Gustav Metzger

Installation view 2007. © The Estate of Gustav Metzger. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 2007. © The Estate of Gustav Metzger. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Aequivalenz – Shattered Stones

2007

Performative installation with granite blocks for 107 days at 107 sites throughout Münster.

Documentation in the foyer of the LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, and at www.aequivalenz.com

Gustav Metzger

* 1926 in Nuremberg, Germany

† 2017 in London, Great Britain

 

On each of the 107 days of the exhibition skulptur projekte münster 07 Gustav Metzger had a forklift truck transport a number of stones to a different spot in the city. The result was a continually growing sculpture. For this, Gustav Metzger specified the sites, the number and arrangements of the stones. When the exhibition finished, the subtle and occasionally inconspicuous constellations of stones in corners and niches vanished from the urban setting.

Each day a computer programme selected the next destination for the forklift, which then transported the stones as planned to the specified place, where they were photographed. The progress of the project could be followed at all times either by visiting a presentation in the foyer of the Landesmuseum or consulting the website www.aequivalenz.com. In addition, an exhibition held at the Westfälischer Kunstverein presented models of Metzger’s work Autodestruktive Monumente (Self-destructive monuments).

As a pioneer of artistic inquiry into processes of destruction, decomposition and deconstruction, Metzger used this transformative aspect for his own aesthetic practice.1 Adopting a largely transitory, fragile and minimal formal language, it defies notions of a representative monument or manifestations of remembrance culture. With Aequivalenz – Shattered Stones Metzger suggested a connection between Münster and the English city of Coventry, which was almost entirely razed by German air raids in 1940.2 Metzger’s idea also included staging a parallel action in Coventry based on the same principle. In 2015 the Herbert Art Gallery in Coventry presented a work titled Aequivalenz. Shattered Stones, Coventry, which made reference to his 2007 project.

 

Anna-Lena Treese

 

 

1 Cf. also Brigitte Franzen, Kasper König and Carina Plath (eds.), sculpture projects muenster 07, exhib. cat. LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Cologne, 2007, p. 150.

2 This resulted in increased retaliatory air raids by the British.

 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Gustav Metzger

Installationsansicht 2007. © The Estate of Gustav Metzger. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 2007. © The Estate of Gustav Metzger. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Aequivalenz – Shattered Stones [Aequivalenz – zerschmetterte Steine]

2007

Performative Installation mit Granitsteinen über die Dauer von 107 Tagen an 107 Orten in Münster

Dokumentation im Foyer des LWL-Landesmuseums für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, und auf www.aequivalenz.com

 

Gustav Metzger

* 1926 in Nürnberg, Deutschland

† 2017 in London, Großbritannien

 

An jedem der 107 Ausstellungstage der skulptur projekte münster 07 ließ Gustav Metzger mithilfe eines Gabelstaplers mehrere Steine an einem anderen Ort in der Stadt platzieren. Es entstand so eine kontinuierlich wachsende Skulptur. Dafür legte Gustav Metzger die Plätze, die Anzahl und Anordnung der Steine fest. Mit dem Ende der Ausstellung verschwanden die subtil, bisweilen unauffällig in Ecken und Nischen angeordneten Steine wieder aus dem Stadtbild.

Täglich wählte ein Computerprogramm den Zielort des Gabelstaplers, der die Steine nach Plan an Ort und Stelle transportierte, wo sie fotografiert wurden. Über eine Präsentation im Foyer des Landesmuseums und die Website www.aequivalenz.com konnten Besucher_innen jederzeit den Fortgang des Projektes nachvollziehen. Eine Ausstellung in den Räumen des Westfälischen Kunstvereins zeigte außerdem Modelle von Metzgers Autodestruktiven Monumenten.

Metzger, Pionier in der künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit Prozessen der Zerstörung, Zersetzung und Dekonstruktion, nutzt dieses Transformationsmoment für seine ästhetische Praxis.1 Diese manifestiert sich in einer meist vergänglichen, fragilen und minimalistischen Formensprache und entzieht sich so dem Charakter eines repräsentativen Monumentes oder der Manifestation einer Erinnerungskultur. Mit Aequivalenz – Shattered Stones deutete Metzger eine Verbindung zwischen Münster und der englischen Stadt Coventry an, die 1940 durch deutsche Luftangriffe fast völlig zerstört worden war.2 Metzgers Idee beinhaltete, parallel eine Aktion nach demselben Prinzip in Coventry durchzuführen. Unter dem Titel Aequivalenz. Shattered Stones, Coventry zeigte die dortige Herbert Art Gallery 2015 eine Arbeit, die auf das Projekt von 2007 Bezug nahm.

 

Anna-Lena Treese

 

 

 

1 Siehe dazu auch Auszüge aus einem Gespräch zwischen Carina Plath und Gustav Metzger, London, 27. April 2007. In: Brigitte Franzen, Kasper König und Carina Plath (Hg.), skulptur projekte münster 07, Ausst.-Kat.: LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Köln 2007, 150.

2 Die Folge davon waren verstärkte Angriffe durch England.

 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum