Annette Wehrmann

Installation view 2007 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installation view 2007 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Photo: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Aaspa – Wellness am Aasee [Aaspa – Rest & Relaxation at the Lake]

2007

Installation / intervention in public space

Two painted metal building site signs, construction machinery, heap of gravel, containers, power distributor, site fence, plastic sheeting

 

Location

Meadow by Aasee lake, south of the Freilichtmuseum Mühlenhof.

Temporary installation for the duration of skulptur projekte münster 07

 

Annette Wehrmann

* 1961 in Hamburg, Germany

† 2010 in Hamburg, Germany

 

From the 1990s on, artist Annette Wehrmann developed performances, installations, actions and temporary interventions in urban space that focused critically on issues of economics, capital and private ownership. For skulptur projekte münster 07 she blocked off a section of the shore by Aasee lake, south of the Freilichtmuseum Mühlenhof, a popular area for walking and cycling. In this place she set up a construction site for the fictional corporation AaFit+Well AG, a venture which was seemingly planning to build the spa hotel Aaspa. The various materials that gradually accumulated on the site, such as a pile of gravel, plastic sheeting to protect the trees, construction machinery and containers, were evidence of the pretended progress of the project’s construction.1

Two building site signs painted by the artist illustrated the projected designs of the spa complex, whose architecture resembled a futuristic igloo and was reminiscent of works by Mario Merz. In addition, the sign also showed Aasee lake, in which Claes Oldenburg’s Giant Pool Balls were depicted as part of the imaginary open-air water park.

The project’s design and cordoned-off area fostered debate about the contradictions between publicly accessible space, its privatisation through investors and their promises of wellbeing for the community at large.

 

Daniel Friedt

 

 

1 Cf. Annette Wehrmann, “Aaspa – Wellness am Aasee [Aaspa – Rest & Relaxation at the Lake]”, in: Brigitte Franzen, Kasper König and Carina Plath (eds.), sculpture projects muenster 07, exhib. cat. LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Cologne, 2007, pp. 282–285.

 

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Annette Wehrmann

Installationsansicht 2007 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Installationsansicht 2007 © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017. Foto: Roman Mensing / artdoc.de

Aaspa – Wellness am Aasee

2007

Installation/Intervention im öffentlichen Raum

Zwei bemalte Baustellenschilder aus Metall, Baumaschinen, Schotterhaufen, Container, Stromverteiler, Bauzaun, Plastikfolie

 

Standort

Eine Wiesenfläche am Aasee, südlich des Freilichtmuseums Mühlenhof, temporäre Einrichtung für die Dauer der skulptur projekte münster 07

 

Annette Wehrmann

* 1961 in Hamburg, Deutschland

† 2010 in Hamburg

 

Die Künstlerin Annette Wehrmann entwickelte seit den 1990er-Jahren Performances, Installationen, Aktionen und temporäre Eingriffe in den Stadtraum, die sich kritisch mit den Themen Ökonomie, Kapital und Eigentum beschäftigten. Für die skulptur projekte münster 07 sperrte sie das bei Spaziergängern und Radfahrern beliebte Aaseeufer südlich des Freilichtmuseums Mühlenhof B. An diesem Ort richtete sie eine Baustelle der fiktiven Aktiengesellschaft AaFit+Well AG ein, die dort scheinbar das Wellnesshotel Aaspa erbauen wollte. Dabei wiesen die im Laufe der Zeit angesammelten Materialien, beispielsweise ein Schotterhaufen, Plastikfolien für Baumschutz sowie Baumaschinen und Container, auf die vermeintlichen Fortschritte der Arbeiten hin.1

Zwei von der Künstlerin gemalte Baustellenschilder zeigten die Gebäudeentwürfe des Wellnesskomplexes, dessen Architektur einem futuristischen Iglu ähnelte und an Arbeiten von Mario Merz erinnerte. Zudem war auf dem Schild der Aasee abgebildet, in dem die Giant Pool Balls von Claes Oldenburg als Teil des vermeintlichen Erlebnisbades unter freiem Himmel platziert waren.

Entwurf und Absperrung stellten die Gegensätze von öffentlich zugänglichem Raum, dessen Privatisierung durch Investoren und dem damit versprochenen Wohlbefinden für die Allgemeinheit zur Diskussion.

 

Daniel Friedt

 

 

 

 

1 Vgl. Annette Wehrmann, „Aaspa – Wellness am Aasee“. In: Brigitte Franzen, Kasper König und Carina Plath (Hg.), skulptur projekte münster 07, Ausst.-Kat.: LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Köln 2007, 282–285. 

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum