Cosima von Bonin / Tom Burr

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Installation view 2017, photograph: Henning Rogge

Benz Bonin Burr

2017

Installation

 

Material

Low-loader, wooden crate, safety ropes

Location

Forecourt of LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Rothenburg 30

Temporary installation for the duration of the exhibition

Cosima von Bonin / Tom Burr

* 1962 Mombasa, South Africa

lives in Cologne, Germany

 

* 1963 New Haven, USA

lives in New York, USA

Strategies of cooperation, appropriation, and compilation are characteristic of Cosima von Bonin’s mixed-media installations. She navigates the viewer through a sea of references with her subtle humour, bringing influences ashore without any apparent effort and involving artist friends and historical perspectives in her exhibitions. Energized by Conceptual Art and Pop Art, her work keeps touching on key figures like Martin Kippenberger or Mike Kelley and makes countless references to cinema, literature, music, fashion, design, and lifestyles. In this way, her artwork presents itself more as the result of traditional tendencies, networks, and recurrences than as an original, individual artistic gesture. The large-scale arrangements, often in the form of animal motifs, mirror the conventions and rules of the art world and address von Bonin’s artistic identity within a network of relationships, dependencies, and role models.

Soft textile materials serve as the primary basis for her patchwork-like pictures and sculptural objects, which transform a repertoire of motifs drawn from the world of consumerism. Anthropomorphized animal figures inhabit her theatrical exhibition scenarios, which are reminiscent of a film studio’s prop room or a mythical setting. Von Bonin’s oversized, fluffy protagonists are partly domesticated and partly associated with a maritime environment whose imagery is of great significance. Usually the permanently exhausted creatures don’t give a damn about the societal imperatives of productivity. In their lazy mode of denial we recognize—in addition to the right to be lazy and enjoy a cigarette—an existential condition of fatigue that lends von Bonin’s cosmos a dark undercurrent. This uneasiness also expresses itself in the submissive titles of her exhibitions, such as Kapitulation or The Fatigue Empire. Authority and control are latently present as themes in this parallel world abounding with allusions.

For Skulptur Projekte 2017, von Bonin also drew on her vision of collective authorship and joined forces with Tom Burr—the two have been friends for many years. The project was produced in cooperation with the Westfälischer Kunstverein, which showed Burr’s solo exhibition Surplus of Myself at the same time. Burr has been grappling with questions relating to public space since the late 1980s. Although he makes use of the formal language of Minimal Art, it is charged (contrary to its intrinsic intention) with numerous connotations and references, frequently connected with the emancipation of subcultures and the artist’s personal biography. For their cooperation Benz Bonin Burr, the artists parked a low-loader on the shared forecourt in front of the LWL-Museum and the Kunstverein, not far from where the Henry Moore sculpture is installed. A large-size black box was placed on the truck bed—a recurring feature of Burr’s work. Its contents were hidden from sight, thus creating an ambivalent situation that oscillated between presence and absence, inclusion and exclusion, admiration and Oedipal fixation. It also incidentally alluded to the infrastructure of the exhibition world in general by bringing to mind a potential shipment process.

 

Andreas Prinzing

Location

  • Still existing / Public Collection
  • Removed
  • In the museum

Cosima von Bonin / Tom Burr

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Installationsansicht 2017, Foto: Henning Rogge

Benz Bonin Burr

2017

Installation

 

Material

Tieflader, Holzkiste, Sicherungsseile

Standort

Vorplatz des LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Rothenburg 30

Temporäre Aufstellung für die Dauer der Ausstellung

Cosima von Bonin / Tom Burr

*in Mombasa, Südafrika

lebt in Köln, Deutschland

 

*in New Haven, USA

lebt in New York, USA

Strategien der Zusammenarbeit, Aneignung und Kompilation prägen Cosima von Bonins  multimediales Œuvre. Sie navigiert mit hintergründigem Humor durch ein Meer von Referenzen, zieht scheinbar mühelos Einflüsse an Land und bindet befreundete Künstler_innen und historische Positionen in ihre Ausstellungen ein. Ihr von Konzeptkunst und Pop gespeistes Werk rekurriert immer wieder auf zentrale Figuren wie Martin Kippenberger oder Mike Kelley und stellt zahllose Bezüge zu Film, Literatur, Musik, Mode, Design und Lifestyle her. So präsentiert sich ihre Arbeit weniger als originäre, individuelle künstlerische Geste denn als Resultat von Traditionslinien, Netzwerken und Wiederholungen. Häufig in Form tierischer Motivchiffren reflektieren die raumgreifend gruppierten Werke Konventionen und Spielregeln des Kunstbetriebs und thematisieren von Bonins künstlerische Identität in einem Geflecht von Beziehungen, Abhängigkeiten und Rollenmodellen.

Weiche, textile Materialien sind die primäre Grundlage der patchworkartigen Bilder und skulpturalen Objekte, die ein der Warenwelt entstammendes Motivrepertoire transformieren. Anthropomorphisierte Tiergestalten bevölkern ihre bühnenhaften Ausstellungsszenarien, die an den Requisitenfundus eines Filmstudios oder an Fabelwelten denken lassen. Ihre überdimensionalen, plüschigen Protagonist_innen sind teils häuslich-domestizierter Natur, teils gehören sie dem maritimen Lebensraum an, dessen Metaphorik große Bedeutung zukommt. Meist pfeifen die dauermüden Wesen auf gesellschaftliche Produktivitätsimperative. In ihrer trägen Verweigerungshaltung deutet sich neben dem Recht auf Faulheit und Zigarettengenuss auch ein existenzieller Erschöpfungszustand an, der von Bonins Kosmos eine dunkle Unterströmung verleiht. Dieses Unwohlsein artikuliert sich auch in resignativen Ausstellungstiteln wie Kapitulation oder The Fatigue Empire. Autorität und Kontrolle sind latent präsente Themen in dieser anspielungsreichen Parallelwelt.

Auch für die Skulptur Projekte 2017 knüpfte von Bonin an ihre Vorstellung von kollektiver Autorschaft an und arbeitete mit Tom Burr zusammen; beide verbindet eine langjährige Freundschaft. Das gemeinsame Projekt wurde in Kooperation mit dem Westfälischen Kunstverein realisiert, der zeitgleich die Einzelausstellung Surplus of Myself von Burr zeigte. Burr setzt sich seit den späten 1980er Jahren mit Fragen des öffentlichen Raumes auseinander. Dabei nutzt er die Formensprache der Minimal Art, lädt diese jedoch (entgegen ihrer ureigenen Absicht) mit zahlreichen Konnotationen und Verweisen auf, die oftmals mit der Emanzipation von Subkulturen oder der Biografie des Künstlers verbunden sind. Für ihre Kooperation Benz Bonin Burr platzierten die Künstler auf dem gemeinsamen Vorplatz von LWL-Museum und Kunstverein einen Tieflader unweit der dort aufgestellten Skulptur von Henry Moore. Auf dessen Ladefläche wurde eine großformatige Black Box platziert – ein wiederkehrendes Moment in Burrs Werk – deren Inhalt sich den Blicken entzieht. So entstand eine ambivalente Situation, die zwischen Präsenz und Absenz sowie Ein- und Ausschluss oszillierte und en passant die Infrastruktur des Ausstellungsbetriebs anhand eines potenziellen Verladevorgangs andeutete.

 

Andreas Prinzing

Standort

  • Noch vorhanden / Öffentliche Sammlung
  • Nicht mehr vorhanden
  • Im Museum