Bruce Nauman

Installation view 2016. Photo: Hubertus Huvermann

Installation view 2016. Photo: Hubertus Huvermann

Square Depression

1977/2007, skulptur projekte münster 07

Cast concrete sculpture with white rendering

Length/width 25 x 25 m, depth 2.3 m

 

Location

Naturwissenschaftliches Zentrum der Universität Münster [Centre for Natural Sciences at Münster University], Wilhelm-Klemm-Straße, permanent installation

 

Owner

LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Münster, acquired in 2009 with the support of Sparkasse Münsterland Ost and the Federal State of NRW

Bruce Nauman

* 1941 in Fort Wayne, USA
lives and works in Galisteo, USA

Occupying the angle between two high-rise buildings, Bruce Nauman’s sculpture Square Depression is an inverted pyramid shallowly recessed in the ground that the public can walk on. Four white concrete planes on a 25 x 25 metre square base incline in a funnel shape towards an apex. Walking onto the pale surfaces means being virtually exposed: “Entering thus amounts to a disappearance, but one that is actually an exposition as well, for one moves on a negative stage.”1 The viewer’s position enters them into a direct relation to the sculpture, the environment and public space. Depression means both “incline” as well as “depression” in the psychological sense. Equally square can be interpreted colloquially as meaning “conformist” or “old-fashioned”.

Material and form correspond to the cubic grid architecture of the surrounding buildings from the 1960s. Münster University’s Institut für Kernphysik [Institute of Nuclear Physics] and Institut für theoretische Physik [Institute of Theoretical Physics] create the impression of an array of colossal geometric concrete structures interacting with Square Depression. The sculpture had been planned as early as 1977. After 30 years, the work was finally realized in 2007 according to the original design and location, where the structural conditions still corresponded closely to those of the 1970s. The only change was to the solution for water drainage.

The human body, its position and movement through the negative space provide the basic scale for apprehending the sculpture. Body and space are mathematical concepts and equally the sculpture’s constitutive parameters, as is the time in which a perception occurs. They are notions conjuring mental associations and images. Viewing habits place limits on the imagination, the relativity of space and time for example being retained as an abstract idea. The estimation of distances and heights becomes more difficult when observing them within Square Depression, as dimensions and proportions appear visually distorted in the manner of a picture puzzle, enabling the artist to address the relationship between art and science.

Anna-Lena Treese

 

1 Brigitte Franzen, Kasper König, and Carina Plath (eds.), skulptur projekte münster 07, exhib. cat.: LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Cologne 2007, 172–178, here 173.

Location

  • Still existing
  • Removed

Bruce Nauman

Installationsansicht 2016. Foto: Hubertus Huvermann

Installationsansicht 2016. Foto: Hubertus Huvermann

Square Depression [Quadratische Senkung]

1977/2007

Skulptur aus gegossenem Beton, weiß verputzt

Länge/Breite 25 x 25 m, Tiefe 2,3 m

 

Standort

Naturwissenschaftliches Zentrum der Universität Münster, Wilhelm-Klemm-Straße, permanente Aufstellung

 

Eigentümer

LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Münster, erworben 2009 mit Unterstützung der Sparkasse Münsterland Ost und des Landes NRW

Bruce Nauman

* 1941 in Fort Wayne, USA
lebt und arbeitet in Galisteo, USA

Im Winkel zweier Hochhäuser liegt Bruce Naumans Skulptur Square Depression, eine begehbare, flach in den Boden vertiefte, umgekehrte Pyramide. Auf einer quadratischen Grundfläche von 25 x 25 Metern senken sich vier weiße Betonflächen trichterförmig hin zu einem Scheitelpunkt. Betritt man die hellen Oberflächen, ist man regelrecht exponiert: „Das Betreten kommt einem Verschwinden gleich, das eigentlich ein Herausstellen ist, denn man bewegt sich auf einer negativen Bühne.“1 Durch den Standpunkt des Betrachters tritt dieser in ein unmittelbares Verhältnis zur Skulptur, zur Umgebung und zum öffentlichen Raum. Depression bedeutet sowohl ‚Senkung‘ als auch ‚Depression‘ im Sinne der psychologischen Definition. Ebenso kann Square mit ‚Quadrat‘ übersetzt werden oder umgangssprachlich mit ‚spießig‘ oder ‚altmodisch‘.

Material und Form korrespondieren mit der kubischen Rasterarchitektur der angrenzenden Gebäude aus den 1960er Jahren. Die Institute für Kernphysik und theoretische Physik der Universität Münster erzeugen im Zusammenspiel mit Square Depression den Eindruck einer Anordnung riesiger geometrischer Betonkörper. Die Skulptur wurde bereits 1977 geplant. Nach 30 Jahren konnte die Arbeit schließlich 2007 dem ursprünglichen Entwurf gemäß am gewünschten Standort realisiert werden, da die baulichen Gegebenheiten noch genau denen der 1970er Jahre entsprachen. Angepasst wurde lediglich die Lösung für den Wasserabfluss.

Der menschliche Körper, seine Position und Bewegung durch den negativen Raum, ist essenzieller Maßstab für die Wahrnehmung der Skulptur. Körper und Raum sind mathematische Begriffe und gleichermaßen konstitutive Parameter der Plastik, ebenso die Zeit, in der die Wahrnehmung stattfindet. Diese Begriffe sind gebunden an Assoziationen und gedankliche Bilder. Sehgewohnheiten setzen der Vorstellungskraft Grenzen; die Relativität von Raum und Zeit etwa bleibt eine abstrakte Idee. Die Einschätzung von Entfernungen und Höhen ist bei der Betrachtung der Arbeit erschwert, da Dimensionen und Proportionen gleich einem Vexierbild optisch verzerrt erscheinen. So thematisiert der Künstler das Verhältnis von Kunst und Wissenschaft.

Anna-Lena Treese

 

 

1 Brigitte Franzen, Kasper König und Carina Plath (Hg.), skulptur projekte münster 07, Ausst.-Kat.: LWL-Landesmuseum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte, Münster, Köln 2007, 172–178, hier 173.

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum