Suchan Kinoshita

Installation view 2007 © Courtesy the artist and Ellen de Bruijne Projects. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 2007 © Courtesy the artist and Ellen de Bruijne Projects. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Chinese Whispers

2007

Installation

Five loudspeakers, three amplifiers, external microphone, headphones, blinds, computer programme Magix Music Studio

 

Location

Showroom of the Handwerkskammer (Chamber of Trade), Bismarckallee 1, entrance via the car park. Installation for the duration of the exhibition skulptur projekte münster 07

 

Suchan Kinoshita

* 1960 in Tokyo, Japan

lives and works in Brussels, Belgium, and Münster, Germany

The children’s game “Chinese Whispers” – aka “Stille Post” (silent post) in German, “Téléphone Arabe” in French and “Telephon Maqtoa” (broken phone) in Arabic – acts as a point of reference and the title for this work by Suchan Kinoshita. A secret message is whispered by one player to the next, and as it passes along it undergoes a number of minor changes that magnify down the line. The game is way of directly and subtly experiencing the fragility of communication. Inter-subjective comprehension verges on serendipity.

Kinoshita transformed this children’s game into a self-referential experiment in which the game situation was supplemented by different technical recording situations. But the technical set-up should not be equated with a neutral observer. Instead, it contributed additional “noise” and “distortion”. The recordings were not a means of objectively monitoring the communication process. Rather, as further components of the process needing to be deciphered they compounded the existing experimental arrangement, themselves acting as agents of transformation and interpretation. In consequence, further misunderstandings were inevitable.

The sources for the messages Kinoshita used were magazines and writings by a variety of philosophers and theoretical linguists, supplemented by gratuitous neologisms, inventions and arbitrary disruptions by the speakers. Eventually, the finished recordings were played to visitors in the ambient of the Chamber of Trade showroom. Inside the space they were on public display as contemplative listeners, as if acting out an interpretation of Marshall McLuhan’s dictum “The medium is the massage”.

 

Thorsten Schneider

 

Images

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Suchan Kinoshita

Installationsansicht 2007 © Courtesy the artist und Ellen de Bruijne Projects. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 2007 © Courtesy the artist und Ellen de Bruijne Projects. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Chinese Whispers [Stille Post]

2007

Installation

Fünf Lautsprecher, drei Verstärker, Außenmikrofon, Kopfhörer, Jalousien, Computerprogramm „Magix Music Studio“

 

Standort

Schauraum der Handwerkskammer, Bismarckallee 1, Eingang über dem Parkplatz, Installation für die Dauer der Ausstellung der skulptur projekte münster 07

 

Suchan Kinoshita

* 1960 in Tokio, Japan

lebt und arbeitet in Brüssel, Belgien, und Münster, Deutschland

 

Das Kinderspiel „Stille Post“, im englischen Sprachraum unter dem Namen „Chinese Whispers“, im Französischen als „Téléphone arabe“ und im Arabischen wiederum als „Telephon Maqtoa“ bekannt, fungiert als titelgebende Referenz für die Arbeit Suchan Kinoshitas. Eine geheime Botschaft wird von einem Spieler zum nächsten weitergeflüstert und erfährt dabei mancherlei unmerkliche Abwandlungen, die sich innerhalb der Überlieferungskette potenzieren. Die Fragilität von Kommunikation wird ebenso unmittelbar wie subtil erfahrbar. Intersubjektives Verstehen erscheint als Glücksfall.

Kinoshita übersetzte das Kinderspiel in eine selbstbezügliche Versuchsanordnung, welche die Spielsituation durch variierende, technische Aufnahmesituationen erweiterte. Der technische Apparat entsprach dabei jedoch nicht einem neutralen Beobachter; er brachte wieder neues ,Rauschen‘ und neue ,Unschärfe‘ mit. Die Aufnahmen ermöglichten keine objektive Überwachung des Kommunikationsprozesses. Sie reihten sich vielmehr als neu zu interpretierende Bestandteile dieses Prozesses in die bestehende Versuchsanordnung ein und stellten selbst Übersetzungen oder Interpretationen dar. Damit konnten weitere Missverständnisse nicht ausgeschlossen werden.

Als Botschaften verwendete Kinoshita Fragmente aus Illustrierten sowie Schriften diverser Philosophen und Sprachtheoretiker, angereichert durch willkürliche Wortschöpfungen, Erfindungen oder eigenmächtige Störungen der Sprecher. Besucherinnen und Besuchern wurde das Aufgenommene schließlich im Ambiente des Schauraumes der Handwerkskammer zu Gehör gebracht. Dort wurden sie als kontemplativ Lauschende sichtbar exponiert, als handelte es sich um eine Interpretation von Marshall McLuhans Diktum „The medium is the massage“.

 

Thorsten Schneider

 

Bilder

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum