Saves Life, Love Lasts Forever. In: Nancy Spector (Hg.): Maurizio Cattelan – All, Ausst.-Kat. The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York 2011, 200–201.

2 Vgl. Maurizio Cattelan, „Out of the Blue“. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 88; Nancy Spector, „Duality and Death“. In: Nancy Spector (Hg.): Maurizio Cattelan – All, Ausst.-Kat. The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York 2011, 80 sowie Katherine Brinson, „Untitled“. In: ebd., 214.

3 Vgl. Maurizio Cattelan, „Simplicius Simplicissimus, Impossibile“. In: Klaus Bußmann, Kasper König und Florian Matzner (Hg.), Skulptur. Projekte in Münster 1997, Ausst.-Kat.: Westfälisches Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Ostfildern-Ruit 1997, 88.

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum